We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Try it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Back Door Cafe

Back Door Cafe
Ranked #5 of 172 Restaurants in Johnstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Try it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a very cozy place, lots of drink options. The food is really great compared to what else is in the area. You can tell they really care about food. Next time I'm in Johnstown, I'll be there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SFTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    26
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“completely unexpected kind of wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

there are probably all kinds of small places to grab a decent bite in Johnstown, but, there are probably very few that have the ambition to match the kind of cuisine one would think only be found in major metros with enough foodies to care about quality seasonal ingredients. this is the kind of place one would hope to have at home in their own neighborhood. it was nearly impossible to resist ordering any of the delightful sounding specials, but we wanted to see how good regular menu items were - crepes, soups, salads, pizzas and the like. all exceeded expectations. there was also a nicely curated cocktail menu. the men's bathroom is a must see for those interested in historical representations of women. I was told the women's bathroom has an equally unique decorative style.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HistorianOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, caters to loyal locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

I eat here when I'm in town on business, usually with at least one local. The food is great, the atmosphere is cozy and grown up with a little whimsy. Find a local who is known to the staff, and bring them along. An otherwise cool/professional interaction becomes intimate and inventive. Ask for recommendations and try them!!! Worlds best mushroom soup.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 54Boomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“21st Bday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

We took our daughter here for her 21st birthday. The wait staff is well trained. I love when the owner stops by your table and really wants to hear how you enjoed your meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jzganus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A DISCOVERED HIDE AWAY...Good/pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

After hearing a lot of good things about the food here, I decided to try it and see for myself. A bit pricier compared to other restaurants in the area, but the food WAS really tasty. I ordered salmon and my daughter got chicken salad. She said it was the best one she ever ate! But, I must say that we went in hungry and came out still hungry. The portions were quite small, and for the total price just under $50, we were a bit disappointed. I WILL return, but next time I'll get something different and try a mixed drink, as they seemed to have many varieties.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mjmami137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Door Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Back Door Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing