We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Economical & Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Johnstown
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Johnstown
Bellefontaine, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean, Economical & Pleasant”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We were pleased with our stay here. The hotel is older and very simple in hall and lobby design and decor, but the entire hotel is exceptionally clean. Our room was very pleasant, bright and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was roomy and spotless. The only smoke odor noted anywhere in the hotel was in 1 back staircase. The hotel seemed very quiet. The location was convenient to our plans in the city, and we easily walked downtown for a meal. We especially liked the 24 hour coffee/hot water machine in the lobby so we could have brewed coffee, hot chocolate or tea whenever we wanted. We will definitely stay here the next time we are in Johnstown, without reservation, and would recommend it for other thrifty travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank making6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    10
    16
    3
See reviews for
25
20
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Lousy beds...terrible parking...no microwave...and no food nearby
And to top that off...too expensive

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jl317p-fmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Johnstown hotels

Manasquan
Level Contributor
228 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was an extremely nice hotel! The front desk personnel was very courteous, polite and informative as to what was in the area as far as banks, food and some sight-seeing. The rooms were neat and clean, they offered a complimentary breakfast, it was tractor-trailer friendly as far as parking and pet friendly as well. The price was within our budget as well. Really enjoyed staying here, would do so again when in the area and definitely would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginny110411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The only thing I care about when booking a hotel room is cleanliness. I got into the room late Friday night and the room had crumbs on the floor right beside the bed. It's obvious that the housekeeper makes the bed with the top comforter and then vacuums, because the crumbs were right next to the bed, under the top comforter. There was also a long black hair under the comforter on the blanket (I have red hair, obviously not mine). The hotel was full so I just hoped that housekeeping would clean it up. When I got back to the room Saturday afternoon, the beds were made and the room was vacuumed, but the crumbs were still in the exact same spot. Housekeeping needs to vacuum BEFORE the beds are dressed, the only way to cure this. Even though the beds were made, there was still a hair on my blanket.....very unappealing. We told the manager when we left for the night and when we came back, the crumbs were gone, but gross.... The manager was accomodating and adjusted the rate, but I would rather pay full price for a clean room than less for a dirty room. I will NOT be returning.

Room Tip: ask them to vacuum under the bed before checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel before. That is, before it was owned by foreigners. As I walked in, the family was sitting on the counters of the breakfast area making food. The owner was on the phone the entire time while he was checking me in. Multiple times he had to excuse himself from the phone in order to ask me questions. He did not specify the rate to stay for the night. Aside from the customer service, I was pleased with everything else. The room and hallways smelled very nice. Not smoky at all. The room was well lit and furnished. The bathroom was very nice. Even though those things impressed me, the customer service was terrible therefore I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACsmith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This is a great place to stay for an Econo Lodge in Downtown Johnstown. The staff is FRIENDLY. The continental breakfast includes waffles you can make yourself as well as bagels, cereal, etc. There are at least three restaurants near by to include McDonalds and there is a Sheetz right across the street for food and $1 Blockbuster DVD rentals. One thing to note: if you do not smoke make sure you book a non smoking room. Parking is free and it is within easy walking distance to the Johnstwon War Memorial, Flood museum, and incline. Some may consider the rooms on the small side but we use it for a place to sleep while working or attending events in the area. It is perfect for that and within walking distance of the war memorial and stadium too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alm122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

This is your average older hotel that was renovated sometime in the last ten years. It's clean, but older. The bathroom is simple, but roomy. The bed was above average, the bedding clean, but showing some wear and tear. The TV was an older model with basic cable channels. There's parking on site, but there are no restaurants within the area.

This hotel is located in the downtown area and there are no guide signs on Route 56 to show you the way. We found it after getting directions at a fire house.

We normally stay in the Altoona area, but due to the Penn State homecoming, almost every hotel in about a 50 mile area was booked. While it was an okay average older hotel good for a one night stay, we would not have stayed here for an extended period of time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pshediack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnstown
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Johnstown
Hampton Inn Johnstown
#1 of 7 in Johnstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Johnstown Downtown
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#6 of 7 in Johnstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#3 of 7 in Johnstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
13.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 2 in Ebensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
17.7 mi away
Ramada Ligonier
Ramada Ligonier
#1 of 1 in Ligonier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Johnstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Johnstown

Property: Econo Lodge Johnstown
Address: 430 Napoleon Pl, Johnstown, PA 15901-2502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Johnstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Johnstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Johnstown 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simplify your travel to Johnstown, PA by staying at our pet-friendly Econo Lodge(R) hotel, located just two miles from Johnstown Inclined Plane. Book a tee time and hit the links at North Folk Country Club, or explore other local attractions near our Johnstown, PA hotel, including: Johnstown Flood Museum Cambria County War Memorial Frank J. Pasquerilla Conference Center Point Stadium Idlewild & SoakZone amusement park Saving money in Johnstown doesn't have to feel cheap. At our hotel complete with reasonable prices, we respect your budget while still offering the amenities you're looking for. Make traveling for work a little easier with our discount hotel's access to copy and fax services. Other hotel amenities include: Free Easy Starts(R) continental breakfast Free WiFi Free coffee Laundry facility You don't need to sacrifice key amenities when you're trying to be economical. Unwind in one of our inviting guest rooms, all of which feature an expanded workspace and include a refrigerator, coffee maker and TV. Our Econo Lodge hotel is an easy stop on the road where you can find a great place to stay, at a great rate, all while being easy on your wallet. So book a room and start making new memories in Johnstown today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Johnstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Johnstown Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing