We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret”

Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck
Reserve with OpenTable
Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 172 Restaurants in Johnstown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Vine Street
Transit: Hotel parking garage with elevator, optional stairs, well lighted. Surface level parking lot also available.
Description: Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck is a Mediterranean restaurant specializing in foods from Italy, France, Spain and other parts of the Mediterranean basin. This cooking style uses healthy ingredients like olive oil, garlic, tomatoes, and fresh herbs.
Johnstown
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Harrigan's Cafe and Wine deck is one of Johnstown's best restaurants. The food is excellent and the service fantastic. If you want a quiet relaxing atmosphere, this is the place. We have never been disappointed in our menu selections. The sea bass and dry aged steaks are wonderful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Deborah H,

Thank you so much for your kind words and continued patronage of our restaurant. We are very proud to serve the Johnstown community, as well as our numerous hotel guests, and we are thrilled you enjoy our food and service. I’ll be sure to pass along your compliments to our chef and his staff, as well as all of our servers. Keep us in mind in the future when you are hungry! We look forward to seeing you. Thanks again!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Bird, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    32
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The food was excellent & service was great. Thought the alcoholic beverages were a little pricey, but overall a great experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi, P J-

Thank you for visiting Harrigan's Cafe and Wine Deck during your visit to Johnstown. Glad you liked the food. Hope you got to try one of the wines from our Award Wining wine list!

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding Wine List & Great Food”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Wine list is the best in town. The dry aged steak is my favorite, but unfortunately was out. I tried the Port T-bone which was excellent. We have had the Sunday brunch as well which is also very good.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlackandGold09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear BlackandGold09,

Thank you for visiting Harrigan’s Cafe and Wine Deck this past weekend! We loved seeing and serving you. We are so proud of our award-winning wine list and greatly appreciate your kind words! Bummer we were out of the dry aged steak you enjoy, but I'm glad you were able to try the Port T-bone – one of my favorites! It always helps to know your “back-up choice” is just as delicious as your favorite. Our Sunday Brunch will soon be returning – hope to see you there sometime!

Warm Regards,
Melissa Bird
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A nice place for dinner in Johnstown”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Harrigan's Cafe and Wine Deck offers upscale dishes and wines (for dinner) -- yes, at a Holiday Inn hotel restaruant. The casual atmosphere is enjoyable, and the menu choices quite nice. Johnstown is a small town, with just a few nice to elegant dining rooms. Harrigan's is one of them. The service is excellent. The adjacent lounge and piano bar add something for everyone. They have their full menu and pictures of the dishes online at http://www.harriganscafewinedeck.com.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rytr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear rytr:

Thank you for your delightful review of Harrigan’s Café and Wine Deck. We appreciate your honest feedback. Glad to hear you dine with us and are pleased with the choices. We are always looking for suggestions on what our guests and customers would like to see added – please feel free to pass along your suggestions. We train our staff to be attentive to our customers and it is nice to hear the service is excellent. Please stop back and see us soon!
We look forward to serving you.

Regards,
Melissa Bird
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurghGirl71
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Christmas Buffet has no entrees for vegetarians”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My family and the in-laws have attended the Christmas Day buffet for several years. This year, while the overall quality was much better than the past, albeit with fewer starters and side dishes, and surprisingly fewer veggies, it left a bit to be desired in variety. It was heavy on proteins, with only green beans as a stand-alone vegetable. Aside from those, salad greens, potatoes dauphinois, and fresh fruit there was nothing at all for vegetarians. There was plenty of cold seafood selections, a supposed lobster bisque and a beef soup of some kind, but no veggie-based soup. There was turkey, beef, ham, fish but no meatless entrees. All the other vegetable offerings were cooked WITH the meats, rendering them a no-go for vegetarians. This was a disappointment for the $30+ price. It's the 21st century after all. This would be SO much better with a slight vegetarian tweak next year. Not sure that we will attend because some younger family members are now vegetarians.

Helpful?
Thank BurghGirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaBird_JSTMK, Manager at Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear burghGirl71,

I hope you had a nice holiday! Thank you for visiting our Christmas Buffet at Harrigan's Cafe and Wine Deck and for your review. We do consider the reviews of our guests and act upon suggestions accordingly. We are thankful to hear that you thought the quality was better this year than in the past - we are constantly working to produce the best products possible for our guests. I do apologize for the limited amount of vegetarian options on the buffet, but do hope the vegetarian eaters in your family were able to enjoy the salad, green beans, potatoes dauphinois and fruit. I have passed along your concerns to our restaurant staff - we should have more vegetable options available next year on our buffet, so I do hope you will return with your family and give us another try. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, as we do realize more people are choosing a vegetarian lifestyle. Thank you again for your return visit and review. Hope to see you again! Happy New Year!

Melissa Bird, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck also viewed

 

Been to Harrigan's Cafe & Wine Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing