We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY INEXPENSIVE !! Authentic”
Review of Rey-Azteca

Rey-Azteca
Ranked #3 of 172 Restaurants in Johnstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Rey Azteca 736 Scalp Ave Johnstown, PA 15904 (814) 266-2294 Open M-F 11:00 Am to 10:00 PM GREAT AUTHENTIC MEXICAN FOOD!!!
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
179 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“VERY INEXPENSIVE !! Authentic”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have dined with family...Fast service..menu has many choices and a great variety

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phoodus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    36
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
490 reviews
418 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A Little "TOO" Mexican, Perhaps?”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Food was great. Service was great. Prices are great. Very appropriate decor. But when I had a question regarding one of the dishes (due to a possible allergy reaction) there didn't seem to be one single employee who could converse in English. The 5th person sent to my table was able to understand me (barely) and answer my question.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rkhawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of my favorite local restaurants!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have been a frequenter of this particular Rey Azteca branch for years. The service is wonderful, the portions are pretty good, and it makes for a really cheap date! (On average, it's about 20 for me and my fiance to dine out) Plus, gotta love the appetizer chips.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank consciousdear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidsville, PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Rey Azteca is without question the best place to eat Mexican food in the area. The menu is huge, although each menu item is sometimes just a slight variation of the selection listed directly above it. However, I have never eaten anything I haven't enjoyed there. The prices are really good and the home made salsa and chips are incredible.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food in Johnstown”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Everything here is excellent from the endless warm, fresh chips & salsa to the hot from the kitchen foods to the flan, fried ice cream, sopapillas to the drinks! Have been here more times than I can count and have NEVER had a bad meal. Prices are unbelievably low for the amount of food that you get. Service can't be beat! I can't see why anyone would eat anywhere else!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lighthouselover1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rey-Azteca also viewed

 

Been to Rey-Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing