We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - this is our 3rd trip and we'll be back. Highly Recommended”
Review of Uepi Island Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Uepi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Uepi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uepi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic - this is our 3rd trip and we'll be back. Highly Recommended”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Uepi is fantastic. We highly recommend Uepi and are already planning a return trip. The diving and snorkelling was excellent. There were hammerheads, many sightings of pygmy mantas and eagle rays and heaps of sharks. We even had the unique experience of snorkelling with Dolphins - wow! The bungalows are well appointed and well maintained. We stayed in a garden bungalow but would try to stay with in a waterside bungalow next time. The garden bungalows are perfectly fine, we simply would like to be right on the water's edge. The food is excellent and they catered for my son's food allergies with ease. The nightly meals are buffet style and you eat at shared tables with the other guests. Fish and crayfish feature prominently on the menu. The owners, Jill and Grant, live at the resort and are wonderful hosts. This is one of the best run resorts we've come across in the Pacific - this is all down to Jill and Grant's excellent training of the staff. We found the other guests very friendly and we've made some good friends here. The power's on 24 hrs/day but the showers only have cold water - you quickly get used to this. The big house is great and has a new big bar area. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
54
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I traveled here with a group of diving friends. We had some dramas flying from Honiara to Sege as our luggage put the plane over the limit (we had only 20kgs each) so most of our stuff had to come across the next day which was an inconvenience (the airlines are a bit disorganized here). Anyway once at the resort it was lovely and we had a nice welcome drink waiting for us (it would have been good if we could have ordered more drinks like this).

Our rooms were nice although some nicer that others. One of our rooms had a better bathroom and was right on the lagoon while our other rooms were set back from the lagoon but still had good views. The whole resort was nice but the paths could have been better lit in some places. The food was amazing with so much crayfish/ lobster and crab you almost get sick of it ... almost. Also if you want alcoholic drinks bring some duty free stuff with you as the island is very remote and other than the nice local brew and a few wines there isn't much available. The staff are happy for you to put your alcohol behind the bar and you just need to buy mixers. The staff were great the whole time and the bamboo pipe band was very fun the night they played.

Onto the activities now...

Dili our dive guide was great fun, although a little vague with the dive plans. We had some truly spectacular dives with a great array of fish and some other highlights like rays, turtles, spanish dancers and sharks (more on them later). We paid a little extra to go on some dives a little further away and this was well worth it. We went to some Japanese WWII wrecks and other wrecks which were all great dives and also a small cave system which was really fun but not for the newbie diver. A night dive is also worth doing. There is plenty for the non-divers to do as well (there was 1 couple who couldn't dive and they seemed to have a great time).

So back to the sharks, you can go snorkelling with them by the welcome jetty and this is great fun. The sharks are black tip reef sharks and whalers. Some come quite close which is a little unnerving at first but just stay calm and all is well. Also some lion fish and pipe fish can be spotted at the end of the dive boat jetty and there is a good snorkel between these to jetties.

There is plenty of other stuff to do including stuff like reading on the hammocks,walking around the island, fishing trips (some people caught wahoo which was very tasty for dinner), water skiing, and there was a carvers market which has some amazing stuff and you buy direct from the makers, we had no problems bringing the wooden stuff back to Aus. Be careful not to buy the few pieces of turtle shell, whale bone of dugong tusk they sell as this stuff will not get through customs and while they say the animals aren't killed for their shells/ tusks you can't be sure.

We became friends with some of the other travelers and this resort seemed to suit most people except perhaps the type of people just wanting to get drunk and rowdy and children. We tended to go to bed early as the day starts quite early here.

We also had dramas getting home due to flight cancellations and had to stay a few more days which Jill and Grant were great at helping us with. They liaised with the airline for us and worked out how to squeeze us in for a few extra nights. I also managed to see a tiny pygmy seahorse on a dive on our extra day which was great as they had been hiding for every other dive.

I really had a great time and hope to return again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms were on the lagoon and had nicer bathrooms than some of the other rooms, worth ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelbDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I really can't improve on the other reviews and only want to add that this resort and dive operation is run by people who care about their guests, local villagers, their staff,environment and the sea. For those of you too young to remember diving in the 70s and 80s ..this is what it was like . Lots of great coral, critters and fish (including some big ones) and MOST important ... surprises on many dives ... (such as flight of pigmy Mantas or mating cuttlefish or dolphins.) After 25 dives I could have gone on and on. The snorkeling is almost as good !

I don't want to "short" the superb setting,lodge,food,rooms and above all staff ... Its all good!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rbaems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Point, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Dont miss it! You will be sorry!!! Even if you don't dive it is very worth doing.

Room Tip: Cabins on the water front are the best. You may need to book a year 6 to 10 months in advance. Gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Travelled to Uepi and stayed for 6 days - our flight form Honiara was a day late but we still got to complete all 14 dives in our package. When we arrived we were hungry - as a result of no breakfast in Honiara - so Jill organised an instant breakfast for us.
The diving was amazing - the dive guides and boat staff are great - special mention to our guide Lamae who was an absolute whiz at finding interesting things and pointing them out. They cater for all levels of diving ability and are quite prepared to stay with you under the water for as long as they and you physically can.
As mentioned before the breakfasts and dinners are communal - this is good if you want to move around to other tables and meet people - Jill, Josh and Jason regularly sit down to dinner with everyone else and converse about all manner of things. If you love seafood then you will be in heaven with the food - is anyone sick of lobster and crab yet?? They also cater for special dietary requirements and those people who aren't especially fond of seafood. Lunches are delivered to your cabin.
Cabins are comfortable and private - no need for hot showers - the ambient temperature showers are just awesome and really easy to get used to.
Facilities for cameras are available - plenty of power in the rooms and standard Australian 240V powerpoints.
Snorkelled with the Manta Rys in the Lagoon, saw beautiful coral and fish life. The Bapita day trip was great - I can highly recommend it - the sink hole, the wreck of the plane and the boat and Pengiun Reef was pristine.
All in all an outstanding resort that I would go back to with no hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geminikitty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamboin, NSW, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Both my wife and I spent ten glorious days at Uepi in September of this year (2011). As I had never dived before, I was trained by the local dive masters including the owners Grant and Jill. In the end, I completed 15 dives in the most amazing tropical waters I have been in - far better than the Barrier Reef, Fiji, Vanuatu and PNG. The variety of aquatic animals and coral gardens was abundant and first class. The wreck dives are a must do. My wife snorkelled whilst I dove and she loved every minute of it as the snorkelling can be carried out right at the resort on amazing coral walls.

In addition, there are organised fishing trips, kayaking, sail boats and ski paddling to keep you entertained when your not diving/snorkelling.
We found the accommodation very comfortable and the million dollar views from the Lagoon front bungalows were awesome. Those that complain about the lack of hot water need to harden up - the weather dictated cool showers 24/7.

The food was nice, fresh and plentiful. The lunches delivered to your bungalow allowed for peaceful quiet time away from others.

After dinner, the evenings where spent (predominantly around the bar area) discussing the days dives and what to expect the following day. Even the organised games of volleyball with the staff were a highlight.
A very big thanks to Gill, Grant, Josh and Wes for an unforgettable holiday. I hope to visit there again and enjoy the delights all over again.

Room Tip: Water front Bungalows have great views and the water is only metres away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wamboinites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My grandmother went there about 10 years ago and she was 80...the people were so loving towards her, it was like paradise, the water was so warm and the fish so exotic. Unfortunately she had a dvd on Uepi and she lost it or lent it to someone, I am sure she would do anything to get another one of those dvd's to savor the memory. It must have been a promotional one, if anyone has one....I am sure she would pay $100 for it. That is how much she loves Uepi. Now she is 90 and cannot go but would love to have the dvd to remind her of her beautiful time there.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uepi
0.0 mi away
Honiara Hotel
Honiara Hotel
#4 of 8 in Honiara
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gizo Hotel
Gizo Hotel
#3 of 3 in Gizo
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Evis Resort at Nggatirana Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ropiko Beach Resort
Ropiko Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Gatokae Island
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rekona Lodge
Rekona Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gizo
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uepi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uepi Island Resort

Property: Uepi Island Resort
Address: Marovo Lagoon, Uepi, Solomon Islands
Location: Solomon Islands > Uepi
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Uepi
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an international reputation for excellence, Uepi Island Resort in the Western Province is the ultimate getaway in the Solomons. World class diving, snorkeling and sea kayaking is complemented by beachfront bungalow accommodation, friendly personalized service and meals based on fresh local produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Uepi Island Hotel Marovo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing