We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“had fun in the pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Goldrush Motel

Goldrush Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Goldrush Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Young
Bargo, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“had fun in the pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

great place to stay very clean and tidy great pool to have a swim and wind down after a long drives.service was also good

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
11
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is an older style motel - rooms are a little dated but very clean. Has the usual tea and coffee making facilities and small fridge but with the added bonus of a microwave and crockery and cutlery for two. Rooms also have heating and air-conditioning. There is plenty of hanging space and drawers if you're an "unpacker" like me! You can get a cooked breakfast (a little overpriced if you want anything other than eggs and toast). They don't do evening meals but do have a charge-back arrangement with the local services club (whose meals I can highly recommend both for quantity and quality). The owners are very welcoming.

Room Tip: There are several rooms at the front of the property but these are close to a busy road. I'd req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Level Contributor
221 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

I was a regular at the Goldrush Motel but it has recently changed hands. The place has changed little and is still as clean and comfortable as before. Twice now the new manager has greeted me in the office in stained and grubby clothes and the last time I stayed I was woken at about 2:00am by the sound of the new owners arguing very loudly. I'm deciding whether I'll keep going back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the motel, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PadreJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Goldrush Motel is a member of Golden Chain and had everything we required. The room is a basic motel room, however it is supplied with plates, cups, cutlery, tea and coffee supplies etc. There is nothing you could want for in the room - it is supplied with more than we have received from places charging much more a night. The price was reasonable, the bed comfortable, the room clean and the managers, Kevin and Jenny, very polite and helpful. They also offer senior rates. Would definitely recommend if you find yourself passing through Young.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiR46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2011

Very small rooms, clean, unable to sleep as the trucks rolled over the top of us and that was with the airconditioner on full fan.
The women was polite on check-in but dont ask for anything, we found her very rude and unhelpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 255060Moe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Young hotels

Canberra
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Rooms were not too pricey and had everything you needed. Decor was amazingly dated, but not shabby. Our room was a bit dark being ground floor at the back of the building with the windows close to large bushes - others might be a little more breezy.

I would have no qualms about staying again, but it didn't exactly set the pulses racing either.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpagia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales
Level Contributor
221 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2008

I really love this motel. I work in Young on a regular basis and always stay at the Goldrush. It's not the most attractive property in town but the owners Cheryl and Damian have made sure the basics are more than looked after. The beds are extremely comfortable and I always get a great night's sleep here. The bathrooms are well presented and there is a good selection of TV and Austar viewing. The rooms are small but very cosy.

  • Liked — Presentation and service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PadreJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Young hotels
0.5 mi away
Town House Motor Inn
Town House Motor Inn
#5 of 6 in Young
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cherry Blossom Motel
0.7 mi away
Colonial Motel and Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Young Federation Motor Inn
1.3 mi away
Hilltops Retreat Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldrush Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldrush Motel

Property: Goldrush Motel
Address: 6 Campbell St, Young, New South Wales 2594, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Young
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Young
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goldrush Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goldrush Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing