We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value friendly service”
Review of Yass Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yass Motel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Yass
sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent value friendly service”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Dropped into Yass on a quick stopover and was unable to get into the number 1 Trip Advisor hotel in Yass or the number 2 for that matter. In fact the Yass Motel was the only hotel available but I'm more than happy about that. We were very impressed with this small clean friendly motel, in fact I'm quite surprised it's not number 1 in Yass, which is why I'm compelled to write this review. A very good basic but very comfortable and friendly service place to stay. And my daughter and I did appreciate the room heater being turned on before we arrived at 7 30 pm a nice touch. Thanks Yass Motel. You're great.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank talkingp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    10
    6
    8
See reviews for
18
21
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tassie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great value for $95 with breakfast. They had a sign on the roadside that attracted us. A large corner room, comfortable bed. The restaurant was a bonus, schnitzels their specialty. The local council were having dinner there which is a good recommendation. We were warned the free WiFi didn't work too well in our room but we coped. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budgewoi, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We booked the motel two days out from arriving on Anzac Day evening. When we arrived we had our first problem - it was so dark we had to use the satnav to locate the motel - the street sign wasn't even on!! As arranged the key was in the key box. It came with a small LED torch, which would've been useful, it was so dark, except for one thing - it refused to work (to be fair, it finally did agree to work - the next morning when I handed it and they keys back!!!!). So, finding our room was a bit of a hunting mission - there were no lights on outside the room to enable us to locate our room (which would not have been a problem if the torch had worked!!).

All was forgiven when we opened the door though - a HUGE family room with two singles, a double and a sofa bed. Manna! after the previous two motels we had stayed at in the same week. In fact the room was so big watching the TV from the bed would've required a pair of binoculars!! No idea if the TV was Closed Captioned for the Deaf - never got to try it, but hope it was!!!

One other quibbling point - when we rang on the way through Wagga to say we would arrive about 10pm, it would've been nice to be advised that breakfast is room service only and the order needed to be placed by 8pm the night before. Minor issue. No issues with noise - on the old Hume Highway so no heavy traffic coming through. Under cover parking and bitumen seal. Good airconditioning.

Room Tip: They have two family rooms. Take a torch - you may need it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mullet422262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We booked a room late in the day for a standard queen room. Cost was $95 which was reasonable. The decor is best described as "original" however basically the room was clean and ok. We would stay here again except for the experience we were forced to view at the end of our dinner. Firstly the dinner was really good. Service was great by Catherine who attended to us in a timely manor and was chatty and helpful. We had a fillet steak and a schnitzel both were quite good. What happened at the end of the meal when we walked out to the reception astounded me. First of all this comment comes from a couple that have employed 17 people in retail so we know what its like. The owner had encountered a client who had complained about a glass of wine not being up to scratch. Perhaps it had been opened for too long - who knows who cares. Catherine had dealt with it by providing a replacement from a fresh bottle. Yet this grumpy old man behind the counter embarrassed his employee by being totally rude in both action and demeanor slamming down the change for the meal on the counter to the older couple in front of us. His final (very loud) words were that there were only monkeys in the restaurant tonight and stormed off! I don't know how some people get into business's that deal with the public with attitudes like that. I believe that a previous guest had complained about the steak which he objected to. Mate - if things as trivial as this upset you perhaps you shouldn't be in the business

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wrenblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yass hotels

Minnamurra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

As others have stated, it is not new. The room we had was spotless, comfy and quite roomy. I love the undercover parking and ashphelt, great for motorbikes. The restaurant needed a booking, but we were told this at reception when booking in. It was half filled with 'locals', who appreciate the wholesome, good value food. The owners and staff were very nice and the info folder in the room was up tp date and very informative. Bed was great and the rooms quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rod H, Owner at Yass Motel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thankyou for your nice review. We have been working hard for the last 18 months and appreciate good feedback from nice people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We booked online the night before our stay on our way to Melbourne. The overall property is fine but our stay could have been better. We arrived to find the restaurant was closed (lucky we had some of our own food), the spa room we booked needed a key in the wall to operate (which we only found out when we checked out) - this needed to be communicated on check-in. There was no guest information book in the room either. It's also somewhat noisy - we had rude guests behind us who we could hear all night swearing - keeping us awake. The rate we paid was disappointing given all of these let downs. When we communicated our concerns on check-out it seemed as though they didnt really care and just made a bunch of excuses.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the spa room if you do stay. Rooms at front near the road can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bindi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a room with a double and a single in it if u had 3 people in there you would want to be friends , but clean and a good supply of milk and tea and coffee , the down volume on the remote control . If the single bed was taken out and a small lounge put in , I feel would of looked and worked better. Nice hot shower and good size bathroom . $ 85.00 on a Sunday night maybe a little high . Good parking and covered too which is a plus , no brush and bucket to clean the bugs off . 7/10

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sitting B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yass hotels
0.4 mi away
Swaggers Motor Inn
1.4 mi away
Colonial Lodge Motor Inn
1.4 mi away
Hi-Way Motor Inn
Hi-Way Motor Inn
#3 of 7 in Yass
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Thunderbird Motel
Thunderbird Motel
#1 of 7 in Yass
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hamilton Hume Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#1 of 4 in Yass
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yass Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yass Motel

Property: Yass Motel
Address: 38/40 Laidlaw St, Yass, New South Wales 2582, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Yass
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Yass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yass Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 23 suites prices are from $80 - $135. With a wide range of rooms - Budget , standard , queen, spa and large family rooms. The motel has been repainted and Asphalted and is being refurbished as part of a 2 year plan most rooms have new beds and bed covers. Check in from 12:00pm and Check out by 10:00am. Late arrivals can be catered for by contacting reception between 8:00am and 9:00pm. Let our warm and friendly staff welcome you back time and time again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yass Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing