We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Spot at Eco Point Angourie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Angourie Rainforest Resort
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Family Spot at Eco Point Angourie”
Reviewed March 2, 2007

We have been in Oz for 4 months (here working on a 6 month project) and have now stayed in a great many hotels from the most expensive to some real budget minders.
The Eco Point Angourie was a real treat. The resort it's self is made up of 33 separate 2 bm “Villas” and 4 two story apartment building with only 8 1 bm units in each. All accommodations are self contained and have recently been upgraded with new appliances and furniture. Ours was a 2 bm, full kitchen, dining room, living room and very nice with a huge covered veranda, all furnished tastefuly and overlooked a small pond. Comparatively it was good value at $200 AUS a night.
I would say it was very family oriented with a separate large children's pool with water slide and fountains and a children's craft centre. We had our 20 year old son with us, so we are not into the kiddie thing, but it was still ok.
We didn't eat at the hotel as there are lots of funky spots to eat in Yamba, but Shelley the events co-ordinator went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed and that we were taken care of. There are bikes for rent $20 per day and there are lots of nice places to ride. It's only 5 min to town.
Yamba is little discovered and the surfing is awesome, there is a nice Sunday market, some good restaurants and the Pacific Hotel has a bar that rocks on Fri & Sat nights and serves one of the best breakfasts we've had yet with one of the most stunning views ever. Overall this weekend breakaway (3 hours south of Surfer's Paradise) was a lovely change from the highrises and bad restaurants that surround the Gold Coast.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank vancouver_realtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    168
    73
    20
    17
See reviews for
95
209
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2006

Stayed for three nights in one of their hotel style apartments. The rest of the resort was booked out. So this is my only criticism of the resort. Try not staying in the hotel style apartments. They are bunched together in groups of eight. Four floors on the bottom , four floors on top. We had a bottom floor. And we could here everthing from the top floor. AND I MEAN EVERYTHING.......

Overall , it is a pleasant resort. The staff are generally friendly, however we got kcked out of their restuarant at 9:15, as it was a slow Thursday night. But the food was excellent..

Pay a little extra , and stay in one of the villas. Would be a great place for children, so I'm sure it is full of them during the holiday periods.
Only a five minute drive from the centre of Yamba.
(For a good cheap curry, go to the Spice Rack.)

Would return if only a villa was available.....

  • Liked — Restaurant, Location
  • Disliked — Noisy Neighbours
  • Tips/Secrets — Pay Extra for The Villas
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chill71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level Contributor
263 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2006

We only had one night here in July 2006 but thought it was lovely. A great setting and beautifully quiet retreat. The weather was a little cold for swimming but the pool looked inviting.

We booked a standard 2 bedroomed villa and got a good deal including a hot buffet breakfast through Wotif(-).

The villa was very large and comfortable and I loved waking up in the morning to the rainforest sounds - I really felt away from it all. Breakfast was extensive and tasty with a full selection of hot offerings, cereal and toast and preserves. Lots of juices and hot drinks too. My daughter particularly like the conveyor toaster and would happily have cooked toast for the whole resort.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly; to the extent that when there were problems with the internet connection in the cafe, they let us use their own computers!

Would definitely like to spend more time here.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HUNTINGPARTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2006

I stayed at the Angourie Rainforest Resort for 3 nights in April 06 with my husband and 3 children. What a great, comfortable place to stay. We stayed in a 2 bedroom deluxe villa. The accommodation was spacious, serviced daily and very comfortable. The children had an absolutely fabulous time. The facilities were great for children (ours aged 3, 5 & 11). My husband and I dined at the restaurant on our first night and found the food and service second to none. (Although sadly I believe that there may now be a change of management). The resort is a few minutes drive out of Yamba, and a few minutes drive to Angourie (between the 2 in fact). My mother-in-law stayed in the one bedroom unit and it was lovely and modern. My only bug bear is that the villas and the resort in general are adorned with a garish aqua paint which actually screams out to be covered over with a more subtle colour. We recommend this place to stay for couples, families, everyone.
It's not 5 star, but its very good. (We also ordered room service one night and the food was delivered on schedule and was of a pleasing standard).

Helpful?
6 Thank brijahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yamba hotels
1.2 mi away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
1.3 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#10 of 11 in Yamba
80 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sands Resort
The Sands Resort
#6 of 11 in Yamba
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
0.8 mi away
Yamba Aston Motel
Yamba Aston Motel
#2 of 11 in Yamba
188 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angourie Rainforest Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angourie Rainforest Resort

Property: Angourie Rainforest Resort
Address: 166 Angourie Rd, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia (Formerly Australis Angourie Rainforest Resort)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Yamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angourie Rainforest Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angourie Rainforest Resort located in Yamba, New South Wales is a coastal oasis adjacent to the sand dunes of pristine Flat Rock Beach, between the famous Angourie surf beach and the village of Yamba - voted the #1 Town in Australia. Multi-award winning 4.5 star Angourie Rainforest Resort nestled beside 600 hectares of open forest containing remnant littoral rainforest, is an exclusive eco-friendly retreat. The resort offers a uniquely Australian holiday experience for the professional family, couples and the independent traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Angourie Rainforest Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angourie Hotel Yamba
Angourie Resort Yamba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing