We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean simple place”
Review of Yamba Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yamba Beach Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Yamba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The room was nice clean and simple. When I stay at Yamba in the future I would stay there again, but I would have a look at other options first. It was nice enough but for $160 a night I didn't feel like it was exceptional value. It's in a nice position right near the beach.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petertrish2464, Owner at Yamba Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Congratulations for writing the worst review we have had in the last two years !!

Did it have anything to do with the fact that we asked you to check out on time and you ignored our request and left one hour late,creating friction for all concerned.??

All other guests were long gone at this time.

Do not worry about considering a return to our property as we do not welcome inconsiderate people.

Peter McNeil
Owner
Yamba Beach Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 223 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We enjoyed a great 2 night stay at Yamba Beach Motel. We had an ocean view room, with a lovely balcony and there is also plunge pool (unfortunately the weather was freezing during our stay). Rooms have recently been renovated and they are clean and very comfortable and the beds are super comfy. There are tea/coffee making facilities, a toaster, plates, bowls and a microwave. Thoughtful touch in the microwave is a roll of gladwrap!! Pete was very helpful and had a lot of local knowledge. It's 1 minute walk to the beach, a 3 minute walk to the historic Yamba pub and a 5 minute walk to the town centre (a steep walk back though). There is also a cafe at the front of the motel where we enjoyed breakfast and dinner. I would advise anyone wanting to book a room to book directly via the Motel's website and forget about booking through some of the web-based booking agencies. I booked through one of these agencies (lowest web price guaranteed) only to discover that they charged $15 more than the Motel's price. When I queried this with the agency, their course of action was to request that the motel charge us the lower rate, but they still charged the motel with the agency's commission. All in all, a beaut location, friendly and helpful staff and comfortable accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petertrish2464, Owner at Yamba Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Hi There Liz

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your kind words on Trip Advisor.We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We always read reviews when travelling and they generally give an accurate account of what you might expect when you arrive.
Positive ones like yours certainly make our day !!

We would love to see you next time you visit the Clarence Valley.
Once again Thankyou !!

Cheers

Peter & Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I travel a lot for bussines and stay in a lot of motels,but the Yamba Beach Motel is definetly my favorite. Pete and Trish always go out of their way to make my stay pleasurable. The rooms have plenty of space, the beds are amazing, all with balconys but would recomend a ocean view room, its great to site back after a long day with a glass of wine and watch the waves roll in on Yamba's Main beach. I love to eat down stairs at Pippi's, Richard and June are great hosts, The muesli with Yoghourt and fresh fruit is my pick for breakfast ,they also have great coffee.
I would recommend the Yamba Beach Motel a must for anyone traveling the east coast.

Room Tip: All rooms are extremly quiet and very well appointed, but my recomendation would be one of the ocen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petertrish2464, Owner at Yamba Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Hey David

What a lovely surprise to read your great review on Trip Advisor.
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts.You know how much it means to us.
When people are trying to decide where to stay,a review from a seasoned traveller like you can have an influence on their decision.
That helps us so much.
It certainly makes our day when our guests are happy.
See you next time you are in Big River Country !!!
Once again Thanks !!


Pete & Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

A short walk to beach and some of Yambas best restaurants.
Very friendly owner operators Peter and Trish are on site and are very helpful, if you are wishing for some suggestions of what to do in the area.
Clean and well appointed rooms. Good sized rooms and very comfy beds. I have stayed here numerous times on business trips and get the Deluxe room which has a ocean view and a large balconey which you can sit out quitely and relax watching the surf.
Pippi's cafe downstairs has great food and selection of wines, is open for breakfast , lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petertrish2464, Owner at Yamba Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Hi There Raddison

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your most kind words on Trip Advisor.It means a lot to us when our Guests enjoy themselves and appreciate our efforts over the last two years with our upgrade of the Motel.
Reading your other reviews, you certainly have travelled extensively and that means you see a lot of Hotels.Motels and the like.
Your opion,therefore is valued indeed !!
Once again thanks.
See you on your next trip to Yamba !!
Cheers

Peter & Trish

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Trish and Pete have excelled themselves in transforming this once tired motel in Yamba ! My husband and I stumbled upon this little gem on an overnight in this beautiful little town . We had a superior ocean view room which has amongst many things , an amazing bed (!) , huge balcony complete with 6 seat dining table , sun lounge and beautiful view of the beach . Our room is fabulously well appointed , they have thought of it all down to the fluffy white towels and MOR products . Immaculately clean ! We will be back ,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny_hyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petertrish2464, Owner at Yamba Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Hi Jenny

A big thank you from us for your lovely review on Trip Advisor.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope we see you again next time you are in Big River Country.
Reviews from Travel Professionals like yourselves are the most rewarding of all to us, as you get to see so many accommodation properties all over the world.
It was great to meet you both.

Once again thankyou !!

Cheers

Peter & Trish McNeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This has got to be the worlds best kept secret,it is just a beautiful and warm place to relax and stay with the most friendly hosts you will meet.
Peter and Trish have beautifully appointed all the rooms and I just
love being made to feel welcome and the rooms with the new beds are just brilliant.
I was lucky enough to stay in one of the deluxe suites which you should ask for as they have a fantastic view of the ocean and a great outdoor alfresco area where you can sit and watch the ocean or read a book or just sit.
I had the most comfortable sleep in the new bed and slept sound after watching a movie on the big TV.
There is no noise and it is so peaceful that you will want to come back.
Don't forget to have dinner at Pippi's cafe and bar.They have local seafood which is just beautiful, I had local whiting and chips and it is well worth taking time out for breakfast.
I love staying here in Yamba.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davos33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petertrish2464, Owner at Yamba Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Hi David
What can I say ? What a super review. Thanks so much !! You know when our guests take the time to comment in a positive way it gives us a real lift.
We recently upgraded the complete Linen/Towelling range for the Motel and the response from guests has been great.
I think the new beds have made a difference also?
It's always lovely to see you,Trish & I look forward to catching up on your next visit to Big River Country !!
PS Try and bring your wife next time.
Cheers
Peter McNeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We arrived just after dark after driving up from Sydney so at this point it was our first experience of accommodation on our drive up to Port Douglas. On reflection it is one of the nicest places we stayed on the whole trip. Peter and Trish were very friendly and helpful with local knowledge. The room was a little small but the bed was very comfortable and the huge shaded patio overlooking the ocean more than made up for it. The restaurant on site served great food with friendly service. Yes we would stay there again. Ross and Trish

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossangood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petertrish2464, Owner at Yamba Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Hi Ross & Trish
Trish & I would like to thank you for your most kind words regarding your recent stay with us.We hope you enjoyed your trip to Port Douglas.
When we receive a compliment like yours,it encourages us to keep trying our best to make our Guests time with us as enjoyable as possible.
We have lots of Pacific Highway 'Regulars' That stop over here,lets hope we have the pleasure of your company sometime in the future.
Once again - Thankyou !!

Cheers

Peter & Trish McNeil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yamba hotels
0 mi away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
0.1 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#10 of 11 in Yamba
87 reviews
1.8 mi away
Yamba Motor Inn
Yamba Motor Inn
#7 of 11 in Yamba
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sands Resort
The Sands Resort
#3 of 11 in Yamba
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yamba Aston Motel
Yamba Aston Motel
#1 of 11 in Yamba
214 reviews
1.5 mi away
Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yamba Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yamba Beach Motel

Address: 30 Clarence St, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Yamba
Price Range: $111 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yamba Beach Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yamba Beach Motel is a boutique,privately owned and managed Four and 1/2 Star Motel. We are situated on top of Yamba Hill, overlooking Main Beach. Our elevated position helps us to enjoy cool summer breezes from the prevailing north easterly. You can often view Dolphins and Whales (in season) when staying here. All our rooms are air conditioned and have private balconies. We are a short walk to all Yamba Beaches, Shops and Restaurants plus the famous Pacific Hotel! We also have an In Ground Pool, Foxtel + Free High Speed Wi Fi Internet. Attached to the Motel is Pippi's Cafe & Bar. Room Service is available. We are constantly upgrading our facilities to help make your stay more enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Yamba Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Yamba
Yamba Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing