We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely tasty Italian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sassafras

Sassafras
Ranked #3 of 65 Restaurants in Yamba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Caves Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely tasty Italian food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We came here in March 2013. Lovely food that tastes great and was really filling! I only ordered entree size pasta as we had 'Rat Baits' for entree which were bread with tasty butters - recommend! My partner had pork belly roast that looked sensational - this was a special
Good atmosphere and really friendly wait staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieMuldoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    137
    44
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The staff here were very friendly and the food was a delight. It's BYO and the bottle shop is across the road. I had the fried whitebait for entree, which was nice and crispy but a huge serving. My partner had the rat baits, tiny bread rolls that came with three different flavoured butters. For mains I had a fiery pizza and I thank the young waitress for advising me to have medium heat rather than hot. My partner had the swordfish, again a very large serving, which he said was very good. I would highly recommend eating at Sassafras if you're ever in Yamba.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WandaSandhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ahh-Mazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I am dieting for my wedding and have not had pasta for MONTHS, however there was just no way I could resist the pasta options these guys had on offer. The pasta was cooked perfectly, the sauce was just right, not too heavy, not too light, and their "Rat Baits" with 3 types of butter, oh my god, I could have just eaten a whole plate of them - a must try. The hardest thing was not ordering dessert!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Pizzas were very tasty and we love our pizzas. Would tell everyone to try them. Very friendly staff.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Cannot go past this place - pasta is just divine, heaps of great pizza choices, delicious. Def worth the visit in Yamba

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank KtandRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sassafras also viewed

Yamba, New South Wales
 
Yamba, New South Wales
 
Yamba, New South Wales
Yamba, New South Wales
 

Been to Sassafras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing