We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have stayed on many powered sites on our trip around Australia, and this is certainly up there with the best.......everything is just spot on, clean and tidy, staff friendly, great location, gardens manicured, nice and close to shops and restaurants. We are wishing we could stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    140
    62
    29
    26
See reviews for
393
113
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woongarrah, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just finished a weeks stay on an ensuite powered site. Pretty disappointed with the park, it has certainly declined in its presentation, customer service and overall maintenance of the entire park. Stayed here last year and it was 100% better. Current management don't seem to be as diligent as the past. I arrived to find the power outlet that we were supposed to plug into being faulty, continually tripping the fuse system. When I reported this to the manager on duty he claimed it must have been my lead and was quite rude about it.
It then got one of his own and of course the problem continued, no apology. He said he would arrange an electrician to inspect the point and suggested I plug into another vacant site power supply. I never saw an electrician inspect the point while I was there nor did anyone come back to me with a response to wether it had been repaired or not. Many other issues, Bbq weren't cleaned daily, ensuite were full of ants, dead cockroaches on the floor on arrival. My wife had to clean it herself. We had to constantly spray surface spray to kill the ants & Cockroaches.
No staff ever was seen cleaning the ensuite or refill the toilet paper. We purchased our own.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we apologise that your stay with us was not as you had hoped. Your concerns have all been noted and will be addressed and fully reviewed.

It is our aim to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay, and do appreciate your comments, as it assists us to not only maintain our standards, but also improve both our service levels and facilities.

The comments re the decline in presentation of the property, unfortunately we were hit by a couple of very destructive storms that week, and one the day you arrived. Combined also with being a little short staffed, to be honest, we struggled to cope with staying on top of the debris clean up. While this is by no means an excuse, it is an honest account of what happened and feel we should explain, so you know what you encountered is not the norm.

We pride ourselves on providing an exceptionally high standard of cleanliness and service, so we are disappointed to read the comments.

With the ants, unfortunately due to the excess wet weather our region has encountered for the last few months, this is an issue we face daily.. The ants are coming out of the ground, seeking refuge from the water in any place that is dry. We would have been happy to supply some surface spray, had we been aware that ants were an issue. Please note, we also have a regular pest control maintenance program.

If you would like to discuss your comments further, please contact our manager directly on +61 2 6646 2194, her name is Jackie. Or alternatively if you can provide us with a contact phone number, we will gladly give you a call.

Regards
Danella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caboolture, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a short 2 night stay here and loved it. We stayed in a Waterfront villa with our 2 young children with water and little sandy beach right at doorstep. Cabin was very spacious and clean, but a little dated. Spa was great. Park facilities Fantastic and staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have a Motorhome and had an en-suite with private shower and toilet for the night. The site given was just 5 meters from the waters edge and was peaceful and felt like a real holiday park. The en- suite was a bit dated but very clean. The facilities such as Laundry was modern and clean and they had 2 pools which were top notch and would entertain kids for hours on end complete with water slides! True value for money. And literally 200 meters away we had dinner at the Yamba Chinese restaurant - yummmmm.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STSurryHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Bryant family have been holidaying at The Blue Dolphin every year since 1965.
We have looked and stayed at other parks up and down the coast but we have found none to be in a location to rival Blue Dolphin.
It is now 48 years since we first found and stayed at The Blue Dolphin and we only hope for a few more years of holidays there in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Wow – thank you so much for your fantastic review..
What a great way to start our day reading this positive reinforcement.

We are so pleased to hear you always enjoy your stay as we do try very hard to provide a product and location for all guests to enjoy. We are also so very thankful to you and your family for being such a loyal guest of ours for so many years.

We have been fortunate to operate Blue Dolphin since December 2005 and totally agree that it is a magical location. You have been a loyal customer for much longer than our tenure and we do hope we can also share many more years with you and your family.

Have a fantastic day!

Regards
Danella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed mid Feb on a powered site in our caravan with small dog - whilst we didnt need the ensuite facilities they turned out to be a bit of luxury after using our smaller caravan bathroom for the past few weeks. The pools were wonderful, staff were friendly on check in & we enjoyed being able to walk along the riverfront reserve in the evenings. Did wonder if there had been a recent management change as when making the initial inquiry by phone the staff member had to ask the manager for answers to very basic questions ie rates, location of site when travelling with pet etc & same situation when we arrived - everything had to be ok'd by the manager which seemed odd & slightly unprofessional. Can recommend the pub overlooking the ocean for food & drinks - fabulous views ! & the Caperberry Cafe for coffee & good onsite baked food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, S at Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on our park.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay as we do try very hard to provide a product and location for all guests to enjoy.

Yes there has been a change in management which came into effect late last year. We have also recently reviewed our pet policy, which includes the areas within the park that guests with pets can use (with the waterfront now being one of the new areas), hence our staff checking with management to ensure what they were advising was correct. We apologise if you found this unprofessional however until our staff are comfortable with all the changes, most double check to ensure they are giving out accurate information.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards
Danella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We recently stayed two nights in a spa villa, and were very disappointed with the cleanliness of the villa. The bottom sheet of the queen bed had obviously not been changed, and we found two long hairs on it as well. There was a real problem with ants in the kitchen, which necessitated in us having to throw out food. Along with all this the spa was not in a clean condition as well.

Have travelled extensively and never found these problems before.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danella_FreeSpirit, Senior Operations Manager at Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we apologise that your stay with us was not as you had hoped. Your concerns have all been noted and will be addressed and fully reviewed.

We pride ourselves on providing an exceptionally high standard of cleanliness, so we are disappointed to read the comments. The sheets are always changed after every departure, so we can guarantee that were a fresh set, however had you let us know that something wasn’t quite right, we could have immediately replaced these for you.

With the ants, unfortunately due to the excess wet weather our region has encountered for the last month, this is an issue we face daily.. The ants are coming out of the ground, seeking refuge from the water in any place that is dry. We would have been happy to supply some surface spray, had we been aware that ants were an issue. Please note, we also have a regular pest control maintenance program.

If you would like to discuss your comments further, please contact our manager directly on +61 2 6646 2194, her name is Jackie. Or alternatively if you can provide us with a contact phone number, we will gladly give you a call.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind regards
Danella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yamba hotels
1.5 mi away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
0.5 mi away
Gateway Lifestyle Yamba Waters
1.4 mi away
Angourie Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
BIG4 Saltwater at Yamba Holiday Park
0.1 mi away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
1.0 mi away
Yamba Aston Motel
Yamba Aston Motel
#2 of 11 in Yamba
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort

Property: Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort
Address: Yamba Road | On the Clarence River, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Yamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort caters from camp sites to 3 bedroom modern apartments. We have something for everyone and facilities that are 2nd to none in Yamba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Dolphin Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing