We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort for weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Kooindah Waters Central Coast
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wyong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Staff were friendly and professional. I commend Kylee, Gabi and Renee (? - about 150cm tall, brown bob, early 20s) in the restaurant on their friendly and sincere service. As you walked around the resort, all staff acknowledged you with a smile and greeting which I thought was very nice and a change from your typical large resort.

After checking in, we noticed there was no milk for tea/coffee and no bath plug in our room. This was quickly rectified. Our room had a kingsize bed, TV, shower over a small bath, bar fridge, toaster, microwave, large double glass doors that slide open onto a native garden outlook. There are sheer as well as block-out curtains so you can have the glass doors open and enjoy the breeze and view and still have privacy.

Rooms with a golf course view looked like they were worth paying more for - come with either a small patio area or balcony and chairs and small table.

The facilities were great - hardly anyone in the pools, gym, sauna or spa and no problem booking the free tennis courts - balls and quality racquets are supplied free of charge. Loved the tranquility of my swim at 9am.

We arrived Friday lunchtime and left Sunday afternoon. You can use all the facilities on the day of check-out and there are showers and lockers available for use in the indoor pool building.

The resort facilities are open to people who live in the adjacent residential estate so at about 3pm Sunday afternoon there were quite a few families with young children in the resort pool but this was the only time we saw any kids.

The restaurant food was very average. If I were paying full price I'd be very disappointed. As an Accor Advantage Plus member we paid 1/2 price on meals.

The breakfast buffet was standard - you can order eggs to your liking. The bacon was very good quality and there was smoked salmon, croissants and small danishes, and the usual cereal, fresh fruit and yoghurt, grilled tomato, mushroom etc.

They did have a great automated Nespresso capsule coffee machine which made great coffee.

For lunch, my partner had the prawn salad - the prawns were sweet but he thought they were small, the serving size was generous for an entree. His baby lamb rump was a tad overcooked.

I ordered the spaghetti with mushroom cooked in a paper parcel. It came with a garden salad. I thought the portion size for a mains was rather small and actually questioned the waitress if I had been given an entree by mistake.

For mains we tried the Scotch fillet - I ordered rare guessing it would be a tad overcooked - it was closer to medium rare which is what I actually wanted. The steak itself was delicious, as was the fresh roast beetroot and artichoke chips. The Paris mashed potato ordered as a side was fluffy and rich. Pork belly was also slightly overcooked but the crackling was crispy.

Chicken breast supreme was cooked well if somewhat lacking in flavour. It was described as being served with smoked speck but it looked more like diced ham. I am used to speck being served as wafer thin slices.

The soup of the day was sweet potato and pumpkin - it was very oily - there was a thick layer of olive oil - it tasted like puree sweet potato and pumpkin drizzled with olive oil - not very pleasant.

Overall the food was acceptable but at the prices charged I think you'd enjoy better food at one of the many restaurants at the local Westfields Tuggerah about 10 min drive away.

The restaurant is not particularly atmospheric - it feels like an upmarket RSL bistro.

Things that need to be fixed:
a) the clock above the indoor lap pool doesn't work.

b) Get rid of the canned music that is piped to the balcony outside the restaurant. This is a gorgeous shady spot to have breakfast, a drink or cocktail but the magnificent view of the golf course, trees and water ponds is ruined by being subject to elevator music.

c) restaurant food needs work

d) get some more shade umbrellas by the pool - there are about 12 sun lounges but only 2 umbrellas which can shade 4 lounges. There's no other shade by the resort pool unless you move and sit under the shade cloth over the playground.

Not fixing the clock and providing more umbrellas just looks like they don't bother maintaining the resort. There was one umbrella base by the pool missing its umbrella

Would be a great place to take kids as there is a small fenced shaded playground next to the pool, a large grassy area to run around on next to the resort pool, free electric BBQs next to the pool area and the resort pool has a shallow toddlers wading pool.

Overall, a quite pleasant weekend getaway if you are looking for a quiet retreat.

I'd stay here again but would probably arrange to have some meals else where.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the golf course are very nice - or you could just go and enjoy a drink on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avikone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 628 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in the 1 bedroom apartment to get away from Sydney for the weekend. The space was great but the area of Wyong is pretty ordinary. Had problems with the TV so no in-house movies on the first night which is what we wanted to do. Had dinner in the restuarant on the first night, average food and really bad cocktails (they use syrup in them and charge $15!!) the golf course is really hard if you're a beginner, water everywhere! Pool is nice... breakfast was pretty good. Wouldnt rush back... is what it is.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigrobmac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We recently stayed on a Saturday night for a short getaway from Sydney. It was a very pleasant stay, and we were lucky to find a good deal online that included restaurant credit, buffet breakfasts, wine and a late checkout, and on top of that, were upgraded to a Golf view room which was very relaxing. The service was fantastic, both at reception and in the restaurant. We had dinner at Karinyas restaurant which was nice but not memorable. We didn't enjoy breakfast very much - the hot items on offer were unappealing (watery scrambled egg), so we stuck with croissants, fruit and yoghurt. The room was very modern and clean, with a large bathroom (separate bath and shower), a large balcony, and T2 teas, which was a nice touch. The grounds were very well maintained, and we enjoyed swimming in the indoor heated pool. We didn't utilise the Endota Spa on this visit, but it looked very inviting. There were also two tennis courts available for guest use.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennymal9
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were there for 2 nights and can pass on to you what a modern, clean property this is.We received excellent service , flexible and professional from all staff we encountered especially Rachel at reception, the bar staff and night audit staff- all excellent hospitality people
The room we had was spacious had a lovely golf course view, it was really well thought out and appointed
plenty of parking , a neat restaurant, and lots of places to go for a walk if you would like to
We ran out of time to use the pool etc but it looked great
would love to go back and relax and great location near tuggarah and the F3

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blaine888
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

it was nice we stayed for valentines day the meal was great , but they forgot our bread to start and we had to ask for it , drinks came out slow but all in all it was a nice night, the room was pleasent and breakfast was nice

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynwyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wyong
11.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Terrigal Pacific
10.7 mi away
Terrigal Pacific Coastal Retreat
5.4 mi away
Ibis Styles The Entrance
Ibis Styles The Entrance
#1 of 8 in The Entrance
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Pullman Magenta Shores Resort
17 mi away
Mantra Ettalong Beach
Mantra Ettalong Beach
#1 of 2 in Ettalong Beach
2,504 reviews
5 mi away
Oaks Waterfront Resort The Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Kooindah Waters Central Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kooindah Waters Central Coast

Address: 40 Kooindah Bvd, Wyong, New South Wales 2259, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wyong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wyong
Price Range: $151 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Kooindah Waters Central Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an ideal venue for a business conference? A relaxing weekend getaway but don’t want to travel too far from Sydney or Newcastle? Or trying to find an ideal venue for your wedding? Whether for business, a function, or a private weekend getaway, you can now find all the facilities, ambiance and luxury you need, just 90 minutes north of the Sydney CBD – at Mercure Kooindah Waters Golf and Spa Resort. Stay at Kooindah waters and enjoy…• Be active. Play golf on our Ross Watson-designed, 18-hole championship standard golf course – or try our private gym or tennis courts. • Relax. Visit our endota day spa with luxurious treatment rooms or our indoor 25m lap pool, leisure pool, spa or sauna. • Indulge. Enjoy a meal at our exclusive Karinya’s Restaurant and Wine Bar overlooking the stunning golf course and wetlands. • Explore. Go wine tasting in the Hunter Valley, just a 40 minute drive, or visit the beaches of the Central Coast in under 30 minutes. Nearby Tuggerah Lake also offers serene picnic spots and a plethora of water sports with kayaks and bicycles for hire. Local National Parks boast a multitude of walking tracks, and the Yarramalong and Dooralong Valleys offer horse riding, kids’ activities, art galleries and charming villages. Accommodation OptionsMercure Kooindah Waters has a variety of Accommodation styles available to our guests from hotel rooms to spacious self-contained apartments - including standard king rooms or one, two and three bedroom self contained apartments. Most rooms offering beautiful views over the golf course with private balconies. Conferences and EventsMercure Kooindah Waters Golf and Spa Resort offer everything you need for a conference or event. There are six indoor function rooms, all with natural light and our Kooindah Ballroom boasts wetland views as well as many various outdoor areas to choose from. Weddings: Mercure Kooindah Waters offer an ideal location to celebrate your wedding and exchange vows, overlooking the glorious golf course and surrounding wetlands. The resort has all the requirements you need for your special day with ceremony and reception venues, dining, accommodation and a day spa all onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Kooindah Waters Central Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kooindah Waters Central Coast Hotel Wyong
Mantra Kooindah Waters Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing