We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Bakery

Alpine Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Jim Thorpe
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Kunkletown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Whenever i'm with family, or friends, and we're in the area or passing by, we love to stop there!! At first, I thought it was going to be some kind of bakery that makes cakes of request, or delivers to weddings and parties, but Boy!, was i wrong!! The sandwiches there are THE BEST SUBS EVER!!! And, there baked goods are delish!! (THE CANNOLIS ARE THE BOMB!!!) Do yourself a favor and stop there, and be surprised!!! The value of the food is great!! The atmosphere is pretty good too!! LOVED IT!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDoctor28929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bristol,pa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Would Be Nice If They Carried Everything on Their Menu”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We read the reviews, so decided to try the place. Our mouths were watering for the stuffed pretzels that are on their menu. We were told they would be awhile if we wanted them. So, then we asked for pork roll sandwiches, but they were either out of the pork roll or the rolls. Our third choice was a bagel, but, of course, they had none of these either. We may have just picked a bad day (it was a Monday), but the website might want to mention that not all the items listed are available at all times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank brenda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaghticoke, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Literally a hole in the wall WORTH venturing through....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Excellent baked goods. Brilliant gluten free items. Priced OH-SO reasonably. Do not miss. I had a gluten-free chocolate chip cookie that melted in my mouth. Since that stuff can go either way, it was wonderful to experience that kind of deliciousness. The kind where your kids, who CAN eat gluten, steal your cookies.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tracysnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An oasis in the middle of nowhereville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Eaten here a bunch of times. Great when you need to eat in a hurry or want to bring home some fresh baked goods. Prices are very very reasonable. Several large tables to sit down. No public restrooms though, which isn't right for a place serving food. Baked items are tasty. Coffee is not so great. They could easily improve that, maybe they don't know how bad it is. The variety of sandwiches have a local flavor. Soup in season is a bargain. Pizza when fresh is good, but it it looks like it's been in the heat box too long, avoid. I don't like their steak sandwiches but they prepare it Pocono style, not Philly style. All in all, a good place for fast, priced right food and bakery goods. The tray with bakery samples is a nice touch. Nice to see a local business bloom in the area, where many others have failed. Definitely worth a stop if you're on the 903.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Conrad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim Thorpe, PA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Breakfast, Lunch, Deli, Bakery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you are looking for a fast-food chain along Route 903 between Jim Thorpe and Blakeslee, forget about it! Try instead this gem of a local eatery where you can get fresh sandwiches, soup, pizza or baked goods for breakfast or lunch, to eat in or take out. Don't be fooled by the name of this establishment. "Alpine Bakery" is also a deli offering real food that is reasonably priced and quickly prepared. Whether you are in the area for whitewater rafting, skiing, leaf peeping, honeymooning or sightseeing, a stop at the Alpine Bakery will provide a treat to remember.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LMS39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alpine Bakery also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Alpine Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing