We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good.”
Review of Inn at Jim Thorpe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2007

The room was dirty. We left and went to another place. Read the pther reviews so maybe this is not normal.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank traveler5Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davo55, manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2007

I appreciate the review and the fact that it was mentioned that it "may not be normal." Certainly this is not the norm here at our property. It's upsetting to our staff when when we get a review such as this one. Since I don't know the date of the stay, I cannot research it -I can only guess that it is possible we accidentally sent them to a room that had not been cleaned yet from the night before. Our housekeeping staff gets excellent reviews basd on the comment cards we recieve and other reviews on tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 678 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2007

My husband and I pulled into The Inn at Jim Thorpe late one night after we realized we weren't going to make it to our planned destination. What a stroke of luck! At the end of a driving trip up the East Coast to Maine and then back down again, this may have been the nicest place we stayed. It's beautifully restored and appointed and in one of the cutest towns you'll ever find. We had a coupon from one of those books you can pick up on the interstate so I assume we were given a smaller room, but it was lovely, with a sitting/TV area and a sleeping area, ceiling fan and a/c, gorgeous bath, and so comfortable. The ambiance of the Inn is the best of all. It's just welcoming, relaxing and gracious but not at all overbearing. And with a free and generous continental breakfast! We were delighted and plan to return.

Stayed: July 2007
5  Thank JesseMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

The Inn at Jim Thorpe was by far the best choice we could have made.

We stayed in Suite 200..... and all I can say is wow! There is a living room area with a fireplace, a big flat-screen TV, and a King size bed in the main area. Off the main area is another bedroom with 2 double beds, a small kitchenette with a fridge, a microwave and a sink, a recessed room with a 2-person hot tub, and a bathroom. There is also a little hallway that has a walk-in closet and a second "mini-bathroom" that really just has a sink and a place to do your hair and makeup, etc. Also from the main room is a direct entrance to a private balcony overlooking the main street of Jim Thorpe. What a great place to sit and enjoy a hot beverage, or even just people-watch.

The Inn was immaculate and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. They do have baggage carriers and an elevator to transport luggage. The only thing I can say is that there is very limited parking right beside the hotel..... maybe 20 spots at best. So if you want to park very close, then make sure to check in early. There is more hotel parking just down the road, it's just not as convenient.

From the Inn, many of the main attractions are within walking distance. There is lots of shopping, the ASA Packer Mansion is just up the hill, the train station is only a 5 min walk away (where they give scenic tours to the gorge), and Race Street is also only one block away.

The architecture in the town is very old, funky and historic. Lots of fun to photograph ! A must-see is the Old Jail Museum just up the street, and the No. 9 Mine Museum in Lansford (about a 15 min drive away). It was really something to tour an actual coal mine and to learn all about the lives of the coal miners and the fate of the Molly Maguires.

All in all, the town of Jim Thorpe is a great place to explore. The residents are quite amiable.... twice we were invited into people's homes for a visit. However, it should be noted that this is a little bit of a bar town as well, so the main street doesn't settle down until about 2am.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank andi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Jim Thorpe is a great getaway spot from NYC and The Inn seems like the place to stay if you want a central location and some historical charms.

The public balcony is charming and a great place to share a happy hour with new friends or old ones.

Our room was nice, though the old-fashioned decor may throw some people off. Plenty of space and a very clean and bright bathroom.

Parking can be a bit tight, but the staff is very able to explain the various options that hotel guests have for parking overnight.

The location is the best. From there, you can walk to all parts of town to check out the great historical architecture. You can also hike to Mount Pisgah in just and hour (highly recommended!).

All in all, The Inn was a great place.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jt1929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

I spent 1 night at this inn - and I wish I had more time! It's a beautiful mixture of antique (or antique-looking) furniture and thoroughly modern mattress, bathroom, and a/c. The materials I printed did not mention the continental breakfast, which was simple but perfectly adequate.

I selected it because it was convenient - I was visiting my sister - and did not expect a lot. What a pleasant surprise! The only reason I didn't give it an "Excellent" rating is that no one offered to carry my suitcase up to the third floor. If you have difficulty carrying bags or climbing stairs, you should probably check with the management before booking to make sure they can accomodate you.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

We loved our stay at the Broadway House just down the street from the Inn at Jim Thorpe. It's a separate property owned & managed by the Inn. The Broadway House is in a quaint newly remodelled set of old buildings adjoined by an added back sitting room with sky lights. We stayed on a Sunday night, so we were able to enjoy the shared hot-tub by ourselves. There are also little outdoor sitting areas terraced up the hill in back to get a view of the area from above. We stayed in one of their 'mini' suites with a jacuzzi tub. The room was very clean & very comfortable. The staff at the Inn are pleasant and laid back. We had dinner at the Emerald Restaurant, which is also part of the Inn, & the food was good. This isn't very far from where my parents live, so I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pixilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2006

The Inn at Jim Thorpe is a small hotel right on the main street of this historic railroad town. Its character blends perfectly with that of the town. The rooms are furnished in a Victorian motif, with comfy beds and a good reading lamp. The staff is friendly and pleasant. I booked a room overlooking the main street, which I recommend, as most of the others seem to face brick walls. A charming balcony runs the length of the second floor, with big wicker chairs for relaxing. The dining room was okay, but the cold Continental breakfast (included in the very reasonable price of the room) is not really my style. The staff recommended a fifties-style diner just down the street for a hot breakfast, and it did not disappoint! A very enjoyable stay in a delightful town....

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank emmi331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe), PA
3.2 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
#6 of 6 in White Haven
529 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Village at Pocono
The Village at Pocono
#1 of 1 in Long Pond
118 reviews
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jim Thorpe

Address: 24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Price Range: $99 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Jim Thorpe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1849 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn at Jim Thorpe combines old world charm with modern conveniences in the heart of one of America's most picturesque and historic small towns. Steps to shops, galleries, opera house, pubs, restaurants, train rides, river rafting, kayaking, and hiking/biking trails. Suites with whirlpools and fireplaces. Spa services, adventure packages, spa getaways, romantic couples escapes, midweek packages and show & stay packages. Popular restaurant and bar, the Broadway Grille, is right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Inn at Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jim Thorpe Hotel Jim Thorpe
Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing