We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Jim Thorpe

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Inn and found the experience to be very pleasant and comfortable. The room was clean, the staff cordial, and the Inn conveniently located. Their restaurant is closed for renovations but the Inn provided vouchers for breakfast at a local restaurant which was lovely. The town was wonderfully quaint and decorated for an old fashioned holiday. The spa was an added plus for a relaxing way to get away from the holiday stress.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbumnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    210
    44
    13
    11
See reviews for
73
402
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fogelsville,pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

after looking forward to this trip for so long it ended as a horrific experience we left the next day because there was never any one in charge to resolve the problems they always had an excuse i even have proof of all the problems they even hang back up dirty towels after requesting clean ones they lie to you.........i have proof....... one staff member told me oh well management/innkeeper never around they seem to have always just left........3;00 in afternoon!!!!!!!!!!!1 thats just one example no one there in am either stay away from this place no one knows what they are doing or how to handle a problem poorly trained staff , poor management and they do not provide what you pay for

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryceFogelsville_pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davo55, Owner at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
We try our best to please all of our guests but every once in a while it just doens't work out. I hope that people who are reading these reviews take the time to read other reviews of our property. Although we are not perfect, we certainly always attend to our guets needs promptly.
There was a manager on duty during this guests stay. Nothing was brought to his attention. He even sat and had a cup of coffee with the guest. Our head housekeeper was also there and even spoke to the guest. Re garding the towels: We do not ever hang towels that are on the floor back up.

Dave
the Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2009

Think of a bed and breakfast for those that are used to staying at hotels. The IAJT was a nice break from the traditional chain motel for a weekend getaway. The decor is Victorian and get used to flowers because the floors, curtains, and drapery are all covered with them. The parking is very tight. Most of the time the few spots around the hotel were full so you had to park in one of the two other lots a little further down the road. My biggest complaint is that the rooms are a bit pricey for what you get. The "free" breakfast is not good at all as referenced by others and you're better off hitting one of the other local spots.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTravelerFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mideast U.S.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

Worth a visit. The queen room was a little small, but extremely well outfitted. Up there with some of the more comfortable rooms we have stayed in. Nice remote control heating unit, flat screen, well decorated, well equipped bathroom, etc.

Very nice porches to enjoy a morning coffee. Didn't bother me, but my wife didn't want to be out there when smokers were using it, but otherwise was fine.

The included breakfast was okay. Much better than some included breakfasts, at $170/night I expected a little better. But, there was a full selection so you were bound to find something you liked. Great coffee!

The Inn has two restaurants (pub & restaurant) that seem to share the same kitchen. They also own a pub called JT's around the corner. It was very good bar food. The salads were great. The soup/chili was superb as well. If you want a more formal dinner I would go up to Race street and eat at one of the nicer looking spots. The check-in clerk did not offer that option and since we were new to town we took the only suggestions we were given (which, unfortunately, were the company owned options). Would have preferred some advice regarding checking out other places in town.

Will stay there again and look forward to another visit to the town.

The B&B reviews seem mixed where the rooms aren't always nicely appointed and the hosts may be moody. The Inn at Jim Thorpe seems to give a room on par with a high quality B&B with the conveniences of an Inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitertodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

Great little town, very quaint. Antique stores, restaurants, bed and breakfasts, historical buildings, museums, opera house and train, that offered rides. Very relaxing visit to the townand the Jim Thorpe Inn, a Bed and Breakfast. Went on the train ride and we are planning another trip for the longer train ride to view the fall leaves. Also to have dinner again at the Emerald Restaurant, part of the Inn at Jim Thorpe.

Very friendly throughout the entire town Great service at the Inn and the restaurant and everywhere we went. . Great place to go for the weekend. Highly suggested.

Helpful?
1 Thank rjljrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

Hotel was charming and everything I expected it to be. Booked a mini suite because I wanted a king size bed. Price was a bit high, but the room was nice and clean. The breakfast voucher was a plus, however the breakfast buffet was aweful, food was cold and rubber like. Not to mention the toaster, that took 5 minutes to lightly toast the bread. Tub in the mini suite did not work very well, but the towels were soft and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Jim Thorpe is a wonderful town, and the many tours and activites throughout the town kept you busy, all day. I read many post regarding parking problems but I have to say, we parked right next to the hotel and had no problems with parking all weekend. Molly Maguires Pub was a great place to meet the ever friendly locals and have a drink. Drink prices were fair and the staff was very friendly. I did not have any problems with ghosts, musty smells, or nasty staff as I had read about in other posts. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something different, from your run of the mill Best Western. Hotel is charming, beautifuly decorated, and has a real step back in time feel to it. Please be sure to enjoy on the ghost tours that leave from the hotel lobby each evening, tour was not too scary but gave you a wonderful chance to enjoy some of the history of the town.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pberrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on. canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

we loved the inn and town at jim thorpe. Great combination of old time atmosphere and modern decorating. Very interesting attractions nearby. Beautiful town setting in the mountains. A very different Poconos experience. Also close to many things. I loved sitting on the balcony on the main street of town and listening to the bells.
good breakfast included.
will definately recommend and return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
3.2 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
0.3 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jim Thorpe

Property: Inn at Jim Thorpe
Address: 24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Jim Thorpe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1849 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn at Jim Thorpe combines old world charm with modern conveniences in the heart of one of America's most picturesque and historic small towns. Steps to shops, galleries, opera house, pubs, restaurants, train rides, river rafting, kayaking, and hiking/biking trails. Suites with whirlpools and fireplaces. Spa services, adventure packages, spa getaways, romantic couples escapes, midweek packages and show & stay packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jim Thorpe Hotel Jim Thorpe
Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing