We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn At Jim Throup:”
Review of Inn at Jim Thorpe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Inn At Jim Throup:”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The visit to Jim Throup was awesome except for our room,upon checking in the room was not ready and as we waited people coming in off the street got a room right away without reservations which we had,entering the room finally we found lots of flying bugs,after complaining they offered to come in the room and kill the bugs,we declined and went out hoping they would not be there when we came back which they multiplied and complained again and the girl at front desk got annoyed,Renea,I believe her name is and after complaining as I went to get a drink and it was swarming with bugs in MY drink my daughter finally went down in person and told this ignorant girl again and they FINALLY moved us to a very nice room which they should of done in the beginning and I would of respected the hotel but the older lady checking us in very rude and girl Renea(spelling)...There was a sweet girl there who was very helpful Faith,she was pleasant,also Molly Mcguires restaurant and hotel will be our next stay,rooms look awesome but mostly food was great and our waiter Chad was awesome,very nice and pleasant and funny and informant ,a must visit.

Room Tip: Check out other places first,I will not stay there again.Rude service and bugs,no thank you!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, General Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I apologize for the inconveniences the guest experienced during their stay. We generally get high marks for both our accommodations and service so this is upsetting to me.
First off, check in time is 3 pm. The guest tried to check in early but it was not possible since the room still needed to be cleaned. Other rooms were cleaned so some did get into their rooms quicker. But the fact was the guest was checked in at 2 pm, one hour earlier then our stated check in time.
Regarding the bugs: Yes we had gnats in that room for some reason. That is by no means typical. Very strange. Initially, from the notes posted in our system, we offered to move the guests but they did not want to be moved. As was posted we offered to then try to get rid of the gnats, but the said no. Then they did decide to move rooms since the bugs were still there when they came back.
Regarding the rudeness of the front desk: That is unacceptable. Should never happen. I apologize for that. This will be discussed at our staff meeting next week.
I did leave a note in our system to give this guest a discount for the inconveniences they experienced. That was accidently missed by the front desk person who checked them out. We will make good on that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    221
    45
    14
    11
See reviews for
77
419
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jim Thorpe Pa
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The inn is very historic and has a great restaurant. The town is amazing and has alot of shops to shop in . It has train rides to go on that shows the beautiful mountains. There is the Aca Packer mansion which you can tour showing the life of people years ago.. There are plenty of places to eat on every budget. The inn itself was a little pricey. There is a monument of Jim Thorpe on the other side of town that you wont want to miss. It is a very nice vacation spot or just a day trip.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited the bar area for some drinks in the middle of shopping. The waitstaff sat our party of three outside on the balcony which overlooks the street. I had the Mano Tango drink which was refreshing and my mother said their mojitos were good too. Service was quick and Drinks not too pricey. I will be going back to try the food at some point.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Care P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have stayed for one night at this hotel with my boyfriend during our road trip through Pennsylvania and overall this was a good experience. The Inn is conveniently located at the heart of Jim Thorpe and the building itself is beautiful; the room was clean and had all the necessary amenities. This being labelled an “inn” I was expecting more of a B&B –type personable service, but this turned out to be more of a “hotel” experience, which was still fine. We have also enjoyed breakfast and dinner at the hotel restaurant. The town itself is really charming in the fall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chouettou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We arrived in a cute little town that we were eager to explore celebrating our Anniversary. When checking in the front desk was very cold and not pleasant. Our room wasn't ready so we went exploring until our guaranteed 4pm room would be ready. We parked in the assigned garage that was like a sardine can, we were scared once we parked that we would not be able to get out. We returned to check in and when we arrived in our room it was a smelly and not clean. I called the front desk and asked them if we could pay extra for a clean, better room and she said she would call me back. So much for our guarantee. Never got a call back and 30 minutes later 2 people came in and spent 5 minutes cleaning the room. We recognized them as the 2 women walking in front of us on the street eating ice cream as we were exploring the town. Of course i was just creeped out feeling like they didn't clean anything. The main Inn was nice and food in restaurant was excellent which i will give a better review under them. But when we visit Jim Thorpe again we wont be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brookee420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Discovered Jim Thorpe by accident earlier this year, we were planning on going to see a Eagles cover band perform at the Mauch chunk opera house, and in looking for nearby lodging the Inn at Jim Thorpe seemed a logical choice.
The town itself known in the 19th Century as "The Switzerland of America", is cute and has an abundance of antiques & crafts stores, museums & a historic (haunted no less) jail, the Inn is located at the foot of Broadway and the building itself is quite nice, the hotel has three private parking lots, and if the first two are filled, don't worry, even the third one is a short walk to the hotel.
We had a room on the top floor, complete with whirl pool, the room was large & clean.
The dining room down the stairs is large, we had dinner there and dinner was OK, I had a grilled pork chop there with sauerkraut, the chop was overcooked, but the sauerkraut was great!
There are a few very good restaurants nearby (in Jim Thorpe everything is nearby though), but make sure you check if you need reservations, we were planning on dining at a recommended seafood restaurant, alas, the place was booked solid.
The breakfast area in the hotel is large and breakfast was quite good, the only remark I can make is that due to the old carpeting on the floor the room makes a stuffy & dated impression, it would have been better if the room had wood flooring, likely easier to keep clean as well one might suppose.
We stayed there a long weekend and had a blast, the earlier mentioned Mauch Chunk opera house was fun also, if you find yourself in Jim Thorpe check their schedule, might be something good, for what it's worth the Eagles coverband was quite excellent!
The Inn at Jim Thorpe & the town of Jim Thorpe were quite lovely and we expect to go back there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcdehaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I visited recently and read most of the reviews. We did not experience anything that was not mentioned in other reviews. The parking is tight but we knew that coming in and we had no problem parking across the street. We enjoyed our stay and the town as well. As mentioned in other reviews you can walk to everything in town from the hotel. We did receive our breakfast vouchers and we both enjoyed our meals. The icing was the two guys that played in the pub attached to the Inn. We look forward to a return visit in the future.

Room Tip: They have rooms that have a public balcony on the street. Nice to view but may not be for everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpii32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.2 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Pocono Resort Conference Center
13.8 mi away
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
#2 of 6 in White Haven
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jim Thorpe

Property: Inn at Jim Thorpe
Address: 24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Jim Thorpe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1849 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn at Jim Thorpe combines old world charm with modern conveniences in the heart of one of America's most picturesque and historic small towns. Steps to shops, galleries, opera house, pubs, restaurants, train rides, river rafting, kayaking, and hiking/biking trails. Suites with whirlpools and fireplaces. Spa services, adventure packages, spa getaways, romantic couples escapes, midweek packages and show & stay packages. Popular restaurant and bar, the Broadway Grille, is right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jim Thorpe Hotel Jim Thorpe
Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing