We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to stay in the coal region of eastern PA”
Review of Inn at Jim Thorpe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I visit the coal country region of eastern Pennsylvania for genealogical research purposes (Schuylkill and Carbon counties). Before I found the Inn at Jim Thorpe, I had limited my trips because of the lack of decent hotels in that region. I sometimes travel solo, and did not feel safe at some of the motels in the area. I have stayed at the Inn even though it was 40 minutes from my travel destination because I felt comfortable there. I have been to the Inn solo and with my husband, and was pleased with both stays. I felt very comfortable staying there alone. I liked that they have a restaurant on the premises, so I did not have to leave the hotel alone at night. By the way, the meals were surprisingly good! I would choose to eat there over other restaurants in the area even if I were not staying at the Inn. The rooms were spacious enough, beds comfortable, and hallways quiet. On a warm night, I recommend having a drink or dinner on the balcony overlooking main street--very relaxing. The one downside is that parking can be difficult, and if the adjacent lot is full, the guests have to park across the street.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

432 - 438 of 676 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was our first stay at the Inn - the room was so pretty - charming - the second floor had an outside deck guests could sit outside and relax with a cocktail. The room was very neat and fresh - the bathroom - I LOVED! It was the exact sink and mirrors, light fixtures we are redoing our bathroom at home - very victorian. The hotels bathroom toiletries were all natural and genius! We only stayed one night, any more we would have had a problem with the firm bed. For us - it was tooooo firm.

We enjoyed a good lunch at the bar and chatted with the bartender. Really nice. With our reservation at the Inn, we received a voucher for breakfast the next morning, nice touch! And, breakfast was so yummy. Other than the firm bed - loved the place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golferwife28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My Fiance and I found this little piece of heaven one day and decided to give it a try 2 yrs ago .... and we still keep coming back. It is our relaxing romantic getaway. We love it so much we took a few friends with us to celebrate my 30th birthday last Sept and all stayed at the Inn. We just stayed again the last weekend in April and had a great time, yet again. I actually got a call that there was a problem with the room I was booked in before we got there and Jim was great at helping us switch rooms and getting what we needed. The hotel is VERY clean, comfortable beds, spacious rooms, nice decor. We always try to stay in a mini suite, the Jacuzzi tubs are great! It is nice each room has a DVD player for relaxing nights in ( turkey hill up the block has a red box rental). Its nice how every room has a place to sit and watch TV besides the beds. The staff is always friendly. We went to the Spa this time and very much enjoyed our couples massage. The Inn is always having specials on rooms and services which is great. They have a great balcony on the 2nd floor, were you can sit out on, relax, play a game and have a bottle of wine if you like from the towns own winery a few moments away! Or a game room to keep you busy for a few min too. The town really is beautiful and the inn just adds to it! I love the shops, the lake and park down the street and the Inn. Roadies Restaurant is a must each time! The front desk has printed directions for the areas attractions which helps out! The food at the Broadway Grill isn't bad ... I think they had more of a food choice (especially for breakfast) before they changed the menu recently, but food is not bad. If your looking for a quite relax weekend, this is the town and this is definitely the place to stay .... it is not a go out busy every night vacation! It has tons of history and we will definitely keep coming back to the Inn at Jim Thorpe.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine0924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a gem of an inn in a gem of a town! Situated on the main road in historic Jim Thorpe, The Inn at Jim Thorpe is locted in the center of it all - charming shops, great restuarants and the historical beauty of the town. Beautifuuly restored, the rooms are well appointed, meticulously clean and large. The staff is friendly, attentive and exceptionally knowledgeable about Jim Thorpe and what to do and see in town. I love that you can walk to everything from The Inn and don't have to walk but a few steps to their dining room if you wish to stay in. I recommend having breakfast there - other meals are mediocre and there are plenty of great restaurants in town. Great inn for a romantic getaway or a weekend awasy with friends!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InsightMarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

One of the best weekends ever staying at the Inn with a Romantic Getaway Package. Check in was immediate. We could not park behind the hotel, but were able to across the street. The room was very clean and our bottle of local wine was waiting for us when we got in. We took it right away to the balcony over looking Broadway and people watched for an hour in the warm sun. We then got changed and went down for dinner and drinks using our voucher. Dinner was quite good and very filling. We sat in the bar because it is more active an atmosphere. The drinks were generous and the service was good.
We then walked up the street to the Opera House and saw the Cast of Beatlemania. Great show!
The next morning we used vouchers for an excellent breakfast. I found out what Scrapple is!
Our day consisted of hiking and shopping. Then we had our side by side couples massage (part of the package). Very nice! After a shower w walked up the street to Crave and tried Absinth up the street before checking out Moya - extremely wonderful meal!

Room Tip: If you don't like ghosts - say so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuscleGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed in room 315 the weekend of April 26th. What a great weekend! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room (a mini-suite) was very large and very clean. The Jacuzzi tub was a little small but was very nice. We were hoping for a ghost encounter but that didn't happen. We enjoyed spending time on the second floor balcony watching people below. There is a winery tasting room about a block away on Race Street which was very convenient.

Some other reviews complained about street noise. We were in a street-side room and were aware of street noise but it was not so loud as to be worth complaining about. Someone else complained about the church bells. We only heard them on Sunday morning and, hey, it's Sunday morning and it's a church! They were beautiful!

We ate at Moya one night which was excellent and reasonably priced. The Inn is close to everything. The prison is the furthest attraction and that was an easy walk of less than half a mile. We parked on Friday afternoon and didn't move the car until we checked out on Sunday. Though we were there off-season, almost all shops were open. Just about everyone we met was very friendly. Shopkeepers were friendly and helpful. The lady at the Historical Society was a wealth of information as was the gentleman at the Mauch Chunk museum and Marge from the toy store.

We went on a Groupon discount coupon. Some places have treated us as second class guests in the past when we used one of these. The Inn did not! We will be back and look forward to it!

Room Tip: We liked the street-side, third floor room. You do hear some traffic noise. That did not bother us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halfwitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the quaint Inn on Thanksgiving Weekend. The balcony at night overlooking the town is so cool. The town is a must see, walking through the town, checking out the unique shops. We took a train ride through the gorge, which was awesome. The room we stayed in was in the back of the Inn and at night time we could see the illuminated mansion through our window. We plan to go back this Thanksgiving for a 1 year anniversary. The only negative was the restaurant at the Inn, I felt the food wasn't all that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe), PA
3.2 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
#6 of 6 in White Haven
528 reviews
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
17.4 mi away
The Village at Pocono
The Village at Pocono
#1 of 1 in Long Pond
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jim Thorpe

Address: 24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Price Range: $106 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Jim Thorpe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1849 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn at Jim Thorpe combines old world charm with modern conveniences in the heart of one of America's most picturesque and historic small towns. Steps to shops, galleries, opera house, pubs, restaurants, train rides, river rafting, kayaking, and hiking/biking trails. Suites with whirlpools and fireplaces. Spa services, adventure packages, spa getaways, romantic couples escapes, midweek packages and show & stay packages. Popular restaurant and bar, the Broadway Grille, is right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jim Thorpe Hotel Jim Thorpe
Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing