We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Nearby Hotels
$139
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mahoning Inn(Lehighton)(Great Value!)
$85
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penn Terrace Motel(Beaver Meadows)
$55
Travelocity
View Deal
$72
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveler rating
370
234
45
18
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
234
45
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini suitesecond floor balconybreakfast vouchersbroadway grilleper personattached restaurantnew orleans stylecookiesmain buildingmy husband and istaff was very friendly and helpfulmaster suitelimited parkingnice balconymid weekin towngas fireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
444 - 449 of 679 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We enjoyed a night at the Inn after a great hike to Glen Onoko Falls. The hotel is chock full of charm, being very well restored and/or preserved. The first and second floors boast lovely balconies overlooking Broadway. And I LOVED that the shower area held shampoo, soap, and conditioner in refillable containers attached to the wall for an eco-friendly touch. We also ate dinner in the attached Broadway Grille. Very good meals.

Room Tip: Although staying in the front of the building allows easier access to the balcony, our room (201) was a bit noisy early in the morning.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rbs360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

After you get past the front desk staff, that gives you the feeling that you're bothering them with your silly check-in, this was a very nice experience.

what we liked the best: the room, the balcony and the lovely little town, the courteous, accommodating, helpful, friendly maintenance man
what we liked the least: the front desk staff, except Karol who was very helpful, via e-mail, prior to our visit

First thing I was told when I got there at 1:30pm "your room is not ready" I spoke to Karol the night before and she told me it was okay to drive in early (we drove 5 hours) and check in as nobody was staying in our room the previous night, so it would be ready. I regurgitated that back to this lady (dark hair and glasses) and to that she said "I wish she wouldn't do that", so then she made a private call to housekeeping to see if the room was ready...it was-we assumed. So then she gives me the keys to the room, never says the room is ready, just gives me the bill, takes the credit card and hands me the keys to the room. We had to ask where we bring our luggage in etc...how do we to get the room etc? So don't expect a big friendly welcome at the front desk....it doesn't happen. So then we get up to our room and can't get in the door, both keys failed. My husband had to go back to the lobby while I stayed with the luggage outside of our room. Turns out the dark haired lady with the glasses gave us the keys to someone else’s room. Oh and by the way, anytime you approach the front desk which we did 2 other times-just for general questions, nobody looks up at you, you must address the front desk people first, and usually 1 would respond and the other would never look up and have eye contact, just a cold feeling.

So because the keys wouldn’t open the back door into the lobby (where you bring your luggage in) we ran into the maintenance man. This man was the nicest, friendliest, accommodating person we ran into. He helped us get in the door, helped us with our TV issues, helped us when a plant blew over on the balcony and he was the one that told us there was key to our balcony door that we could get down at the front desk. This was never discussed with us by the front desk personnel. He even went out of his was to go down to the front desk and get the key for us. What a great welcoming employee. He deserves a raise and he should be greeting people at the front desk.
All of the housekeeping staff was also very friendly and accommodating and went out of their way, when you needed anything.
The room was very clean and well stocked with everything we needed. 1 TV didn’t work and the telephone didn’t work by the bed-but there was 1 by the Jacuzzi that we were able to use-and once we got help-we were able to use the TV at the base of our bed. We stayed in the last room that was available in the hotel, room 200 which was the master suite and it was wonderful. The only downside to this room: you can hear the band downstairs on Friday night, right under where our bed was-but we knew that coming into it. We slept in the 2 queen beds that night in the back room, until the bar festivities were over. We loved the Jacuzzi, the king sized bed and having a Keurig in the room.
We loved the balcony and shopping at the little shops on Broadway.
We knew parking was at a premium that’s why we drove down early on Friday in the hopes of obtaining a parking spot for the weekend and we did. Everything you need is within walking distance.
Food is available within walking distance. Try the Chinese place just down the street it was very good. We ate many meals at the Broadway Grill and Pub. I will review that separately.
All in all, I would go back and stay here again, I just would not expect much from the "greeters" at the front desk.

Room Tip: go for it, get room 200 and enjoy the private access to the balcony, the jacuzzi and the spaciousness of the room and large screen TV. Rooms further from the bar and restaurant are quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaVidMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnJimThorpe, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Hi, Lisa, and thanks for your detailed comments about your recent stay. We're so glad you enjoyed your room, our balcony and the town, but we're sorry to hear that our front desk let you down. Our usual check in time is 3 pm; however, Karol was able to see that your room was unoccupied the night before and an early check was possible for you. Unfortunately, sometimes wires get crossed and the other front desk gal didn't realize that Karol had already talked to you about an early check in time. We're so sorry. I've passed along your comments to the front desk; hopefully, when you come back to visit they'll greet you with a smile! We're happy our maintenance staff made up for it, though. I will pass along your compliments to Jim, who helped you out. Unfortunately, you didn't mention the non-working TV or phone while you were here, otherwise we would have quickly fixed those issues for you. We hope you'll give us another chance and come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Although they've advertised as a B&B, this is clearly not. The breakfast voucher simply reduces the breakfast price from usual-hotel-outrageous to merely expensive (my husband had an omlette, I had french toast and bacon, we both had coffee; cost us $13.50 after the voucher deductions.) The usual B&B "afternoon gathering" is represented by a cookie in a paper bag handed to you at check-in.
That said (but it was a BIG irritant), the rooms were clean and large, very nicely furnished. We stayed in a mini-suite the first night and really enjoyed the Jacuzzi and fireplace. The next day, the toilet stopped up, which is just one of those things that can happen anywhere- but we came back at midday and it wasn't fixed. I overheard the maintenance man and housekeeper talking down the hall - she was adding several more tasks to his apparently already long list, so I figured it might take awhile. However, when we came back again at suppertime and it still wasn't fixed, I asked to be moved. They put us in what might be the largest suite, Room 200. It could easily sleep a family, although since it was one floor closer to the street noise, at the end of the communal balcony, and- most importantly- directly over the thumping music of the bar (we had been warned by the desk clerk), it had better be a family of sound sleepers. It was a really beautiful suite. The plumbing worked, but the fireplace and the phone did not.

Bottom line- NOT a B&B. Clean, pretty, spacious rooms, but clear indication of a trend to maintenance problems in the hotel overall.

And BTW- for timing your trip to Jim Thorpe: before Memorial Day, the town is really, REALLY dead during the week- worse than going down the seashore in off-season.

Room Tip: Third floor was good, not on the communal balcony ( you can still go down to the second floor and sit out if you want) and further from street noise. Mini-suites are quite large.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcdinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnJimThorpe, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Hello, and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We'd just like to clarify and explain a few things you mentioned: You're correct, we aren't a B&B -- we're a hotel. Our web site, our brochures and our internet listings describe us as a hotel or inn. One glance at any of our information prior to your stay would have cleared this up. Guests love getting homemade cookies at check in, but nowhere in our advertising does it say we hold an "afternoon gathering." Perhaps you were mixing us up with another place you read about? We try our best to give guests fabulous service, but occasionally we make mistakes. Our front desk gal forgot to report your toilet problem until the next day, unfortunately, and we apologize for that. We're glad you were able to get an upgraded room, though. We do have maintenance staff on-site, so issues are usually taken care of promptly. Regarding the $7 breakfast vouchers -- there are several items on our breakfast menu that are less than the voucher value. Unfortunately, you chose food that was more expensive than the voucher. Again, we apologize that your stay wasn't what you expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Inn, Jim Thorpe, PA is a perfect place to step back in time while still having all the modern day amenities at you finger tips! Very family friendly! We took our teenage daughter with us and she had a blast! The Inn has a game room where you can play a series of different games. We played ping pong and darts. What fun! We got to town early so we walked from one end to the other. Lots of great history to see. One tip though not everything is open in April so if you are looking for the crowds you will need to go after Memorial Day. We liked the quiet bonding time though. Will without a doubt return.

Room Tip: Rooms with the jacuzzi are big.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spent 2 days here with my husband , we are from Tenerife. Really nice hotel, a trip back in time, the hotel is like something from a western movie. Rooms are very clean and a good size. Free wi-fi . Tea and coffee maker. The town itself is like being thrown back in time, fabulous old buildings. Would go again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jollygilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews