We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management stinks!”
Review of Inn at Jim Thorpe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Fairport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Management stinks!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend getaway. Our first day there, I noticed some hairs stuck to the bathroom wall, as well as the fact that the walls were very dirty( as if nobody had wiped the walls down in a while). I brought this to the attention of the girls at the front desk, who were very apologetic. They told me the issue would be handled. We arrived back that night, still dirty. I again spoke to the girls, as well as the head housekeeper, who assured me she would do it herself. The walls still had hair on them. I asked one lat time, this time showing a housekeeper the hair. Only 1 of the 4 dirty walls with hair on them was cleaned. I finally did it myself. Our extra room blanket had something dried and crusty on it, and a burned out light bulb in our room was not replaced the entire 4 days we were there. We put a call in to the manager when we were staying there, only to get voicemail. Our voicemail was not returned until I reviewed our stay in response to an email generated from the hotel. Only then did I get an emailed response from Dave the innkeeper. He repeatedly stated that he was sorry the room was not cleaned to my expectations, which I responded to say the room was not clean period. He never apologized, nor admitted that the room was not clean, even after I sent him numerous pictures showing the hair on the walls. His final email told me he would send me a gift certificate for a future stay. I responded simply asking for a days credit on my charge, as his hotel was almost 5 hrs away, and it was unlikely that we would be able to make that trip again.
As of today, I have received neither a credit to my account, a gift certificate for a future stay, nor an apology for the unclean room.
Breakfast vouchers are included in room cost, but food is way overpriced and you end up paying for breakfast as well (cup of coffee was $2.50). Food was also lukewarm.
Drinks at bar were good, and bartenders were great!
Overall, my weekend birthday getaway was a big disappointment !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agulick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    218
    45
    13
    11
See reviews for
75
416
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were very happy with our stay at the inn, such a cute place! Ideal location if you don't want to drive around a whole lot. Loved the Keurig coffee in the room! Housekeeping was very pleasant when I asked for some more k-cups. Clean, and cozy! We stayed in a basic room with a queen bed, which was nice, we didn't spend much time in our room anyway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We really do love this place. It is just such a cool , quiet little town and the Inn at Jim Thorpe is right in the middle of it all. Great Service, cool old building with lots of history and the perfect location make this a fantastic way to get away from it all for a few days. Can't wait until our next visit !

Room Tip: We loved the Suite with hot tub and fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allentownpaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have always wanted to visit the Jim Thorpe area in the fall and saw that the Inn was featuring a Wine Weekend Package on the first weekend in November. We decided to try it as it included 2 nights accomodations, breakfast vouchers both days, a 2 hour wine tasting class, lunch at Crave 66, shuttles to 2 local wineries, and a wine paired 5-course dinner at Crave 66. Unfortunately, the hurricane the week before brought down most of the fall leaves, but that was the only downside to our weekend. The town is lovely, the Hotel was full of charm (2 story balconies lining the main street, narrow hallways, gorgeous woodwork and period decor) and we had a great time. The hotel makes reservations by room...we took Room 107, one of the standard rooms with a queen bed. It was a little small by modern hotel standards, and the view was of the parking lot, but we weren't in the room that much. There were spa products in the bathroom and a keurig for in-room coffee and tea (which was also available round the clock in the lobby).

My only gripe is that the room heater/airconditioner was turned off when we arrived (and it was in the 40's outside), so it was chilly in the room when we first got there, but it quickly warmed up when we blasted the heat. When they cleaned our room the next day, they also turned it off, so we again arrived to a cold room. I realize they are trying to conserve, but maybe just leaving the heat on a lower setting might be a good compromise? We didn't complain to anyone about it, though, so we really shouldn't complain too much.

The breakfast vouchers they gave us for Broadway Grille (in lobby) were for $7 per person and you could get items below this price (fruit/granola, oatmeal), but we chose the plus meat options which cost a little more, but still...the extra $9 for 2 people for breakfast can't be beat.

We would be happy to return to Jim Thorpe and the Inn!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillyeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this beautiful Inn for a weekend away with another couple. We stayed on one of the upper floors but there is an elevator if needed. The room was beautiful and with the AC running, we didn't notice the traffic outside our room. There was a Keurig with plenty of coffee & tea options in the room. The bathroom was nice and I LOVED the organic and green friendly bath products!!! A very nice treat for this Eco/green girl:) the beds were very comfortable & I slept like a rock! We got a breakfast voucher to eat @ the on site restaurant, it covered the entire meal. This is close to all the hub bub and right in the middle of it all! Great weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I planned a trip to Jim Thorpe, PA and stayed at The Inn at Jim Thorpe. All in all it was not a bad location but we had a problem with noise from the air/heating unit. So loud you couldn't sleep. We complained at the front desk after the first morning and were assured it would be check out. When we returned in the evening the noise persisted. Again, we asked the front desk staff if someone had checked out the unit. They knew nothing about the problem. Seems a real lack of communication. You would think that a customer's complaint would have received immediate attention. We completed our stay with the terrible noise with the only remedy being turning it off after being continously awakend by the noise. Sad end to an other wise pleasant stay. We stayed in Room 308 FYI.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 308!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnJimThorpe, Owner at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Jenny,

I am very sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced with regard to the heater unit in your guestroom.

I was very concerned about your comments and looked into the situation before I responded. As it turns out, the issue was in fact relayed to our maintenance supervisor immediately. He takes very good notes and wrote in his log book that he checked it on 10/3. He could find nothing wrong with it. He rechecked again later that morning (11:30 am to be exact) and still found no issues. So apparently it is an intermittent issue or something that happens after it has been on for awhile. This can unfortunately happen.

Your review is helpful to us. We will be setting up a system whereby the person who checks the issue leaves a note that it has been checked, and to let our guests know the status of it. That way all of our guests know that we are indeed of top of these things.

Once again we apologize for the loud heater and we hope you'll return someday and give us a second chance.

Sincerely,
David Drury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just finished a two day stay here, and won't even consider other lodging if visiting the town again. Not that other lodging might not be as good, but I can't imagine it would be better, so there'd be no point. And frankly, having seen some of the B and B's in town this weekend, none are better located than the Inn.

We stayed in room 310, which featured a king-sized bed, mini-fridge, coffee maker, and sitting area perfect for my wife to apply her make-up. No view to speak of, but we weren't really looking for one (but make sure you do drive up to 'Flagstaff' for that spectacular view before you leave town). The bathroom is one of the better layouts I've seen in a hotel. Mattress on the bed was extremely comfortable, and you could get a large number of t.v. stations on the large flat-panel tv. Check-in was simple and pleasant, and while we could hear the patter of little feet in the room above us on occassion, the hotel, in general, was very quiet.

As others have said, location is perfect. You could literally park your car for a weekend stay and not move it until you left. There aren't enough parking spots in the hotel lot for every car, but there are a couple of satellite lots the hotel uses nearby. Not ideal, but about the best you can expect in such a small town (but also the reason I don't give the hotel 5 stars - well, that and the 1-ply toilet paper ;)).

The Broadway Grill attached to the hotel serves excellent breakfasts and desserts. We didn't eat dinner there. The hotel gives you a $7 voucher for breakfast for each day of your stay, and while it won't cover the total cost of most breakfasts, it will keep your payment below $10 for two (which includes the tip), so not bad.

Jim Thorpe itself is a cute little town with lots of shops to visit, though some had so much crap in them it was a bit overwhelming. You can pretty much get through them all in a day or less, but there are also outdoor activities like hiking and rafting you can engage in if interested. But regardless of what you choose to do, you can't go wrong staying at the Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAVacationer614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
3.2 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown
19.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
0.3 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jim Thorpe

Property: Inn at Jim Thorpe
Address: 24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Jim Thorpe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1849 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn at Jim Thorpe combines old world charm with modern conveniences in the heart of one of America's most picturesque and historic small towns. Steps to shops, galleries, opera house, pubs, restaurants, train rides, river rafting, kayaking, and hiking/biking trails. Suites with whirlpools and fireplaces. Spa services, adventure packages, spa getaways, romantic couples escapes, midweek packages and show & stay packages. Popular restaurant and bar, the Broadway Grille, is right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jim Thorpe Hotel Jim Thorpe
Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing