We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, centrally located, whatever you make it!”
Review of Inn at Jim Thorpe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Recently stayed in a first floor room, 101, with a private balcony overlooking the main street. The room was large, bed was fantastic king size mattress, bathroom had a heat lamp, small refrigerator for snacks or a few beverages. Drinks in the bar were great, appetizers were good, dinner was fantastic. Enjoyed a bottle of wine on the balcony, watching people go by and relaxing in the slow, casual atmosphere. Hotel is centrally located to sight see in the village, tour the jail, bike the trails, ride a train, whatever time passer you have in mind. Will definitely be back the next time we can slip away for a day or two. Fall here is spectacular!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Compellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (650)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Jim Thorpe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 650 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

The INN was great. The pillows were fabulous. Bed comfortable, clean. We recieved vochers for breakfast and the food was great. Food was reasonably priced. It was a honeymoon trip and would recommend Jim Thrope Inn for lodging.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanderline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a terrific room for four, a two bedroom suite in the annex. It was very comfortable. We were able to park right beneath which was great. In general just a fine place to stay. The only thing I didn't love was the breakfast arrangement. You don't really get breakfast, in stead you get a credit. So basically it either covers your breakfast or not. Also, the breakfast room works as a restaurant. Yes, it was tasty, but I personally prefer somewhere where I don't have to wait and wait and wait for service for breakfast. But really, this was minimal and I'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvwgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Well as I said in the title, the town just takes your breath away. The people are extra nice, everybody is saying hello to everybody. While my husband was having a smoke in the street because the hotel is a non smoking property, a man just parked his car and had his smoke next to my husband and they had a nice talk for 10 mins. That's how simple the people are over there.
As for the Inn, well you get what you pay for. I have to say that Jim and Connie were more than nice to us. The staff in the restaurant were very accommodating. My problem was with the housekeeping. Some places in the room were still dusty, when I asked for extra towels they got them, but took them away the next day :)
Stay away from room 410, it has 2 queen beds and that was the only available room for our 1st night there, so we took it, BUT, spider webs on the fan ceiling, the whole room was very dusty and the toilet was dirty. We checked in at 6 and the housekeeping leave at 5. When I called to tell them that I needed someone from the housekeeping, the Inn keeper brought a lady from the housekeeping staff from her house which I really appreciated. But anyway I couldn't stay in the room and had to change it the next day for a deluxe room...
Overall good, you get what you pay for, but if you are picky like I am, I think you should for another place or ask for a deluxe room

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinaMoemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Bottom line is the hotel is a good deal for the money. We had a good sized room with a king-sized bed. Bathroom was small and old but ok. Being in room 201, people were right outside the window on the porch - if that bothers you, ask for a different floor.

Things that were not so great - service in the hotel just seemed unfriendly, from the maids up to the front desk (not sure if this was because we were the only same-sex couple?). Parking was a little tight but ok. Waitstaff in the restaurant seemed amateurish. Lots of noise from the hall as we were right by the elevator/stairs as well. Breakfast was fine, but dinner was pretty mediocre in the restaurant - the meatloaf was veyry chewy (?) and the lasagna was more like "vegetables in a sauce, with a little pasta, and a very browned topping".

We found the town kind of boring to be honest, perhaps because it was Tuesday and almost everything was closed. The stores in town are really uninteresting - crappy gift stores mostly. Not much choice in restaurants either - Moya was pretty good for dinner but again the service was amateurish.

So if you have to go to Jim Thorpe, this is a decent place to stay. I would not see the town as an attractive destination though, unless you're into biking or other outdoor activities.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our first time in Jim Thorpe village and the inn was recommended by friends who grew up in the area. Nicely updated but still with old inn feeling. Did not get to stay in any of the haunted rooms. Maybe next time! Staff was very friendly and helpful. The on site restaurant was pretty good and you get a voucher each for breakfast ($11). Free on site parking. We hope to return again soon.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank BSL24055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this inn for 6 nights on our honeymoon. When we arrived (at 2:30 AM) the desk clerk was friendly, congratulated us with a bottle of wine, and checked our room to make sure everything was in order. We were extremely pleased with our room - a deluxe king room - and the bed was very comfortable. When we woke up the next morning we were in awe of the view from our 4th floor window. They also gave us $7 breakfast vouchers for the restaurant downstairs which we took advantage of every morning... much better than your typical continental breakfast! The Inn, though built in the 1800's, has been nicely updated with modern conveniences and the decor maintains its original charm without looking outdated or old-fashioned. At first we were concerned about parking, but we never had trouble finding a spot, even on the weekend when the inn was full. Plus, the inn is located within walking distance of so many shops, restaurants, and activities that you can practically park your car and not worry about it for your whole stay if you plan to stay in town. The staff was wonderful and everyone we met was friendly and helpful. The Inn exceeded our expectations and we hope to return there in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrishaRaeKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.2 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Pocono Resort Conference Center
13.8 mi away
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
#2 of 6 in White Haven
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jim Thorpe

Address: 24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Price Range: $106 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Jim Thorpe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1849 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn at Jim Thorpe combines old world charm with modern conveniences in the heart of one of America's most picturesque and historic small towns. Steps to shops, galleries, opera house, pubs, restaurants, train rides, river rafting, kayaking, and hiking/biking trails. Suites with whirlpools and fireplaces. Spa services, adventure packages, spa getaways, romantic couples escapes, midweek packages and show & stay packages. Popular restaurant and bar, the Broadway Grille, is right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Inn at Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jim Thorpe Hotel Jim Thorpe
Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing