We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Inn Tucked in the Mountains”
Review of Inn at Jim Thorpe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I found this inn while searching the surrounding area where we were honeymooning. We were driving along a little road and this town, tucked in the mountains, was a perfect place for us to stop and stretch our legs. The town is very quaint and charming at night, with lights on the trees up the main portion of the street. We still had a hotel booked for that night, but we went into the inn to inquire about the next night. As soon as we walked in, the charm of the decor had me convinced we needed to stay the next night. My husband talked to the lady at the desk who was very kind and helpful and she booked us a standard room for the following night. When we arrived to check in the next day, the man at the desk gave us a free upgrade to a jacuzzi suite because the lady the previous day had left a note that we were on our honeymoon. (so sweet!) The room was very clean and had a view of the main street outside. The bathroom was updated and very clean. We had a tv and dvd player in the bedroom and a tv in the sitting room, with a cute table for 2 in the corner. We had access to the balcony out front and it was nice to sit out and play cards and read. The shops in the town are neat and the food in the restaurant that is connected to the Inn is amazing! We had dinner and breakfast there (with a breakfast voucher from the Inn for $7 each) and we loved everything! We have already told friends and family about our experience there! We were only disappointed that it was the middle of the week and we couldn't take a train ride of the area that they have on the weekends. We will definitely stay there again, and hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindseynben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 678 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

Spent a few nights in a standard room on the first level. Room was quiet and clean but dark. Really no view to speak of, but Iwe only slept there so it fit the bill. Bathroom was cleen and modern - probably one of the most important features for me. Central location within walking distance to everything

Room Tip: 1st floor was easy in and out. Elevator got stuck during thunderstorm - take the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGtraveler1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I liked this place enough until Sunday at 7am. Churchbells started and didn't stop for hours. At one point they were going for 30 minutes straight. This is from a person who LIKES churchbells. These, however, were not quaint and off in the distance. It felt like someone was right next to my head with a cowbell. For hours. On a Sunday morning. Trying to sleep through this was impossible. It was tacky and obnoxious-and I am a Catholic!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatyyLaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnJimThorpe, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Hi, Katyyladdy -

Thanks so much for your comments. We're so sorry the bells from the historic St. Mark's Church on Race Street woke you up. Although most people find them charming, depending on where you room was located, you can sometimes hear them from 2 blocks away, as you did. Usually they aren't as noticeable as you mentioned, but we understand folks are sensitive to noise. The bells ring once at 8 AM (not 7 AM), then again at 9 AM. When you visit next time, please ask for a room in the back of the building -- less noise from the street and you most likely won't hear the bells.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed at the inn for 4 days. My original room was in the main building and while quaint it was a little small and the tiny window overlooked the back roof and wall--not a great spot. I moved to the suite in the building across the street the 2nd day and it was a big improvement. The suite had a large livingroom/kitchen combo, big bedroom with porch access and a lovely bathroom with garden tub. A friend joined me for 3 days and the suite was perfect for the 2 of us. The inn is centrally located to everything--restaurants, sightseeing and shopping. The breakfast voucher was a nice addition and the food and ambiance of the restaurant welcome each morning when we dined outside on the front balcony. All in all this was a great vacation at a lovely inn.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnBrPe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnJimThorpe, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Jim Thorpe, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Thanks so much for your positive review of the Inn! We're so glad you were able to switch rooms and we're happy you enjoyed our property at 55 Broadway. Come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend recently and found the hotel to be excellent. From being greeted with a chocolate chip cookie, to the time the staff took to give us directions and advice, the staff was terrific.

The room was exactly as we expected. It is an old hotel, so the rooms are not uniform. Check out their site before you book to make sure you get what you are looking for. Our room had a skylight over the bed.

The location was terrific as far as getting around town. We only took our car out once.

Room Tip: Check out their website. The rooms are all different. The staff let us check out empty rooms to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillySon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

If you go to Jim Thorpe this place is a must. Rooms are great, front desk top notch and the adjoining restaurant makes it a complete joy. Central to everything and surrounded by mountains and access to the Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway you can't go wrong. Book it and forget it!

Room Tip: Don't forget to try the 2nd Floor New Orlean's style balcony for some laid back relaxing vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cranium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The Inn is central to everything and provides great service. We traveled with friends for a weekend of relaxing and rafting. The restaurant and bar were great as usual. Everyone is friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe), PA
3.2 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
#6 of 6 in White Haven
529 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Village at Pocono
The Village at Pocono
#1 of 1 in Long Pond
118 reviews
14.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Jim Thorpe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Jim Thorpe

Address: 24 Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jim Thorpe
Price Range: $99 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Jim Thorpe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1849 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Inn at Jim Thorpe combines old world charm with modern conveniences in the heart of one of America's most picturesque and historic small towns. Steps to shops, galleries, opera house, pubs, restaurants, train rides, river rafting, kayaking, and hiking/biking trails. Suites with whirlpools and fireplaces. Spa services, adventure packages, spa getaways, romantic couples escapes, midweek packages and show & stay packages. Popular restaurant and bar, the Broadway Grille, is right downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Inn at Jim Thorpe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Jim Thorpe Hotel Jim Thorpe
Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing