We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect weekend, more relaxing than a weekend at the spa.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southold NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend, more relaxing than a weekend at the spa.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

Perfect weekend, more relaxing than a weekend at the spa.
Murder Mystery was a barrel of laughs.
Let me preface my review by saying we have traveled the world, my husband is a classically trained French Chef and I work in the Hospitality Industry. Therefore we tend to have very high standards regarding our fields. This is one of the few properties that we have stayed at that exceeded our standards.
We arrived, were promptly greeted, checked in and escorted to our room in the carriage house. Our room was spacious, toasty warm and ever so cozy. It was apparent upon entering our room the high level of cleanliness. Being that I work in the Hospitality Industry I know the difference between a room truly cleaned and sanitized and one that's not. A great convenience was a coffee center/refrigerator located in the downstairs hallway. It was ever so nice to be able to have a cup of coffee, prior to heading up to the main house for breakfast. Breakfast was a buffet, which changed each day and featured fresh made items. We were delighted with the quality as well as the variety of buffet items. Dinner Saturday night was also a buffet which was magnificent. All aspect's of both the breakfast and dinner buffet menus were prepared and presented to the highest culinary level. There is a bar at the Inn called "Libations". It has a nice selection of wine, beer and spirits, which are reasonably priced.
The murder mystery was more entertaining than we anticipated. Bob keep the mystery going with numerous plot twist which kept us guessing until the end when the murderer was reveled.
The family that runs the inn (Bob, Pat, Taylor, and Kristen) do an amazing job at making you feel welcomed right from the minute you walk in the door. They are all wonderful about answering questions about the Inn, area and history of the town Jim Thorpe.
We enjoyed every aspect of our weekend and therefore intend on making this an annual trip for us!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Has-BibNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    23
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
116
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2010

Seven friends and I stayed for a Murder Mystery weekend and had a ball. I would definitely recommend for any and everybody to relax, enjoy and solve a murder mystery. The food was delicious, service perfect and the bar refreshing.
A place I would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janisbfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radnor, Pa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

I a great time with Bob, Pat, Taylor, and Kristen (they run the B&B), the beer and wine selection is diverse and delicious. The town is fun too, lots of cool little shops...can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrhankins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Harry Packer in the Carriage House. It was very nice. The beds were very comfortable and the room was toasty warm despite being very cold outside at night. We had one warm day, and we spent some time on the nice porch at the mansion. The proprietors served us some very nice bottles of wine while we overlooked the mountains and the beautiful town of Jim Thorpe. We couldn't have been more pleased, and we'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerrbear356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

We simply loved the entire murder mystery weekend, the inn keeper& family etc. The Mansion is stunning, the Inn keeper aka inspector Bob is so passionate about the history of the Packer family and the town Jim Thorpe and very talented in leading the murder investigation...all guests were involved and curious all the time what information we would get next in order to solve the murder.
We were 3 couples and normally there are more guests involved in the mystery, but it was great and very well organized. BTW, the rooms in the Mansion are stunning!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabrieleq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

This was a birthday gift for me. My wife and I ventured nearly 6 hours to visit this place, and it was well worth it! We arrived in town friday, well before check in time, but the owners greeted us and escorted us to our room in the carriage house. The room was clean and well appointed. We toured through the house, which is absolutely beautiful and true to the time when it was built. We had free time, so walked down to the town (Jim Thorpe) and spent the remainder of the day touring the shops and dinner at the local tavern, which was quite good.
The mystery started after dark. The inspector (owner) Bob leads the mystery, and each person plays a part. You are given papers with your role, which contains what your character knows, and any secrets you possess. Yes, there is a murder, and all of you are suspects. Bob leads the investigation, and each person gets their chance to play the part. There are 3 rounds over the weekend, and by the end you will know who done it!

As a heads up, if role playing is not your thing, you won't enjoy this as much. The fun of the weekend is based on how the group as a whole interacts and participates. If you have a good group who gets into it, you will have a blast, as we did. Everyone enjoyed playing their part, and we all got along. Made for an incredible weekend.

Outside of the mystery, the house itself is well appointed. We stayed in the carriage house, which is a quick walk from the house. Room was very comfortable, and we slept great. Coffee was ready to go in the morning. They provide Breakfast and dinner during the weekend, and all the food was delicious. They were very polite hosts, and answered any questions we had. The mystery itself is based mainly on fact, and we learned a lot about the family and that area. The recent addition of a lounge and wine allow guests to stay at the inn for a drink vs. venturing into town.

The mystery is for adults only, and some of the humor is a little off color, but tastefully done. The town is small, but has plenty of local shopping if you enjoy that sort of thing. A ride on the train is a must to see the valley. If you are feeling adventerous, hike up the hill to the cemetary to see the family gravesites.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 010309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry Hall, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

Stayed at harry packer mansion for the murder mystery weekend in Sept. 2010. Arrived friday evening and many couples arrived late due to traffic and accidents on 476. Many were hungry and there was no food or appetizers. The little town had closed up at 5pm so you were basically stuck at the b&b and could order wine or beer. The first night involves sitting in a room with about 22 people total and listening to the details and background about the murder mystery, about 2 hours of sitting, and this lasted till after 11pm. The next morning, breakfast was served at 9am, buffet style and was very good. The downside is that there is NO coffee available until 8:15 in the morning so if you are an early riser and like your coffee, you are out of luck. After breakfast, you are again seated in the room with everyone for another 2 hours and listen to more of the mystery. You are free on saturday when this "talk" is over and you have from 1-6pm to do what you choose. At 6pm there were appetizers (some cheese and crackers) and you could buy wine or beer. At 6:30 we again went to the room and sat and listened and participate in the mystery until about 7:45 when dinner was served. Dinner was very good. Dinner and dessert lasted until about 9:15 and then back to the room to sit until about 11:30 when the mystery concludes. All of us thought it was more like a seminar or presentation...very long and lengthy and most of the men were yawning or making excuses to get up and go to the bathroom. We all thought it would be more participation, like searching for clues or walking around..not the constant sitting. Sunday morning breakfast was at 9am and check out is at 11am. We all agreed it was nice, but definitely would not do a murder mystery again..long and kind of boring. WOuld have been better if we just stayed there and could have done our own thing..although there is not a whole lot to do around there. There is a great Irish pub right down the hill from the b&b that you should check out, great food, fun atmosphere. We are in our early 40's and some couples were in their 30's and we all agreed on how we felt about this place. Last but not least, the parking is terrible...you have to squeeze your car into this tiny area and everyone complained because it took forever to get your car in or out.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa5165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrypacker, Owner at Harry Packer Mansion Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
I am very sorry you did not enjoy the mystery.
We work very hard to try and meet every guests expectations
and we are truly sorry when we fall short.
You are right the parking is tight, but we are the only lodging in this town that can offer a space for every room and not charge for it, but to do that requires some challenges and cooperation to get all the cars to fit.
At least you liked the food and the mansion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.1 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
0.3 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry Packer Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry Packer Mansion Inn

Property: Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Address: 19 Packer Hl, PO Box 458, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1221
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a wedding present in 1874, the Harry Packer Mansion now serves as a luxury inn within the Mauch Chunk Historic district of Jim Thorpe, PA, just 1 1/2 hours from Philadelphia and NYC.The Mansion was used by Disney as a model for the Haunted Mansion so it is only fitting that it is known for its award-winning Murder Mystery Weekends. Voted the best Murder Mystery weekend by the Book of Lists and recently the best on the East Coast by NPR. Come for the murder weekend, visit during the week for a quieter experience, stop by and enjoy a glass of wine on the veranda or take a tour through the mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harry Packer Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harry Packer Mansion Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing