We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Engagement weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harry Packer Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Engagement weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

My fiancé and I had a great experience at the Harry packer! We stayed in the carriage house which is really nice, but if you have the chance try. And stay in the mansion. The breakfast food was great, and the mansion is beautiful. Strongly recommend this for a couple looking for a romantic weekend. Not very kid friendly, so leave them at grandma :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrypacker, Owner at Harry Packer Mansion Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review.
We are so glad we played a part in your engagement celebration!
Have a great time planning the wedding and we hope we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    23
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
115
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

My husband and I wanted to try something new and let me tell you it was not a disappointment. We spent the weekend with our best friends and had a awesome time. The Murder Mystery was so much fun! Inspector Bob really knows his history and the town. The mansion was gorgeous! Rooms were comfy and clean. Pat's food was awesome. The waffles were the best I've ever had :) Taylor and Kirsten are so sweet and make you feel right at home. Kirsten knows her wines and drinks. I am already planning our next trip back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrypacker, Owner at Harry Packer Mansion Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Happy Holidays!
Seeing a great review is like Christmas morning with a great present under the tree.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts.
Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I went with our best friends it was a great weekend!
The murder mystery was so much fun. The rooms were so comfy and very clean.
The owners and their son are so nice and make you feel very welcome.
The food is great. The town is so nice. We had lunch at Encore dont miss the tomato soup!!
The wine at the Mansion was also very nice. We would love to come back in the summer and shop more we went on a cold weekend!!.
Thanks for the fun weekend.
Nancy and Amaury

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancycs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrypacker, Owner at Harry Packer Mansion Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and we'll hold you to that promise of returning in the warmer weather. We are saving a spot for you on the veranda, your wine will be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Mansion. The accommodations very comfortable. I felt at home. The murder mystery was fun. We got to know the other guests and our host. The food was delicious, drinks were top shelf! I plan to return.

Room Tip: I stayed in Annie's Suite. It was good for 3 adults. Even though I was on the 2nd floor, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrypacker, Owner at Harry Packer Mansion Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
I am so glad you felt at home, that is our goal.
Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in "gussies room" last weekend. We had a flight of white wines on the porch in the late afternoon. Delightful!
Our accommodations were spectacular. The Innkeepers could not have been more accommodating.
What delicious breakfast selections .
Could not recommend more highly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrypacker, Owner at Harry Packer Mansion Inn, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
We loved your review of the mansion and the wine flights from Libations Lounge.
It was great that the weather was so nice you could sit on the veranda.
Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

There are no words to describe our experience. From the minute we stepped through the door we were treated as family. The mansion itself if beautiful and decorated perfectly to represent the historical period. The owners were VERY accommodating and exceptionally friendly. We felt like we had known them for many, many years. There was a group that spent their time enjoying the murder mystery. We opted out of this event and spent some alone time in the town of Jim Thorpe. Our room "Harry's suite" was beautiful with grand views of the town. Breakfast was served at 9am. All the guests attended breakfast at the same time and the food was exceptional. There is a small bar set up inside called Libations. It allows those who are not staying at the mansion to get a glimpse of the first floor and enjoy a drink either inside or on their large deck. The bar is only open a few hours on Saturday and Sunday and visitors are only allowed on the first floor as to not intrude on the overnight guests. The prices are very reasonable given the fine selection that they offer. We are already looking forward to staying again and enjoying the hospitality provided. You can't go wrong with this gorgeous, historical and VERY friendly B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in Harry's suite that offered a huge bathtub and shower. The room had a electric firep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeNadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensalem, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Let me say this my wife and I just got back from the weekend at the mansion and the food was great and a good time with all that was there. Pat was nice and working nonstop as the rest of the family and Bob had so much information he shared with us about the Packer's and the area. I wish I had a recorded him just to remember what he told us. We left with so much knowledge of the area and Packers family. It was like a big family with the the other guess , all talking and eating all weekend. We never took our car out all weekend it stayed parked and we just walked around town.The town people had all good things to say about Bob and Pat. Thanks again for a great weekend, We will be back shortly

Room Tip: We had 3rd floor , Room was great / heard nothing till morning. again EXCELLENT place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.1 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
19.2 mi away
Glasbern Inn - Fogelsville / Allentown
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry Packer Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry Packer Mansion Inn

Property: Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Address: 19 Packer Hl, PO Box 458, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1221
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a wedding present in 1874, the Harry Packer Mansion now serves as a luxury inn within the Mauch Chunk Historic district of Jim Thorpe, PA, just 1 1/2 hours from Philadelphia and NYC.The Mansion was used by Disney as a model for the Haunted Mansion so it is only fitting that it is known for its award-winning Murder Mystery Weekends. Voted the best Murder Mystery weekend by the Book of Lists and recently the best on the East Coast by NPR. Come for the murder weekend, visit during the week for a quieter experience, stop by and enjoy a glass of wine on the veranda or take a tour through the mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Harry Packer Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harry Packer Mansion Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing