We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Murder Mystery Weekend is a wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hopewell, New York
Level Contributor
371 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Murder Mystery Weekend is a wonderful time”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We recently attended a murder mystery weekend at the Harry Packer Mansion and we had an awesome time.
Bob does a great job setting up the mystery and assigning roles to the guests.
We really enjoyed watching the story unfold as well as participating in the fun.
The mansion is lovely. We stayed in Harry's Suite which is a fantastic room.
The town is a short walk down the hill from the mansion and is a very cute old town.
The old library is a greta building.
Sadly I didn't figure out the mystery but that didn't dampen my time. We enjoyed both breakfasts and the dinner that was included in the mystery package.
This is a great way to spend a weekend, next time we will choose to come in the warmer weather so we can enjoy more outdoor activites.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank optiman32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrypacker, Owner at Harry Packer Mansion Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you in the warmer weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    23
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
117
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deptford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We had an amazing time at the Harry Packer Mansion doing the Murder Mystery weekend with 4 of our friends. There was a group of 12 of us all doing the Murder Mystery together, and it turned out to be a fun group! The mansion is absolutely beautiful and we had the chance to see a couple of the guest rooms (they were awesome!), however we stayed in the Carriage house, which was also really nice and we were more than comfortable there. The owners Bob and Patty and their son Taylor were gracious hosts who made us feel right at home. Patty made amazing breakfasts each morning and a dinner that was unbelievable. Everything in the town was within walking distance and we got to enjoy so many fun things within the town during our free time from the Murder Mystery. I would highly recommend staying at the Harry Packer Mansion. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My first B&B experience. We went as a group of 6 to do the MURDER MYSTERY weekend. Had a great time playing along and "Bob" was an amazing host. Very clean Mansion and the owners were very nice. Breakfest was very good and our Dinner for the Murder Mystery was amazing. Will definitely stay again and recommend to others!

Room Tip: Cottage house is very nice but rooms inside the mansion are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Though it has been a few years my wife and I have done the murder mystery weekend at this B&B twice. Once was as an anniversary gift the other we brought along 6-7 of our relatives.

We all had a great time here. For the most part everything was wonderful.

Having never been to a B&B before I didn't know what to expect. If anything the only two small disappointments were the food and activities of the surrounding area. It's not that the food was terrible, but just ok. Nothing served to me, on either ocassion, blew me away...though it wasn't horrible either. We also went to Jim Thorpe in late winter/early spring. It can be that in-between time when it's too cold for most activities and not quite cold enough for others. We also didn't do our due diligence to see what other attractions were in the area. So when not "in character" we just kinda meandered around the town, not exactly fun.

The murder mystery was great whether we had to make new friends or were doing it with our relatives. The owners were super nice and personable and had no problems helping make both weekends (the two visits were separated by about a year) memorable.

I will definitely go back again in the near future.

P.N. The date says 2012 though we actually traveled in '08 & '09

Room Tip: We'll probably try the carriage house next time, though the suite was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cm l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrypacker, Owner at Harry Packer Mansion Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Wow has it really been 4 years since you were here!
First the good news......
You will be glad to know that the town is really bustling with lots of activities since your visit. The number 9 mine is open with great tours and a trip down a real mine, the tours of the Asa Packer Mansion and St. Mark's church are wonderful plus all of the great outdoor adventures.
Now the bad news...
I am still the cook ;) but I am continuously trying to improve my skills.
Hope you'll return soon and see for yourself!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar harbor
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I went for the first time to Harry Packer for their Murder Mystery weekend and we had a great time. The staff was great, the food was very good and we had a great team to solve the mystery. I thought it was organized very well, giving us a good balance of free time to enjoy the town and group time to solve our mystery. I would highly recommend! The owners were also very accommodating with all - thank you Bob and Pat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulip905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This mansion is run like a B&B, it was a eerie to stay at a mansion with all this history and portraits of the original owners. But the mansion is well maintained, there is a lot of history in the small town, lots of hiking and even a beach near by.

Would definitely recommend for a fun weekend. They also host a murder mystery weekend dinner which we missed but sounds like fun time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

For those of you who can appreciate great hospitality, the comfort and exquisite taste for quality in both rooms and history. Bob and Pat have restored this most elegant and time piece mansion to a beauty for generations to come. The price is not only resonable, but in our opinion, is every bit worth the memories and happiness that my fiance Amy and I will have for the rest of our lives. Thank You !!! Bob and Pat from the bottom of our hearts. We will show the pictures of our stay at our wedding slide show. May God Bless you and your mansion.
Thank You, Joe & Amy

Room Tip: All rooms are fitted with the finest quality bedding, and cleanliness, it is very rare that you find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOSEPH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.1 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
19.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
0.3 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry Packer Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry Packer Mansion Inn

Property: Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Address: 19 Packer Hl, PO Box 458, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1221
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harry Packer Mansion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built as a wedding present in 1874, the Harry Packer Mansion now serves as a luxury inn within the Mauch Chunk Historic district of Jim Thorpe, PA, just 1 1/2 hours from Philadelphia and NYC.The Mansion was used by Disney as a model for the Haunted Mansion so it is only fitting that it is known for its award-winning Murder Mystery Weekends. Voted the best Murder Mystery weekend by the Book of Lists and recently the best on the East Coast by NPR. Come for the murder weekend, visit during the week for a quieter experience, stop by and enjoy a glass of wine on the veranda or take a tour through the mansion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Harry Packer Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harry Packer Mansion Hotel Jim Thorpe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing