We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great concert venue!”

The Mauch Chunk Opera House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Noted in National Geographic Traveler for its superb acoustics, the 1881 Opera House was an important stop on the old Vaudeville circuit. Today's schedule is diverse, from folk, rock, classical, and jazz. Recent renovations include a new steel roof, sound system and theater seats. Relaxed, intimate and all seats have a great view. The Opera House is located in the heart of Jim Thorpe's historic district, just a quick stroll to pubs, restaurants, lodging and shops.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great concert venue!”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

Historic, intimate concert venue set in Jim Thorpe - a town full of character, history, and charming shopping opportunities. The Opera House has a great variety of music to choose from. Anxious to get there again. Check out their website.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    40
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simple Music Venue”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

The opera house is similar to an auditorium. I was expecting a bit more grandeur when I heard opera house. Not a deal breaker at all, just a bit surprised. In case you might be too, I hope that tempers your expectations.

The opera house books many bands to play live. I found it a great treat to unexpectedly go to a concert and listen to live music for a few hours on Saturday night and listen to music and a band I would never have otherwise.

Acoustics are fine and there isn't a bad seat in the house.

I recommend catching a show if there's one on the weekend you go.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank NJS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary Weekend”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

We had tickets to see "The Burlesque Festival"
It was absolutely beautiful in the Opera House and the Sound echoed amazingly. Can't wait to take in more shows in the upcoming future <3

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“An unique and awesome venue”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We in NE PA are fortunate to have this unique venue for concerts. Because it is relatively small, there are no bad seats. All kinds of concerts, we especially love the Simon and Garfunkel tribute.
No fault of the venue but the John Denver tribute was a bust because the singer insisted on working in his own music and thats not what we paid for. Overall: great venue.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank newmaninseinfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Check it out”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Beautiful building that's well kept and very clean. Check out the historical pictures on the walls upstairs.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MarlaR44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mauch Chunk Opera House also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to The Mauch Chunk Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing