We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty cool”
Review of Old Jail Museum

Old Jail Museum
Ranked #3 of 25 things to do in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
“Pretty cool”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We actually stopped here on the way back home from our trip. I was surprised at how fast we got back to Philadelphia from here. That's besides the point.

The story behind the prison was good. I can't believe it just recently closed. Didn't know anything about the Molly McGuires and the treatment of the Irish. And, the handprint story was great. The basement was the creepiest part.

All-in-all, if you're looking for a piece of history, consider going. If you are looking to get creeped out or like a ghost story, not really worth an extra trip. It was ok. The town of Jim Thorpe is the such a cute and quant town.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brenden N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    146
    60
    11
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“In the clinker!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Really enjoyed our tour of the Old Jail in Jim Thorpe. It was a bit of a walk uphill from our hotel and shops at the foot of the hill, so consider driving if walking is an issue. Also, there are quite a few steps to get up to the entrance, so consider this as well and inquire about accessibility if that is an issue. The tour was interesting and informative, although our tour guide was unable to answer some of our questions and did not seem interested in pursuing. Some of the propping left a bit to be desired. The mannequins, for example, would have contributed more to the theming had they been dressed to better fit the period and scene being depicted. Likewise, cells and other areas used for storage should not have been on view to the touring public.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandyA9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Old Jail Museum”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Need to mark how far up the street it is. We asked locals as we went so we did find it. Not well marked. The jail tour was interesting. It was short though so not worth making any extra trip for to entertain. They did explain the history of the Molly McGuires, etc. It was basically an older, run down building. Kinda hokey, but okay for something different.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Save Your $”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This tour was not a highlight of our trip to Jim Thorpe. It wasn't interesting. It was depressing. The tour is short to begin with. On top of that, our tour guide rushed us through with promises that we could come back on our own to look more closely at things when the tour was finished. With a tour starting in front of us and another bringing up the rear, backtracking was not really an option. The big attraction at the Old Jail Museum is a hand print that has been on the wall since the 1800's. You are not allowed to take pictures of the hand print. You have to buy one in the gift shop. Lame. Save your $. The Asa Packer & Harry Packer Mansions are far more interesting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MissAnneZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quick tour, cheap, worth it”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The whole tour lasts about an hour, then you're free to meander the cells afterwards. The jail itself is small and outside of the cell block and dungeon, not that impressive. Our tour guide was good, the stories were interesting. Doubt I'd do it again but it wasn't a bad way to spend an hour for $6 while visiting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve8329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Jail Museum also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Old Jail Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing