We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting with an Eclectic Collection”

Mauch Chunk Museum & Cultural Center
Ranked #10 of 25 things to do in Jim Thorpe
Attraction details
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Interesting with an Eclectic Collection”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good local museum with some curious artefacts. The introductory film was well done. The exhibit area was a bit cluttered and there could be more interpretive signage, but not a bad local attraction.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    21
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoystown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Interesting!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I think this museum is a must see, if you are interested in the history of Jim Thorpe. It starts with a short film and then you can examine local artifacts and learn the history of the man Jim Thorpe.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jennreep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Little Gem In A Great Little Town”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Having got lost on my way to the Lehigh Gorge Railway and missing the train, gave me time to explore this delightful town and come across this little gem of a local museum. Full of useful local information, I was glad I'd missed the train

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ManicUSAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaghticoke, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent overview of the area's history.”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Some cool quirky stuff in here, and great historical background on the area if you're a fan (which I am).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tracysnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stopped here on the way home from the Ponono's. The staff was very friendly and stopped in to see if we had questions several times. We enjoyed seeing the artifacts that were displayed there and learning about the town and Jim Thorpe. I had no idea what a great athlete he was. We plan to go back and spend a weekend there at a later date.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauch Chunk Museum & Cultural Center also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Mauch Chunk Museum & Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing