We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere!”

Molly Maguires Pub & Steakhouse
Ranked #5 of 39 Restaurants in Jim Thorpe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I love eating outside! Pretty big terrace, food was ok - pub style. It's right downtown Jim Thorpe and usually pretty crowded.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    311
    144
    45
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashtabula, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Location”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I were in Jim Thorpe for the weekend. We prefer not-so-fancy/frou-frou food. Molly Maguires was perfect for us. It was a bonus that it was right down the hill from the Harry Packer Mansion where we were staying. I had a crab cake sandwich which was great. My husband had a burger that he really liked. The fries were good, too. We sat on the patio and relaxed watching the people go by.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissAnneZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
841 reviews
422 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Take your time”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great location by the train depot in Jim Thorpe. Real old pub feel. Great pub food (especially the fish and chips and the shepherd's pie). So why not rated higher. Server didn't smile until we were ready to leave. Meals took almost 30 minutes from order. Asked if everything was okay Restaurant was not busy. So slow the manager (I assume) who was seating people talked to us out of boredom. Still, the food was very good and the prices were reasonable so it is still worth a try if you are at the train station for a tour.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TransplantedBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Happy hour read the fine print”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Called about happy hour, 4-6. Sounds great. Have a couple beers at a table. Sorry, happy hour is at the bar only...... 2x the price at a table. Next time I will ask.
Wings are not bad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobCrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great lil pub with very tasty pub food!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice location right in downtown Jim Thorpe!! Warm, inviting atmosphere and definitely a place where several of the (friendly) locals seem to congregate! Authentic, relaxing, warm, great sandwiches and a nice beer selection. I'd definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kanicane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly Maguires Pub & Steakhouse also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Molly Maguires Pub & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing