We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Bar And Grille”

Molly Maguires Pub & Steakhouse
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Jim Thorpe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Very Good Bar And Grille”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Molly's is a downtown staple in Jim Thorpe. They have a big deck for the good weather, and a lot of seating inside. We have enjoyed live music there numerous times on Friday nights. Drinks are standard price and quality, with a decent selection of beers. The food is somewhat typical of what you would expect from a pub. I was not a fan of the meatloaf, but their burgers are absolutely fantastic. Service speed varies with how busy it is, as is expected. This is a very popular place. It's not really a nice romantic dinner environment, more like a fun, typical small town corner bar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RockingLoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    302
    136
    45
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
194 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Don't pass up the history”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's a pub - and a wonderful pub at that! Pub food - beers and burgers etc! Very Yummy. Wonderful atmosphere. Great service. And if you are in Jim Thorpe/Mauch Chuck - you should learn the history of the "Molly McQuire's". Enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good eats!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Although it has your typical pub atmosphere, the food is most delicious and will surely bring you back again and again!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank lynn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice lunch when we arrived in town”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I decided to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary in Jim Thorpe. We live 1.5 hours southwest of the town. We arrived in town a little after 11 am and we were both hungry so we decided to get a bite to eat at Molly Maguires. We also had reservations to spend the night in the Hotel Switzerland which is in the 2nd and 3rd floors in the same building above the Pub so why not have lunch there!?!

My wife got one of their burgers and I had the grilled cajun chicken sandwich. Our food was served promptly with fries and everything was nice and hot and delicious. I also enjoyed a Black and Tan with my lunch and it definitley hit the spot!

One thing to add... We timed our lunch visit perfectly. When we arrived we were seated promptly. Not too much later the crowds rolled in! If you're looking for an early lunch spot, you can't go wrong with Molly Maguires Pub!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patmac22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Decent place to eat”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Molly Maguires is relatively new restaurant in the very old Hotel Switzerland. The bar that is original to the hotel has beautiful old maghony woodwork with lots of marble and brass. The food is good and so was the service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank peace1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Molly Maguires Pub & Steakhouse also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Molly Maguires Pub & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing