We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again and still great”
Review of The Times House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Thorpe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Times House
Ranked #2 of 17 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed here last October and wanted to see the area in the spring as well. Once again, The Times House provided the perfect place to stay. Wonderful, huge room, great baked good, great location. If we visit Jim Thorpe again, we'll definitely make The Times House our home base.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJWhite3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 270 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We visited Jim Thorpe for our 25th anniversary.
We were delighted with fresh flowers, chocolate dipped strawberries, wine, AND champagne!
Our room was always provided with fresh baked items which were wonderful.
We went to a concert at Penn's Peak--a fun mountain top venue.
We were also able to go horseback riding on a beautiful day.
We enjoyed the restaurants and shopping in town.
We would recommend Times House to everyone!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank shekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I needed to get out of the city for the weekend, and the Times House was exactly what we were looking for. Diane and Chris were wonderful hosts, greeting us at the door even with a late check in on Friday night at 10 PM. When we arrived in our room, we were greeted with an extremely comfortable bed, peace and quiet, and a well-stocked fridge and snacks.

Over the course of the weekend, we enjoyed the quiet comfort of our room and the surrounding area. It was nice to just walk around the town, and we even ran into Diane and Chris at a nearby store. Everything in the room was immaculately clean and it was just what we were looking for that weekend. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHKim9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Just visited Jim Thorpe for the first time. Our hosts at The Times House insisted on giving us their cell phone number in case we needed help with directions or advise on restaurants, etc.
Our third floor room was roomy and very welcoming with luxury sheets and towels as well as fresh baked goods. The Times House added to our great experiences in Jim Thorpe. Can't wait to return.
J & L Walters

Room Tip: Can't pick a bad room, they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surivergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We just returned from our third stay at The Times House. As always, Chris and Diane were wonderful. This time we stayed in the Serenity Suite - absolutely gorgeous as were the other two which we have stayed in. Fresh baked goods, fruit, and a well stocked fridge every time. The place is immaculate. Yesterday was the St. Patricks Day parade and not a sound was heard in our suite. If you have ever been to the parade in Jim Thorpe, that is truly something to be appreciated because there are a LOT of people around. The Times House is a great location. You park your car in their lot and walk to everything. If you want a truly relaxing and fun getaway,
treat yourself and your special someone to a weekend here at the Times House.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaureenTomCondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had an amazing Valentine's weekend spent at the Times House. This bed and breakfast was full of charm and character. The owners are great and accomodated us very well. They even set the room up with roses, sparkling cider and chocolate covered strawberries. It is very convenient and clean. I enjoyed the classic decor. We stayed in a very spacious room (studio) complete with it's own small eat-in-kitchen. There were always goodies left for us in the kitchen (especially her apple cake..yum!!). It is so conveniently located right in the heart of Jim thorpe so everything is in walking distance. Parking was also avilable for us.We absolutely loved this place!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had a brief but wonderful stay in the Overlook room recently. We found The Times House very convenient and walkable to everything in town, the owners friendly and knowledgable, and the accommodations spot on. The room was large, clean and not overly cluttered. The Overlook was the only room available so we took it, but the bathroom--while private, and sparkling--was a short walk down the hall. Not a big deal for one night, but worth noting. The baked goods, fruit and cold drinks in the room were delicious and convenient, we enjoyed being able to snack on our schedule. I look forward to returning for another getaway!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hannahleigh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.1 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
676 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe), PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
#4 of 17 in Jim Thorpe
201 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hill Home Forge
Hill Home Forge
#3 of 17 in Jim Thorpe
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Times House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Times House

Address: 25 Race St, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-2003
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range: $129 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Jim Thorpe, you'll enjoy the romantic elegance of the circa 1870 Times House Bed & Breakfast, just steps away from shops, restaurants, wine tasting and more. Delicious en suite Continental breakfast, Whirlpool tubs, electric fireplaces, Tesla Destination Charging Station, free electric car charging, bike storage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing