We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & cozy!”
Review of The Times House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Thorpe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Times House
Ranked #2 of 17 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had a brief but wonderful stay in the Overlook room recently. We found The Times House very convenient and walkable to everything in town, the owners friendly and knowledgable, and the accommodations spot on. The room was large, clean and not overly cluttered. The Overlook was the only room available so we took it, but the bathroom--while private, and sparkling--was a short walk down the hall. Not a big deal for one night, but worth noting. The baked goods, fruit and cold drinks in the room were delicious and convenient, we enjoyed being able to snack on our schedule. I look forward to returning for another getaway!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hannahleigh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 266 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

My fiancee and I stayed a short 1 night stay in the 3rd floor Overlook room. We really enjoyed the decor, comforts and space. The large house is very well kept and the owners (Diane and Chris) took great care of us, even making sure to get gluten free choices for my fiancee's breakfast. Everything is styled in a classic sense yet very homely. Free wine tasting of local wines at check-in was a great plus. It's all within walking distance of the town so we really enjoyed it. Would stay again!

Room Tip: The Overlook room on the top floor had the most space of the rooms in pictures, with a small couch a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff14L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was our first trip to Jim Thorpe, PA and we LOVED the Times House. Chis and Diane took extra special care to make our stay comfortable and unique. They provided a birthday cake and a bottle of sparkling cider once they realized I was expecting! The room was massive and included an adorable eat-in kitchen, perfect for a romantic breakfast for two. The baked goods were fantastic! Race Street is beautiful and walking distance to everything. The electric fireplace in our room provided a wonderful retreat after our day out exploring town in the snow. I would definitely recommend the Times House to anyone looking to visit Jim Thorpe. We hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hischu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I just got home from our stay at Times House in Jim Thorpe. It was such a relaxing, enjoyable two nights! We stayed in the Serenity room, which was exactly as one would expect with such a name. A gorgeous, spacious room, a huge bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, and homemade baked goods for breakfast at our own little cafe table in our room. Diane even baked and decorated a birthday cake for my husband! We walked the entire town - never moved our car for two days. We will be back.

Room Tip: Serenity room was very peaceful and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

A unique romantic couples style B & B that caters to your needs while providing you with the intimate privacy and time you need with your significant other. We stayed in the Serenity room with the jacuzzi tub and it far exceeded our expectations. Chris and Diane are truly wonderful people. We found our little gem and will be visiting again soon!! Thanks Chris and Diane, for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is by far one of the most elegant places I have stayed. The Times B&B is so warm, cozy and beautiful. No need to wonder where romance is when you are staying here. The owners are so personable, and make you feel very welcome and comfortable. The room was filled with antique furniture and fireplace, which make the atmosphere that much more extraordinary! This was my first time in Jim Thorpe, and when I return, this is the only place I would ever stay! Oh and not to mention the wonderful homemade muffins and sconces that we had for breakfast. Diane makes them herself from scratch, and they are far better than any you could ever buy from a bakery. If you want a nice, romantic, relaxing place to stay, you found it, no need to look any further.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freespirited80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Times a few months back. We're staying there again tomorrow night. Same room, "The Overlook," which is an appropriate name, for it does indeed overlook Race Street and onto the Main Street. The owners are just lovely people and the old building, which has so much history, is being lovingly restored, room by room. The room is spacious, the food goodies are delightful (its nice to stay in your own room for breakfast, which is placed for you upon your arrival), and the bathroom, which is down the hall for this particular room, is warm, cozy, and large--very private. We had no problem walking down to the bathroom in the lush, cozy bathrobes. We are so excited to stay there for a quick getaway tomorrow night!

Room Tip: "The Overlook" is on the top floor, so it has a wonderful view, is very spacious, and feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerriLynn1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.1 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
672 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
#3 of 17 in Jim Thorpe
199 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hill Home Forge
Hill Home Forge
#4 of 17 in Jim Thorpe
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Times House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Times House

Address: 25 Race St, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-2003
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range: $129 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Jim Thorpe, you'll enjoy the romantic elegance of the circa 1870 Times House Bed & Breakfast, just steps away from shops, restaurants, wine tasting and more. Delicious en suite Continental breakfast, Whirlpool tubs, electric fireplaces, Tesla Destination Charging Station, free electric car charging, bike storage. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing