We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Nature-Lover Activity”

Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary
Ranked #6 of 25 things to do in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Closed until May 27, 2017 Please see the Bear Mountain Butterfly Website for information on dates and events for 2017.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
bristol,pa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Nature-Lover Activity”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great for grown-ups and kids alike. Not a very large attraction, but worth visiting if you are in this area. Admission covers a film about butterflies, tour, and visit to a "fluttertarium"--where the butterflies are in all stages of development--from emerging from their chrysalides to flying freely throughout the room. Some moths and cocoons are also on display, along with exotic frogs in the adjoining room. The staff is extremely friendly and totally enjoy what they are doing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank brenda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mari G, Owner at Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and you are right , our staff do really enjoy their jobs. We are lucky to be able to connect so many people of all ages to the wonders of nature around us. Please visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    16
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Great place to visit, the staff were friendly and very eager to explain the exhibition. On the negative side, the place is very small.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mickeymai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mari G, Owner at Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for the kind words, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope yo see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place, unique experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is out second year visiting the butterfly sanctuary. Our girls (ages 3 and 6) had an amazing time. They loved being in the room with all the butterflies and being able to go from the crafts, to the frogs, back to the butterflies again. The staff is very informative and knowledgeable. They took their time and answered all my girl's questions. The gift shop is every little girl's fantasy and the prices are very reasonable. It is a small place so I could not imagine spending more than an hour and a half there but it is a great place to visit, especially with young kids.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mari G, Owner at Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
It makes us so happy to hear what a great time you had , I hope we will see you again, the experience will change as your children grow up: building on their gained knowledge and the connection with the living creatures around them will straighten. Thanks for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, PA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Education At Its Finest”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was our second trip to the sanctuary. We had nine in our party... my husband, my mother and our six children aged 14 to 2. The kids LOVE the exhibits, the film and being able to act out the cycles of butterflies. We spent two HOURS there today: we did crafts, watched the film, the kids asked a ton of questions, we watched the frogs and tarantulas and feed the butterflies... all without being rushed or over crowded.

My mother had never experienced anything like it and absolutely loved the sanctuary. We are planning to bring my nieces and nephews when they come visit!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elphalba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mari G, Owner at Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
I remember your group, it WAS fun. Your experience is what it's all about for us,so glad you are planning another visit. Our Dart tadpoles are becoming frog-lets ! Boy are they cute.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“butterfly sanctuary”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Fun little video and was neat to see the frogs. The butterfly exhibit was pretty limited. We were done in under 10 minutes (one small room) and had talked with the young guy working there about all that they had. The opening movie was nice and you should see it if you go. I wouldn't drive out of my way to do this one. Nice people, just too limited in what there was to see and do. Pretty much set up for young children who would likely enjoy it (simple crafts, etc)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing