We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Learn about Butterflies”

Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary
Ranked #5 of 25 things to do in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Closed until May 27, 2017 Please see the Bear Mountain Butterfly Website for information on dates and events for 2017.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Bethlehem
Level Contributor
216 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Great Place to Learn about Butterflies”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Hands on stuff for kids to do ..they'll love it!! They even have a Fluttertarium!! Film presentation on arriving. Self tour with great displays, butterflies, and poison dart frogs. Butterfly Tender to help you with any questions you care to ask. Loved it.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank oceancitylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
You guys did seems to be having a lot of fun and really connecting to the little critters we house. Thanks so much for visiting. The experience can become even richer and more educational as your children grow up. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    16
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, PA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very cool little place”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Visited here recently w/ my almost 3 year old daughter. She was a little too young for the educational side (we skipped the video and such), but we enjoyed going into the butterfly room where the guide was very knowledgeable about butterflies and their whole life cycle. The place is super kid friendly, and although you won't spend forever here, it is something nice for the kids.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kateben05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
We are so please that you enjoyed your visit and hope you will visit us again and again as your child grows . There is always a new opportunity to experience the wonders of nature . Our Thursday morning pre school " Butterfly Friends " program is perfect for 3 year olds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfordsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Love the nature show”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

A little off the beaten path, but well worth the small admission fee. There is a video and a speaker that provide a lot of information about butterflies. We then went into the butterfly room where you can actually hold the butterflies and feed them. There is also a tank with various poison dart frogs. Very educational, worth the drive!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank PAdoglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
We do really love doing the butterfly show. Its wonderful to see the kid's eyes light up when they see the Blue Morpho's quick change or the owl eyed butterfly's cool trick. And who wouldn't love meeting live butterflies in an up-close and personal way. I love how butterflies are not the least bit shy around people. I wonder if they understand how awesome it is for us when they alight on a little finger .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

I am just leaving the butterfly sanctuary in Jim Thorpe. I had an amazing time. I have both a toddler and twin boys and they were all engrossed and enthawed. Yes the sanctuary is not huge but small and personal which is exactly what we wanted. We learned as a family and as individuals. The movie was great and the interaction with the staff was incredible. No question was left unanswered or was dumb love this place. Would reccommend this sanctuary to anyone. Taught my kids about conservstion which is so important Also came highly recommended from The owner of the campsite we stayed at. Loved every minute of our stay Can't believe someone would complain about a small admission.

Joanna
Nj

Helpful?
Thank Joannarider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed the visit. We had a great time with your family also. The pre-school program does seem like a good fit for our younger visitors but even toddlers light up when a butterfly comes close. We want the Sanctuary to be a place where people can have a meaningful and joyous time be it a quick 15 minutes in the flight room or the whole ball of wax. The experience you and your family talked about in the review is what we strive for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A most peaceful place for the family”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Today me, my wife, and 4-year old had the most relaxing experience of our week long stay in the Poconos. We made plans to visit the sanctuary the night before on the fly and got there at 9:20 a.m. just before the doors opened so that we could arrive on time for the preschool presentation.

We were warmly greeted by the founder of this great non-profit...One of the most caring, and sincere souls we have encountered in a very long time. She showed us the display of dart and tree frogs, and explained the special anatomy of the tarantula she had on display. All the while my little boy had his nose practically pressed against the glass. What a treat as all of the families watched a 10 minute video, learning about the life cycle of butterflies. We had unfortunately overheated and killed 5 of the chrysalises during the car ride up to our vacation rental and were at the sanctuary to learn about the right way to raise butterflies.

It was clear to my wife (an elementary school teacher) that the educator had previous experience with kinesthetic learning, and did a great job keeping the attention of my 4-year old boy for the almost two hours we spent at the sanctuary.. I was even dressed up as a butterfly to describe the different parts of a butterfly. It was a good time. We then went and did some drawings to illustrate and reinforce the important relationship between butterflies and their environment. After that we went into the butterfly room and handled and fed a variety of different butterfly species. And we got to see a variety of chrysalises and a couple of newly emerged butterflies. We all had a great time. It was as about as serene and relaxing as could be. All of the dozen or so participants gently handled all of the butterflies. We even got to see the "senior" butterfly area where the older butterflies were kept so that there was no chance of them being injured by us bigger creatures.

The gift shop was of course focused on butterflies and other insects. My wife found a beautiful necklace displaying a portion of a butterfly's wing. It's like a gem. My son picked out an insect book that we later discovered was actually less expensive than the same book on Amazon. My little boy practically sobbed when it was time to leave (and he is not a crier). We promised to bring him back again, and we will. You will have a fun, interesting, and relaxing time at the sanctuary. It was well worth the $5 admission fee. Although the sanctuary building looked small on the outside, the contents were gigantic. And my wife got some great pictures of the butterflies we got to handle.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Lansford, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Bear Mountain Butterfly Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing