We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun train ride”

Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 1-hour, 16-mile round-trip follows the Lehigh River over bridges, through Glen Onoko, into the Lehigh Gorge State Park. High-rising cliffs and mountain scenery surround the train along the route to Old Penn Haven. You will see hikers, rafters, mountain bikers, and wildlife along the railroad. You will learn about railroad lore, wildlife, the history of the anthracite coal region, and the people who launched America into the Industrial Age. Seasonal days and hours apply throughout the year. Call for more information or visit our website for current schedules.
Saylorsburg
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun train ride”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Very fun! I went with my boyfriend and niece. Fun for all ages, affordable, safe, clean and educational. A great first experience in a train for kids.

Helpful?
Thank Lindseyrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    181
    83
    24
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“When visiting Jim Thorpe - book a ride on this train”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Great way to spend an hour. Steps away from the Inn at Jim Thorpe.

Took the 3pm train ride. If you want to splurge book a first class ticket (and wise to book in advance for this part of the train). Hot drinks and comfortable seats if you do. Everyone is very friendly. Very enjoyable. Bring your camera.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank UrsulaD604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice scenic ride”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited Jim Thorpe for a weekend getaway and heard about the train ride. We loved it. It was relaxing and the fall colors were nice. Want to go back and bring our daughter too!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dtw1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great way to see the fall leaves!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

One reason why we chose to revisit Jim Thorpe was because so many people said "you must come back during the leaves season", so we did. This year the leaves were less than impressive, but still nice. How can you go wrong staying in a beautiful little town, wonderful hotel (Inn at Jim Thorpe), eat great food (Moya) and see the wonders of nature? To maximize our chances of seeing the leaves we chose to ride the rails to High Bridge, the longer of the two train ride options during the season. Again while the leaves were not as pretty as some years, it was still a very enjoyable experience. Much like the rest of Jim Thorpe, it is like walking back in time, so too was the train experience. Here are few examples of photographs we took while on the train trip:

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WLifeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice ride from the past.”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The train itself was a nice reminder of how travel used to be done. The sights were interesting, and had the good fortune of having gone in the later part of fall while there was still some autumn colors. The ride was a good time length and found the tour narration informative.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank erkaar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing