We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for fall foliage”

Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 1-hour, 16-mile round-trip follows the Lehigh River over bridges, through Glen Onoko, into the Lehigh Gorge State Park. High-rising cliffs and mountain scenery surround the train along the route to Old Penn Haven. You will see hikers, rafters, mountain bikers, and wildlife along the railroad. You will learn about railroad lore, wildlife, the history of the anthracite coal region, and the people who launched America into the Industrial Age. Seasonal days and hours apply throughout the year. Call for more information or visit our website for current schedules.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for fall foliage”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Lehigh Gorge train ride is efficient and fun for the whole family. We enjoyed the views of Jim Thorpe, the Lehigh River, and the turning of the leaves. Conductors walk through the cars and give you some background information as well as answer any questions that you might have.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelexpert9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    186
    88
    24
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great Ride From Start To Finish”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Well we left on time, and all went well from the conductor to the narrator .. All questions were answered. The foliage was great to see, while for a change I left the driving to someone else...We arrived in Jim Thorpe city on time and left on time...Russell was great answering any questions that anyone might have...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great when steam hauled!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

When steam hauled this is the best operation in America! No ones steam program compares to the Reading & Northerns. No ones! You have to go overseas to get close. Everywhere else runs steam on geritol, like they need Pampers diapers to be operated in the modern day. The R&N/Lehigh Gorge Scenic runs steam like its a NASCAR event for trains. Just like in the old days when steam ruled the rails. You won't be disappointed with the performance or the sights and sounds. As a return customer riding the owners trains for 27 years behind steam, I've never left disappointed. Will be back again when steam is on the point. By the way, as PA scenery goes its very nice & the narration is "live". The couches are pre-WW2 as they should be and well maintained. If you want high class accommodations ride first class, not open air, where you will always find me eating cinders, enjoying the sights, and smell of steam and coal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteamGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sagar
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“memorable trip to LEH on Bike”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

it was a fabulous experience by road on bike from MANALI to LEH. our trip was short. this trip for those who wanna to enjoy there life with various climate condition the ride through the mountains to see was pretty, this is not a short drive. please carry all medicine for AMS(Acute Mountain Syndrom) it will help you a lot as safety.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ak1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice day on a fall weekend”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We only did the short trip, it was very full because it was the first fall festival weekend and it was a great day weather wise. Next time we go to Jim Thorpe we will take the train from Port Clinton and not have to deal with parking or car lines. There was a long wait to get into the parking lot ($10 to park) and we were parked as far down as you could get. No parking in town, just too busy. We bought tickets around 11:30 for the 1:00 train and had no problem getting open air. The ride was nice, better for little kids than adults but the view was pretty, lots of trees changing colors. It was a beautiful day to walk through town - everything is right there at the train station. There was great music in the gazebo, lots of shopping and neat little stores, the mansions are a great to do item. Winery had some great wine to sample. Plenty of food choices to eat, even the station was filled with food and crafters for the Fall Festival weekend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sconrad1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing