We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jim Thorpe fall foliage train ride”

Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway
Ranked #2 of 25 things to do in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 1-hour, 16-mile round-trip follows the Lehigh River over bridges, through Glen Onoko, into the Lehigh Gorge State Park. High-rising cliffs and mountain scenery surround the train along the route to Old Penn Haven. You will see hikers, rafters, mountain bikers, and wildlife along the railroad. You will learn about railroad lore, wildlife, the history of the anthracite coal region, and the people who launched America into the Industrial Age. Seasonal days and hours apply throughout the year. Call for more information or visit our website for current schedules.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Jim Thorpe fall foliage train ride”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

A nice relaxing scenic trip in Fall season for 45 minutes. I wish they extend it an hour or more. We came in the first week of October, so about 35% of the tree leaves had changed colors. Depending on the year, the peak season for foliage may go to mid October. Parking at the train station was $5.00 for all day, but you have to come before 10 AM on weekends to get a spot. We paid $12.00 per person to sit in the standard coach. The fare was higher for open cars and first class. Bring in a light jacket, if you plan to ride in open car. There is a restroom in the station, but not on the train.
The narration during the trip was clear and we snapped several pictures, as the conductor mentioned in advance about picturesque spots. You can follow the Lehigh river and enjoy watching beautiful mountains throughout the trip. After the ride, we stopped at the Fall Foliage Fair near the station and ate corn steamed in its husk.

Take a walk around the quaint town before or after the ride. Check out http://www.lgsry.com/train.html website for schedule and fares.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank pilgrim_in_pr0gress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    176
    76
    22
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really, really...”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Sorry folks, unless you want to take your kiddies on an actual train for the experience, the $12 tour - isn't worth it, nothing to see - you go down the tracks for about 20 min. and go back. Very disappointed. I guess if you want the 2 hr. tour, you may see something. Actually, we wish we would have walked the paved path that is along the tracks for walkers, bikers or runners. Do that!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank golferwife28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Town, Great Railroad Tour”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Mauch Chunk/Jim Thrope is an old coalmining and railroad town that has retained much of its original charm and character. It is the home to the Asa Packer Mansion who was one of the original coal barons in PA. The town is a nice walking around town with many shops and stores. It also has an old jail, a famous opera house and the beautiful St Mark's Church. One of the favorite attractions is the train station and the rail tours through the Lehigh Valley & Gorge. The train ride is especially beautiful during fall foliage. The very old Hotel Switzerland is a wonderful place to have lunch or dinner, and the original bar is absolutely beautiful with old maghony woodwork, and lots of marble and brass. The townsfolk are very friendly and helpful. A must-do when in the poconos.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank peace1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticowife
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery - 45 minute ride needs some fine tuning.”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Jim Thorpe is a beautiful quaint Victorian Town. This historic ride along the Lehigh river has the potential to be an amazing, charming and educational experience for children of all ages - The scenery is beautiful, the station and trains are authentic and transport you back in time. I took this ride with some friends that were visiting me in my second home in Jim Thorpe. They were so excited about the ride during Fall fest and were disappointed by the end of the ride. The disappointments were due to the fact that not one person working onboard bothered to let riders know that there will be a speaker sharing historical information and to please keep your voices down so that passengers can hear this information. We struggled and strained to hear the speaker above the many voices of passengers chatting with each other. It was frustrating. They need to fine tune this ride and pay someone to really take command and entertain the passengers with the rich history of this town and the railroad ( and not just read a paragraph or two from an index card!) 12 dollars may sound reasonable but I think the price should be less .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticowife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
561 reviews
245 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Beware Of The Parking”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Though I cannot comment on the train ride, my wife and I found the small museum in the train station to be interesting. If you plan to explore Broadway Street, this is probably the best place to park. Be forewarned that the meters are watch closely and that you will have a $10 parking ticket when the meter ticks to zero time. Unfortunately, the parking tickets are a source of revenue for the local government.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AlphaRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Lansford, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Lehigh Gorge Scenic Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing