We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Weekend Getaway”
Review of Gilded Cupid B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Thorpe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gilded Cupid B&B
Ranked #5 of 19 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This trip was a gift from my children to me and my husband for my birthday and it was the best gift that I received this year! Not only is this bed and breakfast charming and cozy, we had the best breakfasts of our lives there! Whenever we needed a suggestion for entertainment or dining, Sheila led us to the perfect places. We just enjoyed getting to know Bob and Sheila and we will be back sometime soon.

Room Tip: I don't think that there is a bad choice there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
51
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Browns Mills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were delighted with the convenient location, comfortable rooms, and amazing breakfasts. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The private bath was a wonderful claw-footed large tub that was so relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Sheila was looking out as we arrived and helped us park and get settled. She was very easy to talk with and we immediately felt very comfortable. Bob was working so we did not see him until breakfast. We were in town to see a show at the opera house and the Gilded Cupid suited our needs perfectly. Jim Thorpe is refreshing in the way it makes you feel like you have stepped into a time machine back into history. I loved the old bathroom very much.
Breakfast was fantastic, and we will be looking up this B & B next time we are in town.

Thanks Sheila & Bob

Dave & Donna

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cuervoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtown, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We go to Jim Thorpe a couple of times a year and we always try to make it to the annual St. Pat's day parade. We have stayed a number of times at the Gilded Cupid. Owners Shiela and Bob ar very nice people- to meet them is to know them and you now have new friends. The B&B is very nice- antique filled, clean,comfortable and you will feel at home. The town itself is very hard to describe; there is an ecclectic mix ot herittage and cultures. Primary among them is Irish history that started with the Molly Maguires- a secret society of coal miners that rebelled against harsh coal barons. The Old Jail where a number of the Mollies were hung exists today as a museum. It is alleged to be haunted and it certainly feels that way.

Jim Thorpe, the athlete of the first half otthe 20th century, never set foot near the town. In a publicity manuever the town purchased his body- reburied on the outskirts of town and renamed the town Jim Thorpe. I think we could agree that falls into the realm of quirky. One would be hard pressed to find his grave. The town also dubs itself the American Switzerland as it is in the hills of the Pocono Mountains. Place goes in a lot of directions at one time. Great place to visit and I highly recommend the Guilded Cupid

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Sheila and Bob were very welcoming and we loved our stay! We stayed in Anna's room which was beautiful and exquisite in every detail. Sheila's breakfast was delicious too! Very worth the trip ... we will be back! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colvilleka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Beautiful home and very sweet people! Great Breakfast!
I hear the town is at it's best in the Fall... Mountains everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NjApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The proprietors were as helpful and nice as can be. The breakfasts were beautifully cooked and just as advertised. The place, as many in the area, is older and much different than many of our other B&B stays, but the Gilded Cupid, like the town, has some charm and seems to grow on you. The Moya was a recommended restaurant by the owner and proved well worth visiting.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usachaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.3 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
3.4 mi away
Mahoning Inn
Mahoning Inn
#3 of 3 in Lehighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
0.0 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
#3 of 19 in Jim Thorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilded Cupid B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilded Cupid B&B

Property: Gilded Cupid B&B
Address: 40 W Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1928
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erase your calender, enjoy the Victorian era at its finest. Walking distance to all interesting sites, shops and eateries. Second floor porch and gardens with seating to just drift away. Victorian clawfoot soaking tubs complete with lush robes. Gourmet breakfast with original flair. Served on fine china and crystal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing