We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karen & Joe's Little Get-A-Way”
Review of DeFeo's Manor B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jim Thorpe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeFeo's Manor B&B
Ranked #5 of 17 Jim Thorpe B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Every once in a blue moon; you are blessed to be able to stay in such an enchanted place as the DeFeo’s Manor. Rivaled only by its wonderful owners, Richard & Ellen made our stay more than enjoyable. Our stay was in the suite, where we overlooked the beautiful village of Jim Thorpe. In the morning, breakfast arrived at our door. We were able to sit and linger, as we enjoyed it at our table overlooking town. What a joy! The DeFeo’s are a warm and loving couple, whose goal is to make you feel like family. Mission accomplished. We will be back as much as possible. We would recommend a stay at the DeFeo’s Manor to everyone seeking something special…that unmistakable feeling you get when you know that the folks greeting you at the door are genuinely happy to see you there! Thank you!!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 95 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our 5 th year wedding anniversary from Aug 22nd thru Aug 26th.

Our stay at De Feo's Manor bed breakfast was wonderful especially getting the extra touch of seeing roses and a bottle of wine in our room when we first arrived.
Breakfast being served at 845 every morning and sitting at our own private table in the blue room was also nice. Richard and Ellen were very accomendating and made us feel at home. It was like staying at a close relatives home.

Jim Thorpe is a great small town and the bed and breakfast is centrally located in the heart of the historical district and across from the Mauch Chunk Opera House. Through the looking glass and the wheel restuarants are the closest places to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I had a great time here and enjoyed the friendly people in the town, beautiful B&B, and the DeFeo's are wonderful !
The house is centrally located to all the shops and entertainment, and the restaurants are great with excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaiF491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the DeFeo's B&B. We stayed in the Blue Room and it was well maintained and had access to a very cute balcony. The DeFeo's themselves are very gracious and friendly. We would recommend this B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princessdiana78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a very nice B and B. Our hostess and host, Ellen and Richard, were very accommodating. If you are looking to visit Jim Thorpe, PA, this is the place to stay. DeFeo's Manor is in the heart of the historical district and within walking distance to every nearby attraction and wonderful restaurants. We had a lovely time in the two short days we stayed here. Thank you again for your wonderful hospitality Ellen and Richard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We just celebrated our wedding anniversary with a weekend stay in Jim Thorpe PA, a jewel of a town that looks and feels like a Swiss Alpine village. We stayed in the older part of town which is rich in history, charm and architecture, but the highlight of our stay was DeFeo's Manor B&B and its proprietors, Richard and Ellen DeFeo. They fully deserve their #1 B&B rating, and their luxurious accomodations and attention to detail are only exceeded by their personal warmth and character. These interesting and talented people have restored a time-worn Victorian manor house to its original magnificence but with modern amenities, and still find time to devote to art, gourmet baking, graphic design, stained glass and antique collecting. We spent a lovely few hours enjoying wine and conversation with them on their huge covered porch.
The Manor is right in the heart of the Jim Thorpe historic area and it's an easy walk to everything. It's only a short drive to bike trails, ski areas, and Mauch Chunk Lake Park. The Suite where we stayed is spacious and comfortable, with massive casings and moldings and ornate woodwork, and there are two turrets, one for dining and one for reading or relaxing.
A gourmet light breakfast rolls right up to your door at 8:45 am with a gentle knock, and there's nothing like breakfast with a view of Opera House Square, either from the 5-window turret or the private balcony overlooking the Opera House.
We're looking forward to returning in a few months to catch the fall foliage and again stay with Richard and Ellen.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobnCarol2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We can't say enough about this BEAUTIFUL Inn! Richard & Ellen made us feel welcomed the minute we pulled in - they were sitting on the porch, as they often do, and immediately stood up to welcome us like family! The Inn is rich w/history, beautiful and centrally located to all that downtown Jim Thorpe has to offer!

Promptly at 8:45 each morning a lovely breakfast is delivered to your room which is special as this allows you to enjoy breakfast in bed!

We LOVED our stay and can't wait to return in the fall for what will surely be an amazing display of color during the fall foliage season in the Lehigh Valley!

Room Tip: As of June 2012 they only had 2 rooms (they are working on completing the 3rd) - we stayed in the Bl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathymaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jim Thorpe
0.2 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
678 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Lehighton (Jim Thorpe Area)
0.1 mi away
The Parsonage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
Harry Packer Mansion Inn
#4 of 17 in Jim Thorpe
203 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hill Home Forge
Hill Home Forge
#3 of 17 in Jim Thorpe
39 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Inn at Birch Wilds
The Inn at Birch Wilds
#1 of 3 in Lehighton
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeFeo's Manor B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeFeo's Manor B&B

Address: 5 W Broadway, Jim Thorpe, PA 18229-1931
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Jim Thorpe
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jim Thorpe
Price Range: $120 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeFeo's Manor - is in the heart of historic Jim Thorpe, within convenient walking distance of all shops, galleries, museums & restaurants. We're across the street from the Opera House. We offer an adult getaway B & B, for couples and singles, with a guest Suite and the Blue room, in our Queen Anne Victorian home, built circa 1880. Both rooms have cable TV & VCR, free wireless internet access, a refrigerator stocked with juice, water, jams and butters. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Defeo`s Manor Hotel Jim Thorpe
Defeo`s Manor Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing