We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused...”
Review of Moya

Moya
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Jim Thorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Confused...”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Now when i say "confused" i truly dont mean that in a bad way... I am merely referring to the state of mind i was left in, not because of the spectacular beer selection which i explored as thoroughly as possible, but confused because i drove two and a half hours to a place; i fully believed could not poses this type of talented chef or chefs. This place was spectacular from the outside it is humble yet colorful, INSIDE was beautiful and well maintained and clean. Like i said earlier the craft beer selection AWESOME! The menu an amazingly balanced array of dishes that were not only at an acceptable price but generous portions! My Fiancée and i both had first and mains. The bread they dropped at the table was great as well! This place is a must go if you are out for a really nice date.

The only reason i gave 4 out of 5 is that the wait staff could use a little more knowledge of the menu. When asked about two different dishes the waiting staff responded " well you can get pasta anywhere and the crab cakes are completely different" yes we know that. And also they take calls at the bar which is very open and fielding calls and then making frustrated sounds about the questions asked is not a good idea either.

Overall though this place is great, Great, GREAT! You should go and with the polishing of a couple small things front of house this place will be great for a long time...

Helpful?
1 Thank Jcoz689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    86
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
189 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best meal of the year!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Dined recently on a snowy,chilly night. Seating is tight, but we're very fortunate to be seated next to a great couple, but could have been awkward if you're not friendly and want a quiet, private dinner. I had the goat geese and asparagus salad my mate got the smoked trout salad, both excellent! We shared our entrees of braised short ribs and salmon which were absolutely delicious. Our long island iced teas were tasty and treasonable at $8. The meal was a little pricey but I feel worth it when enjoyed as much as we did. Highly recommend if you're friendly. :-)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janrickstryker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food! ”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Our experience at moya was great. I had the salmon and it was perfect. My girlfriend had the cheese ravioli and she said it was delicious. I ate half of hers and it really was awesome. The drinks are super expensive but very good. Overall, it's more on the expensive side but worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Joenoll1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
159 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for a better dining experience while in Jim Thorpe”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

On our return trip to the beautiful Pocono Mountain city of Jim Thorpe during the fall leaves season we wanted a very special meal and chose to eat at Moya on Race Street. Our party of six made reservations for the Friday night meal of our weekend together. This was a wise choice as it was full for the evening. They bill themselves as "eclectic cuisine in a warm, relaxing atmosphere...on charming Race Street," which is all true! My meal, which was Ravioli stuffed with cheese and covered in a crab-based cream sauce. It was delightful. Another in our party had trout and enjoyed it very much. Two had Tuna, which was good, but they would have preferred it to be rare instead of medium rare as was recommended. The deserts were out of this world. The staff was exceptionally friendly. The atmosphere was just wonderful. Can you tell we enjoyed our time there very much?!?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WLifeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We dined here our first night in Jim Thorpe and it was an excellent experience. There was a party of six of us and I highly recommend reservations on the weekend. Take my advice and order an appetizer for yourself but............ Split the entree with your significant other, portions are large enough. Nice atmosphere, great service/advice and prices are relative to other restaurants of similar scale. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moya also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Moya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing