We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than I was expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Sydney International Airport
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wolli Creek
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were bumped off our United flight due to mechanical issues yesterday and spent the night at the Mercure Sydney Airport. It looks really dingy from the back, and the front is even worse at the moment (to be fair, they are actively landscaping and there are enormous earth movers out the front). Needless to say, when we arrived off the coach supplied by United we were not the happiest of campers. The lobby is clean if a little utilitarian.
The staff, however, are fantastic. They really went out of their way to make everything run as smoothly as possible, which was no mean feat considering they had a lot of cranky people to deal with and reassure. The rooms are clean and modern, and most importantly, very quiet. No aircraft noise at all despite close proximity to the airport. Wifi was included and seems fast. Buffet was good although overpriced for offerings at retail prices. The staff very kindly let my kids eat for free, which was nice, as $27.95 for a breakfast buffet for a kid would have been a bit absurd. The wait staff were all great and very helpful.
I would never have stayed here before based on the external appearance, but now will definitely consider. It is not as close to the international terminal as the new Rydges, but it is less than 5 min drive and they have a shuttle to take you across to the airport. So all in all, quite impressed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelswithkiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear travelswithkiddos,

Thank you for staying with us and writing such a lovely review.

It is great to hear that the team had looked after you given the unfortunate circumstance of a delayed flight. Please note that children under the age of 16 eat breakfast for free at Seasons Restaurant (per paying adult).

Please note that the development adjacent to the hotel is not related to the hotel. We have ensured that the development has been contained as to not disrupt the hotel and our guests.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you next time.


Warm regards,

Joleen R. Hurst
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,046)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Sydney International Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 2,047 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

Location near the airport is very good. Considering the price the room and service are okayish but not excellent. Good hotel for business trip or one night stay with family. Bar was efficient but atmosphere did not appeal to us (family).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_HoltSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Bas v,

Thank you for this positive review.

We do endeavour to accommodate for all demographics. Given you were travelling in a family unit, you may have enjoyed the playground or public tennis courts in Cahill Park adjacent to the hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to accommodating you in the near future.


Warm regards,
Richard Holt
General Manager
Richard.Holt@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I have stayed here a number of times and the experience improves each time. The hotel is convenient and the staff wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to travellers exiting and returning on trips. ,

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi Sue H,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to hear this positive feedback. I have shared this with the team to encourage this quality of customer service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you upon your next visit.

Warm regards,
Joleen R. Hurst
General MAnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Lincolnsaito
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard_HoltSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Dissapointment. Stayed there to enjoy a day with my wife in Sydney city the next day. What ended up happening is a blackout for 2 hours at 10pm, which upon power return 12pm caused a loud buzzing noise in our room. We then moved room after 25 min wait... To a room with no working air con... We tried to sleep but impossible. New room promised, 2am we give up and DRIVE HOME! Worst is the staff member said we may not get full refund because we stayed a few hours (can't be serious... A few hours all of which were in blackout and no air con etc)

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi Anthony Z,

Thank you for your review.

Please accept an apology for the unforeseen inconvenience of a blackout occurring. It is disheartening to hear that you had left the hotel due to this event.

Please feel free to contact my self on h5603-sl5@accor.com as I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this further.

Once again thank you for your review, and I look forward to hearing from you.


Warm regards,
Joleen R. Hurst
General MAnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I love this hotel. Stayed here the night before my flight back to LAX. The front desk was very helpful. We arrived early but the front desk clerk was kind enough to upgrade us and get us into a nice room right away. Very peaceful location. Close enough to some stores and the Wolli Creek train into Sydney.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaime000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_HoltSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear jaime000,

This is such a lovely review.
We are glad to have accommodated you and please do not wait too long until you visit us again.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.


Warm regards,
Richard Holt
General Manager
Richard.Holt@accor.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank wend0100
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Richard_HoltSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolli Creek
0.5 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel CKS Sydney Airport
1.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
1.8 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Pullman Sydney Airport
#2 of 11 in Mascot
536 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney International Airport

Address: 22 Levey St, Wolli Creek, Rockdale, New South Wales 2205, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Rockdale > Wolli Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wolli Creek
Price Range: $126 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney International Airport is conveniently located near both the international and domestic airport terminals, adjacent to the 18 hole Kogarah Golf Club and only 15 minutes from the city centre. Situated on the Cooks River and surrounded by parklands, the hotel features 271 modern accommodation rooms with no disturbance from plane take off or landing. Convenience is ensured with Wolli Creek train station a 5 minute walk away as well as a Bar and Restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sydney International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Airport Hotel Wolli Creek
Mercure Wolli Creek
Mercure Hotel Sydney Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing