We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Robert's Point of View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sydney International Airport
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wolli Creek
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Robert's Point of View”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I thought overall that the hotel and amenities were very good. The rooms are comfortable, clean and well maintained. The food choices were very good, although I did think that they were on the expensive side and for this reason I chose to eat outside of the hotel in the evenings. All in all though, I would . stay at the Mecure in the future and enjoyed my recent stay. I found the staff at all levels very good which in turn also makes the stay more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Rayre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Rayre 1,

Thank you very much for your recent review for Mercure Sydney International Airport. It is always exciting to see positive reviews for our staff and our hotel. The Bar, newly renovated and located next to the lobby, offers a range of food choices to tempt your tastebuds. A perfect alternative to Seasons Restaurant if you were after something lighter.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Mercure Sydney International Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    911
    414
    146
    70
See reviews for
357
786
287
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Rooms comfortable and clean. hot showers, comfortable beds, staff friendly and provided exccellent service - from reception, to restaurant, Confrence food and restaurant buffet lunch top quality, Restaurant not cheap for dinner but food 1st class. 5mins walk to Bus, 10min walk to train. Only downfall, lack of eating places within walking distance. Brighton Le Sands 5-10 mins in a taxi, buit that extra cost makes the meal a bit expensive. Shuttle bus to Airport only $6 each way and very regular - book your airport pickup prior. Airport noise not noticable. Overall, a very plesant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Perth_AustraliaKeith,

Thank you very much for the wonderful feedback you had provided for Mercure Sydney International Airport. At Mercure, we pride ourselves in providing the best service to all our guests from leisure to conferencing and I am pleased that you were able to experience this for yourself.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards,
Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Mercure Sydney International Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stay was OK but I wish that you could clearly detail the TOTAL cost of staying there. ie $20 for o'night parking, $6 per person on shuttle bus to airport, 1.5% surcharge on credit card.

We are simple country folks and I understand that , perhaps, all hotels in Sydney have these hidden costs. If we were prepared for these hidden costs, it would not have been such a surprise and it left a bad taste for us

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank robcollinsBathurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here recently for one night doing some work at Sydney airport. If you're after a hotel near the International terminal this is probably the best one. The room was clean and tidy, everything worked, the shower pumped out plenty of water.

Food was quite good at the bar. They do a bar menu that's not too overpriced. Not a huge selection at the bar but it was quick and a decent sized serve.

Check in and out was fast and they passed my iron test.... the room iron and ironing board was clean and of good quality. I was on the 3rd floor and didn't hear any aircraft noise. I noticed that the windows were double glazed so I guess that helped.

The bed was outstandingly comfortable and the pillow 'menu' was a nice touch (you can ring down for a special pillow, there are about 3 choices I think...the 'boomerang pillow' is great in bed with the I Pad!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaydnAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear HaydnAustralia,

Wow, what great feedback! We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Sydney International Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will be sure to share your comments with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level Contributor
173 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

some of the staff were warm and helpful while some were curt and disinterested. the rooms are clean and well appointed, but nothing special. the mirrors in the corridor are fun because you get to check yourself out all the way to the lift. the gym being outside the hotel is weird. and the airport shuttle is a paid service! so basically NOTHING is complimentary in this place! the best thing about the hotel is the lavish breakfast spread, but then again it's not included with the room, and pretty expensive! this place is a good option for when you need to get to the airport next morning and are not expecting to be left with a warm fuzzy feeling.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ananya_Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Ananya_Roy,

First of all thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback. It's great to hear that you found some staff to be warm and helpful, however disappointed that you didn't leave with a warm fuzzy feeling. We apologise for any inconvenience felt and hope you allow us another opportunity to show you the improvements that we have made.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Good place to stay before a flight. Nice hotel. Had the dinner buffet which we were not impressed with. Not a lot to choose from. Deserts were a selection of cakes. Not named. There was also a selection of cheeses and coffee and a couple of soft drinks were a ail available. Breakfast buffet was fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Shirley274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Shirley274,

First of all thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback. We have taken your feedback in regards to the dinner selection and will endeavour to improve our offering. We hope you allow us another opportunity to show you the improvements that we have made and look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessnock, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed at the Mercure for two nights, one before our trip and another at the end of the night arrival back in Australia. From Wolli Creek railway station it is a pleasant 800 metre walk alongside Cooks River, so leaving your car at home is a good idea.

The front doors of the International Terminal is a 1.1 km walk from the hotel and is just a 20 minute stroll towing a bag or two. The footpath goes down under the main road and is a much shorter route than the shuttle bus takes. So if you want to avoid the shuttle bus hassles, save a few dollars and get some exercise, walk to the terminal.

The hotel itself is clean and tidy, the rooms are well equipped and comfortable, but there is no free Wi-Fi, which is an ongoing issue for most of the large hotel chains.

We took advantage of a special room rate that was available when we booked and for the first of the two stays, we received a room upgrade which was very much appreciated.

Following some adverse reviews for the hotel dining room, we decided to walk the 200 metres down to the Rowing Club, and that was a good move.

With the new Rydges hotel at the airport, the Mercure might now have some more competition, but if you get a good rate, it is an airport hotel well worth considering.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank BrianWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear BrianWatts,

Thank you so much for taking the time in giving us your feedback. So glad to hear that you found the hotel be of convenience for your travel purposes. We look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolli Creek
0.5 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel CKS Sydney Airport
1.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
1.8 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney International Airport

Property: Mercure Sydney International Airport
Address: 22 Levey St, Wolli Creek, Rockdale, New South Wales 2205, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Rockdale > Wolli Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wolli Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney International Airport is conveniently located near both the international and domestic airport terminals, adjacent to the 18 hole Kogarah Golf Club and only 15 minutes from the city centre. Situated on the Cooks River and surrounded by parklands, the hotel features 271 modern accommodation rooms with no disturbance from plane take off or landing. Convenience is ensured with Wolli Creek train station a 5 minute walk away as well as a Bar and Restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Sydney International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Airport Hotel Wolli Creek
Mercure Wolli Creek
Mercure Hotel Sydney Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing