We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location to International Terminal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Sydney International Airport
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wolli Creek
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location to International Terminal”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Although there is not much around this hotel location that you can walk to, the location is perfect if you have an early morning departure from Sydney's international terminal. I have stayed before at other hotels at the domestic terminal side and in taking the shuttle to the international terminal in the morning, have been caught in some very heavy morning peak hour traffic that caused some worry about making it to my flight on time. Staying at the Mercure is much closer and even though there is a small portion of the run in traffic, your trip will be much quicker and less stressful. The hotel is very comfortable and well kept. I have stayed here before and will stay again and recommend to anyone needing a place to stay before an international departure to consider staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mik2mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear CanadaMike,

Thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback. As you have mentioned, Mercure Sydney Airport is conveniently located close to the International terminal and we are pleased to hear that this released your stress in getting to the airport early. We look forward to warmly welcome you back into the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    917
    415
    147
    74
See reviews for
361
788
290
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NewcastleAus
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed here before leaving on a 9am international flight. The hotel was undergoing massive renovations and the lobby was virtually non-existent. We paid for the airport shuttle and then spent 35 minutes waiting to check out and nearly missed it. The room was quiet and comfortable and the hotel was in a good location close to the airport. We walked to the hotel from Wolli Creek station - it was an easy walk even though we had two large rolling cases and the train fare was cheap, unlike the airport line. The entrance to the hotel was quite difficult to find. We had dinner at the St Georges Rowing Club over the road which was excellent and good value for money. I felt the hotel was extremely overpriced especially given the chaos surrounding the renovations and next time I would probably try another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear shellsb,

Thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback and for your patience as we go through this exciting period of transformation. We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel to be convenient and rooms comfortable. We hope you allow us another opportunity to show you the improvements that we have made and to showcase a refreshed Mercure Sydney Airport.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked and paid for the (international) airport shuttle, and reception told us to wait in the lobby, as the driver would come in and announce its arrival. Didn't happen - it came and went without any announcement. The only people that got on were the clever ones waiting outside (who had probably learned the hard way themselves).
To add insult to injury, when I compalined at the front desk, I was met with a shrug, and nothing else. Not good enough, Mercure

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kaye623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Accorhotels.com traveller,

Thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback. It is unusual for the shuttle bus drivers to not come in and announce themselves, hence please kindly rest assured that we have forwarded your comment to the shuttle bus company to ensure that this does not happen again. We apologise for any inconvenience felt and we hope you allow us another opportunity to show you the improvements that we have made.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our last night in Sydney for convenience to the international terminal.
It was ok. The transfer was in a very smokey smelling transit van.
We fancied a snack however the bar/restaurant was empty and the food was being cleared away so we decided to venture out however nothing in the vicinity without walking back to the airport
Nothing wrong with the room but will try the new Rydges Airport hotel opposite the international terminal for our next stay

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Geraldine123,

First of all thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback. It is such a disappointment for us to hear that you weren't able to try the Modern Australian cuisine that the hotel has to offer. We hope you allow us another opportunity to try more of our service offerings and we look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Having stayed at the property numerous times before because of its convenience and room size, we were absolutely blown away by the quality and style of the recent renovations! The room was excellent and very cleverly re-arranged so as to make it look larger than before. The food at the main dining area was very good. Frankly, we couldn't fault the place for value and location. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank qmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear qmunro,

Thank you very much for taking the time in giving us your feedback. We look forward to warmly welcome you back on your next stay at Mercure Sydney Airport.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We finished our 16 day trip to Australia here so we could catch our 10 am international departure without issues. they have a stay plus breakfast. the breakfast was adequate. the lobby was being renovated. the rooms were very nice. We like very nice places to stay but save money where we can. You can walk to the international terminal from the Mercure (we always travel all carry on) and we dropped our car off at Avis and walked to the Hotel. A very nice woman showed us how. Head toward the Marsh St. bridge and look underneath. There is a walking ramp that will take you up to the north side of the bridge and a sidewalk on the bridge. When we went back to the international terminal the next day we took the same path and were at the terminal in 15 minutes. if you have a lot of luggage this isnt a good idea. If you don't have much luggage this will save you $6 AUD one way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tugokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear tugokc,

It's so great to hear that we were able to accommodate you post your 16 days Australia Trip. We thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback and we look forward to warmly welcome you back into the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Nice hotel. Location is next to airport, yet the distance to the airport from Sydney is just not that far. So for the price you pay you might as well choose a hotel in Sydney. So not much value for money.

There is a train though, which is walking distance from the hotel, and that takes you for about 5 dollars return to the city which is only a 15 minute ride, would avoid taking taxis as they are ridiculously expensive.

Nothing wrong with hotel itself, rooms are clean and nice. Staff really friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michiel_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Michiel_PR,

Thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback. As you mentioned, our hotel is conveniently located close to Sydney International Airport giving it easy access for those travelling. It's great to hear that you found staff to be friendly and rooms nice and clean. We look forward to warmly welcome you back into the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolli Creek
0.5 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel CKS Sydney Airport
1.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
1.8 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Pullman Sydney Airport
#2 of 10 in Mascot
513 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney International Airport

Property: Mercure Sydney International Airport
Address: 22 Levey St, Wolli Creek, Rockdale, New South Wales 2205, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Rockdale > Wolli Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wolli Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney International Airport is conveniently located near both the international and domestic airport terminals, adjacent to the 18 hole Kogarah Golf Club and only 15 minutes from the city centre. Situated on the Cooks River and surrounded by parklands, the hotel features 271 modern accommodation rooms with no disturbance from plane take off or landing. Convenience is ensured with Wolli Creek train station a 5 minute walk away as well as a Bar and Restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Sydney International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Airport Hotel Wolli Creek
Mercure Wolli Creek
Mercure Hotel Sydney Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing