We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near the airport and train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Sydney International Airport
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wolli Creek
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel near the airport and train station”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in this hotel on our last two days in the Sydney area. It is clean and the rooms are well kept. It isn't near any of the Sydney attaractions but it is within a 10 minute walk to the train station (subway) that can take you straight in to downtown Sydney (e.g. Circular Quay or the Australian Museum).

It is also close to the airport so it is convenient to stay here on your last day in the Sydney area.

Room Tip: It is a 10-15 minute walk across a quiet park to get to the train station (just be aware to give you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stargazer_edm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear stargazer_edm,

Thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback. We look forward to warmly welcome you back into the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    910
    414
    146
    70
See reviews for
355
785
287
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in preparation for an early departure. Although parts were undergoing renovations it was surprisingly good. Rooms were modern and clean, food well presented and service was upbeat .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orgdevsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Orgdevsa,

Thank your for your time and feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed at the Mercure for a brief 9 hour stay before a very early morning flight out of Sydney. We found a very attractive rate that made the cost of the night's accommodation not much more than what an early morning taxi fare from our home to the airport would have been.

We arrived at about 6pm on a Wednesday night and there were 2 receptionists on duty with a small queue of 3 people before us, but an aircrew that had arrived on the same shuttle bus as us was given priority for checkin and unfortunately, their checkin was not quick at all, so we waited approximately 10-15 minutes before we were checked in.
The last time I had stayed at this hotel it was still a Hilton, so that was many years ago. The lobby and lift area is quite bright and welcoming, and the floors have definitely been modernised. We were pleased with our room and as we were only there for a few hours, it had everything we would require during that time - the bathroom was quite large and a good selection of toiletries was provided. The beds were comfortable and the hotel was peaceful - there really isn't much more that you would need on a short stay - we did not use any of the food and beverage services but the lobby buffet restaurant did look good.

At checkin, they offered to prebook a taxi for our 3.15am checkout and this was ready and waiting when we came downstairs. All in all, I can recommend this hotel, but I certainly wouldn't want to be paying too much for it - shop around for a good rate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steege51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Steege51,

Thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the short stay with us, however we hope you are able to stay longer on your next stay and enjoy the facilities that we have to offer such as the restaurant and bar. Nevertheless, we are pleased that we were able to accommodate you comfortably and we look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed 1 night at the Mercure for an early departure flight. Great service at checkin and comfortable room overlooking Sydney airport where you can watch aircraft coming and going. I caught the train from Central to Wolli Creek station( much cheaper than going to the Airport station) and it's about a 7 to 10 minute walk to the hotel.A shuttle to International terminal in the morning was $6. A great hotel handy to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Bruce S,

First of all thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the airport view and we look forward to warmly welcome you back into the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here a few times prior to departing Australia via the International Terminal. It meets all our needs in this regard. I doubt if this would be a hotel of choice if you were visiting Sydney for any length of time, it's an "airport hotel" and doesn't claim to be anything else. We have now eaten at the restaurant twice and found it (somewhat to our surprise) excellent in all regards. There are currently extensive refurbishments underway but this didn't cause us any inconvenience and I guess partly because of this we got an very good rate on advance purchase on the hotel website. I suspect my rating would have been very good had the refurbishments been complete.

Room Tip: All double glazed and air conditioned - maybe avoid anything over the entry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKSWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear GKSWanderlust,

Thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback and also your understanding as we go through some refurbishments in the hotel. We are very excited to unveil the final outcome in 2013 and we look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Excellent location for the airport. Some renovation work going on at the lobby but no noise at all in room. Staff very helpful. Room looked brand new. Very comfy bed. Food fine. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRHSydney, General Manager at Mercure Sydney International Airport, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Ratabroad,

We would like to thank you for taking the time in giving us your feedback and also for your understanding as we go through refurbishments. We are pleased to hear that you found staff to be helpful and we look forward to welcoming you back into the hotel.

Kind regards,

Joleen Hurst
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolli Creek
0.5 mi away
Rydges Sydney Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel CKS Sydney Airport
1.7 mi away
Stamford Plaza Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sydney Airport
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Sydney Airport
1.8 mi away
Pullman Sydney Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Sydney International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Sydney International Airport

Property: Mercure Sydney International Airport
Address: 22 Levey St, Wolli Creek, Rockdale, New South Wales 2205, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Rockdale > Wolli Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wolli Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Sydney International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Sydney International Airport is conveniently located near both the international and domestic airport terminals, adjacent to the 18 hole Kogarah Golf Club and only 15 minutes from the city centre. Situated on the Cooks River and surrounded by parklands, the hotel features 271 modern accommodation rooms with no disturbance from plane take off or landing. Convenience is ensured with Wolli Creek train station a 5 minute walk away as well as a Bar and Restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Sydney International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Sydney Airport Hotel Wolli Creek
Mercure Wolli Creek
Mercure Hotel Sydney Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing