We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolgoolga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solitary Islands Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Woolgoolga B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here for just one night in December and was so pleasantly surprised it was a shame we could only stay one night.

Denise was a wonderful host and her information prior to arrival and upon arrival was of great help.

The house is lovely....spotless and very spacious rooms, parking available at the house and on the street.....lovely water views.
Lovely and quiet little area. Lovely walk down to the beach and restaurants.
The breakfast was wonderful and most importantly from local businesses/growers.

Cant wait to return and stay longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Solitary Islands Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 47 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

This totally lived up to our expectations after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. The house is on a hill and so close to the sea, with wonderful views from all rooms. The noise of the waves helped me to have a great night's sleep too! Denise welcomed us when we arrived and showed us round. I did express some disappointment that our room did not have a balcony, but Denise explained that as we preferred twin beds the top room was the biggest. She was right, and the views were so great we felt we did have a perfect room. The room was fitted with a fan too, plus all the windows opened (with fly screens of course) so we were never too hot. We had everything we needed, including a lovely continental breakfast each morning, and also 2 bottles of wine!Denise even washed a couple of tops for me. John was extremely friendly too, and helped us with planning the next part of our journey. All in all, a fab place to stay.

Room Tip: The top room does not have a balcony, but if you prefer twin beds it's the largest.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanview435, Owner at Solitary Islands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such helpful information and letting us know well in advance that you required split beds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This B&B is a hidden gem in the small beachside town of Woolgoolga. We stayed one night in a beautifully appointed double room with en-suite and a deck with sweeping ocean views. All the furniture, fittings and bedding was of a very high standard. The house has an excellent location with sweeping views and a short distance into the town centre. A delicious continental breakfast was provided in our room, plus some wine for dinner! This B&B was at the higher end of what we pay but the quality of the accommodation and the sweeping views were worth the cost. Denise was friendly and helpful. We had a lovely time and would be very pleased to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithandHelenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanview435, Owner at Solitary Islands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

So glad you found our little 'gem' and thank you for taking the time to post a review - look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a lovely overnight stay - Denise went out of her way to make us comfortable and get us oriented for the evening! It was calm, spacious and so comfortable! We'll definitely return on our next trip up north!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanview435, Owner at Solitary Islands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

So glad you discovered Woolgoolga as you explore your new homeland - good luck! Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

In the words of Tina Turner, this B&B is Simply the Best, corny but true. It is so welcoming, clean, friendly and well situated, I genuinely cannot fault it. This small B&B,3 double rooms only, is a little gem and I highly recommend it. We stayed here on our way up to Noosa Heads and were not disappointed, immediately greeted with a warm welcome and a well stocked goodie cupboard.

Room Tip: all rooms excellent
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darleneb251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanview435, Owner at Solitary Islands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Your review was amazing thank you. How lucky are you to have such great Aussie friends to show you around our beautiful country. I am so pleased they brought you to 'our little piece of paradise' and look forward to a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a lovely B & B, we stayed in the room at the top with wide ocean views to the north. Denise was extremely helpful and works hard at all the little extras. The bed was comfortable and the room is a good size. We spent some time at the lookout at Woolgoolga watching whales crashing around in the sea.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Maxmarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanview435, Owner at Solitary Islands Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Solitary Islands Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed for 3 days to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Denise and John are the perfect hosts. They always endeavour to make you feel welcome and looked after. On arrival we were offered champagne, and on the night of our anniversary, a special bottle of red from a local winery. The rooms are luxurious and all the ingredients of the continental breakfast are organic and locally sourced; bread, jams, muesli, yoghurt. One morning we took advantage of the offer of a voucher to enjoy breakfast at any of the cafes in Woolgoolga. What a brilliant idea!
We had the top room with a fan, no deck but amazing views. Since we were the only residents, Denise offered us the use of the deck of another bedroom that evening and for our breakfast the next morning. That's going the extra mile!

Room Tip: We had the top room with a fan, no balcony but amazing views. The other 2 rooms have lovely decks.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolgoolga
0.3 mi away
Woolgoolga Beach Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Beach Motel Woolgoolga
Beach Motel Woolgoolga
#1 of 2 in Woolgoolga
40 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rosebourne Gardens Motel
Rosebourne Gardens Motel
#1 of 5 in Woolgoolga
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Royal Palms Motor Inn
Royal Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
583 reviews
1.0 mi away
Woolgoolga Motor Inn
Woolgoolga Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Woolgoolga
13 reviews
11.8 mi away
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
BreakFree Aanuka Beach Resort
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solitary Islands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solitary Islands Lodge

Address: 3 Arthur St, Woolgoolga, New South Wales 2456, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Woolgoolga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Woolgoolga
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayside, ocean and mountain views make Solitary Islands Lodge unique accommodation. Each room has ocean views and en-suites. A continental breakfast is provided in the rooms to have at your leisure while enjoying views of the Pacific Ocean. Just a short walk to the beach and restaurants. Woolgoolga is a seaside village located halfway between Sydney and Brisbane making it the perfect stopover. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing