We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best B&B I have ever stayed in” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solitary Islands Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woolgoolga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solitary Islands Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Woolgoolga B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best B&B I have ever stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

In the words of Tina Turner, this B&B is Simply the Best, corny but true. It is so welcoming, clean, friendly and well situated, I genuinely cannot fault it. This small B&B,3 double rooms only, is a little gem and I highly recommend it. We stayed here on our way up to Noosa Heads and were not disappointed, immediately greeted with a warm welcome and a well stocked goodie cupboard.

Room Tip: all rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darleneb251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanview435, Owner at Solitary Islands Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Your review was amazing thank you. How lucky are you to have such great Aussie friends to show you around our beautiful country. I am so pleased they brought you to 'our little piece of paradise' and look forward to a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
34
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a lovely B & B, we stayed in the room at the top with wide ocean views to the north. Denise was extremely helpful and works hard at all the little extras. The bed was comfortable and the room is a good size. We spent some time at the lookout at Woolgoolga watching whales crashing around in the sea.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxmarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanview435, Owner at Solitary Islands Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Solitary Islands Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Qld Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed for 3 days to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Denise and John are the perfect hosts. They always endeavour to make you feel welcome and looked after. On arrival we were offered champagne, and on the night of our anniversary, a special bottle of red from a local winery. The rooms are luxurious and all the ingredients of the continental breakfast are organic and locally sourced; bread, jams, muesli, yoghurt. One morning we took advantage of the offer of a voucher to enjoy breakfast at any of the cafes in Woolgoolga. What a brilliant idea!
We had the top room with a fan, no deck but amazing views. Since we were the only residents, Denise offered us the use of the deck of another bedroom that evening and for our breakfast the next morning. That's going the extra mile!

Room Tip: We had the top room with a fan, no balcony but amazing views. The other 2 rooms have lovely decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Solitary Islands Lodge at the end of a 3 week driving holiday and didn't want to leave. We stayed in the East Solitary room which has a beautiful deck overlooking the beach and ocean. Because the weather was perfect during our stay, we had breakfast each morning on the deck, as well as sitting out there watching the beautiful sunsets. Our room was a very good size with an excellent en suite bathroom. The whole house is beautifully decorated and maintained. Denise was an excellent B&B hostess. She provided an abundance of supplies for continental breakfasts in our room. Woolgoolga is a quieter seaside town just north of Coffs Harbour, and we used Solitary Islands Lodge as a perfect base to explore the Yuraygir National Park to the north and the Coffs Harbour area to the south during our stay. We couldn't fault Solitary Islands Lodge. Good value, too. It is one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in and we'd go back in a flash.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanview435, Owner at Solitary Islands Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are still having the fabulous weather you experienced. Look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Everything that all the other reviews say are true!! Thank you Denise and John for a fabulous stay.
Everything perfect and the hosts can't do enough for you! Ask and you will receive. If ever in this area you must stay here

Room Tip: Ask for the green room with the balcony! Fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigbernCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Brilliant. Great hosts in a quiet and comfortable B&B close to town. Easy walking distance to the beach and restaurants. Gorgeous views. Sleep with the sound of the waves on the beach and the sigh of the wind in the trees. Highly recommended should you want to find a well hidden retreat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed just one night here - wish I could have stayed longer.

Very impressed by the friendly service and a spotless, well appointed room.

Only a short stroll down to local eateries and the RSL. The beach is also very close.

The room came with two bottles of complimentray wine. Red, white and tasty.

Staying at smaller, owner run places such as this really shows up the failings of chain hotels - this is the way to go.

Thanks!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanview435, Owner at Solitary Islands Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolgoolga
11.1 mi away
Smugglers on the Beach
Smugglers on the Beach
#2 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
13.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
Comfort Inn Big Windmill
#8 of 40 in Coffs Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Motel Woolgoolga
Beach Motel Woolgoolga
#2 of 2 in Woolgoolga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rosebourne Gardens Motel
Rosebourne Gardens Motel
#1 of 5 in Woolgoolga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Woolgoolga Motor Inn
Woolgoolga Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Woolgoolga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woolgoolga Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solitary Islands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solitary Islands Lodge

Property: Solitary Islands Lodge
Address: 3 Arthur St, Woolgoolga, New South Wales 2456, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Woolgoolga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Woolgoolga
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayside, ocean and mountain views make Solitary Islands Lodge unique accommodation. Each room has ocean views and en-suites. A continental breakfast is provided in the rooms to have at your leisure while enjoying views of the Pacific Ocean. Just a short walk to the beach and restaurants. Woolgoolga is a seaside village located halfway between Sydney and Brisbane making it the perfect stopover. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing