We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ngurra Bu

Ngurra Bu
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Wollombi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join our experienced Aboriginal guides as they share with you their knowledge of the culturally significant sites of Hunter Wine Country & the diverse uses of the surrounding bushland. The Wollombi and Broke Valleys are home to numerous Ceremony and Lore sites. Our tours follow the Traditional Ceremonial journey to share the stories including why Mt Yengo is as significant to NSW Aboriginal people as Uluru is to the Central Desert people.We endeavor to empower & connect any of our tour visitors to knowledge, understanding & the spirit which is within us all so you can walk away with a true feeling of enlightenment & awareness.Our tours are currently available to book on weekends but if you have a group interested in a mid week tour please contact us.Ngurra Bu, meaning 'little lore camp' is a not for profit organisation whose mission is to teach and share Aboriginal culture to ensure that it continues to be the oldest living culture on earth.
Gosford, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We were most impressed by the information we were given and the sites we were shown. As experienced bushwalkers, we have only ever heard second hand interpretations of aboriginal rock carvings.Adam was very generous with sharing his knowledge.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    0
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We learnt so much about aboriginal history and spirituality. It was wonderful to get a better understanding of the rock carvings and plants. Adam was so very generous with sharing his knowledge and is an incredibly humble and spiritual man who effortlessly made a connection with us. We were all inspired and yet grounded by the experience. Our only disappointment was not to meet Jocelyn too - next time!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 484JudeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful information is freely shared with passion, we enjoyed the morning tour with Adam and Jocelyn, and will be returning for the afternoon session. This is a wonderful cultural experience that is priceless.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Most Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Me and my Mum booked a full day tour on the 8/Jan/2014 it was the most humble and earthing experience not only learning about spiritual meanings, bush medicines but getting back to your own spirit and grounding, to acknowledge what you take from the land, to share with others.The pain of seeing the map paintings at Finchley Look being destroyed was hard to see Jocelyn and Adam are Amazing people that want to share their knowledge to everybody that wants to learn and listen.....I Urge people to Listen and Learn along the way...Thank you so much Jocelyn and Adam

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Da_Dutchy_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollombi, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“highly recommend this aboriginal cultural experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

My grand daughter and I learnt to understand the stories and pointers and spiritual meanings of rock carvings and cave paintings. The importance of Wollombi Aboriginal song trails, camp sites, traditional lore, spiritual significance, bush tucker and medicine were passed onto us freely. Thanks Jocelyn for this wonderful experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngurra Bu also viewed

 

Been to Ngurra Bu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing