We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
247
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
247
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail allawah retreat chocolate fondue breakfast hamper hunter valley cheese platter bbq pack wedding anniversary rose petals bird seed australian bush the kitchen peaceful surroundings soft music playing get away memorable stay add ons
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 247 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2017

Somewhere Unique is the best eco retreat I've yet encountered - beautiful bush setting, with villas that perfectly in the landscape on a hillside dotted by native trees and boulders. The feeling of welcome and relaxation began the moment I arrived.
How rare to combine all this with the sheer luxury of the interior! The villas are light and spacious and made for relaxation. Hosts Murray and David think of everything, from the provision of books and DVDs to the excellent breakfast pack to the thoughtfully-appointed bathroom and outdoor spaces.
It's very private, a perfect place for a getaway, with secluded walks so that you can make the most of the rural environment. And then explore delightful Wollombi village and the surrounding wineries - all the information you need is provided in your room.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray G, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Thank you Alex M. for your generous review.

We are keen for our guests to enjoy an authentic rustic rural experience, but also to be able to relax in sumptuous accommodation. Consequently, our luxurious retreats are set in natural native bushland in private seclusion.

We are so pleased you have the opportunity to experience 'Somewhere Unique'.

Kind regards

Murray & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

We have recently returned from our second stay at Somewhere Unique. This time we stayed in Allawah and, once again, we were absolutely delighted with the attention to detail that makes it a perfect place for a relaxing break.
The music was playing when we arrived and the fridge was full of delicious food and lovely wine. The kitchen is extremely well stocked with all the essentials as well as thoughtful extras such as herbs and spices etc. There is an excellent range of dvds and reading material but we spent most of our time relaxing on the verandah watching the bird life or enjoying the fabulous tub in the bathroom.
We didn’t use the bikes, instead opting to go for a walk into the village for coffee and cake. It’s an easy 30 minute stroll. There are a range of restaurants and cafes nearby but we preferred to cater for ourselves using the BBQ.
This really is a very special place and we hope to return again for a third time someday!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Andona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray G, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2017

Thank you, Andona, for your generous review.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all that 'Somewhere Unique' has to offer.

Once again, we are grateful for your support and we look forward to your third stay.

Kind regards

Murray & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Somewhere Unique for a wedding we were attending at Wollombi.

We arrived on Saturday to discover that our villa (Lowanna) was totally delightful. The villa was quite large with a super comfy lounge, big telly, foxtel, gas fire, great magazines, DVDs and a box of Belgian chocolates. The adjoining kitchen included a dishwasher, filtered water, a coffee machine and a fully stocked cupboard of wine glasses and kitchen implements so we could cook if we wanted. Also included was a gorgeous breakfast hamper with delicious yoghurt, eggs, bread, cereals and muesli.

The bedroom again was quite large with a super comfy king-sized bed and plenty of wardrobe space. Also included were bathrobes and slippers.

The bathroom was amazingly large with a rainfall showerhead and a deep soak bathtub. The bathroom was also stocked with lovely candles, an oil burner and creams. Sheridan towels completed the bathroom's luxurious vibe.

All rooms included massive windows with great bush views. Outside there are two sunbeds for a relaxing nap in the sun.

We were also lucky enough to receive a visit from two of the dogs that live on the property.

If you are feeling energetic, there are two mountain bikes and helmets outside.

The local township of Wollombi with a pub and a general store is about a 10 minute drive away.

Somewhere Unique was a tranquil and relaxing stay which I thoroughly recommend for a romantic escape or to recharge your batteries.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank JAEuropa2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray G, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Thank you JAEuropa2017 for your comprehensively positive review. We are so pleased that you and your partner enjoyed your stay so much.

Our goal is to provide the highest quality romantic and luxurious accommodation for a memorable and enjoyable stay.

We hope you will return and enjoy again all that we have to offer.

Thank you again.

Murray & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

It was absolutely amazing, my partner and I had a beautiful time relaxing by the trees. I will be back again and i think we have found our favourite country side escape. Thanks you for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DylanN221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray G, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Hi Dylan N.

We thank you for your review. We are thrilled you loved 'Somewhere Unique' and that it is to become your favourite countryside escape. We will always be keen to welcome you back!

Thanks again.

Murray & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

WOW !!!!
Upon arrival it was obvious that this was going to be a weekend to remember.
Absolutely everything you could ask for was already thought of and taken care of.
The property itself is so private and the view from the bath is so peaceful.
We spent the majority of our time sitting on the deck, listening to music and just taking in the atmosphere.
Something Unique is the ultimate place to just escape everything and relax.
Can I also just say how amazing the food is that Murray and David provide in their packages. We have never had produce that has been as fresh and yummo as what you guys provide. My partner still talks about the steak and how great it was!!
Seriously, if you are after somewhere to recharge the batteries, then look no further. We absolutely loved our time at Somewhere Unique and can definitely say that we will be back.
Thank you Murray and David for providing this amazing retreat. You are both doing an absolutely fantastic job!!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray G, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Thank you Kylie P. for such a complimentary review.

We are very proud of what we offer at 'Somewhere Unique', and your feedback vindicates our pride. We focus on luxury and romance for each of our guests, in a relaxed and authentic natural environment.

Thank you so much for staying with us, and we look forward to making you very welcome again on your next stay.

Kind regards

Murray and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews