We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Somewhere Unique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Somewhere Unique
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed getting out of the city and enjoying some peace and quiet in the beautiful Australian bush. 'Somewhere Unique' has it all! You will leave feeling refreshed and renewed. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Bring your own groceries as the Wollemi shops have limited supplies (and they're expensive).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison6177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Alison6177

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. It is great to hear you enjoyed our little piece of paradise here in the Australian bush. The peace and quiet is what most of our guests are looking for, yet you can still walk or ride the bikes into the Wollombi village, just 2kms away.

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 225 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a fabulous 2 nights in this special place. Every detail here has been thought through and the facilities are truly luxurious (AMAZING bath!). It is very private and secluded, very peaceful! What's great about staying here is that you can organise the BBQ packs and the breakfast hamper (which is included) and this allows you to sit back and relax and not worry about leaving. You can just enjoy your time there looking out onto the stunning views! We took advantage of riding the bikes to Wollombi Wines where we enjoyed the lunch platter - which was great value for money! We also enjoyed an amazing lunch at Margan's in Broke. I love how the place is eco friendly, this was a massive plus for me. The breakfast hamper was very generous, it had my favourite museli! We have already told so many people about how perfect our getaway was, we will return!

Room Tip: We stayed at Lowanna and would stay there again if we returned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear lubelle85

Thank you so much for your very positive review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing stay in our beautiful part of Hunter Valley Wine Country. With the closest vineyard at the end of our street, you don't have to wander far! Wollombi Wines is a lovely spot, and I'm glad you enjoyed your picnic lunch there.

The BBQ packs and cheese platters are very popular with our guests, as are our favourite restaurants, such as the award-winning Margan Restaurant in Broke.

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Could not have asked for anything more from this property. The layout was great, furnishings impeccable, all the small things you would hope for were there! Mel and Grant take a lot of care in ensuring you have an amazing time! Note: Make sure you read their email carefully and I would suggest going before dusk. It can be a little bit hard to find (done to ensure your privacy).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Pichantravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Pichantravel

Thank you so much for your wonderful review - it is very rewarding to hear that you couldn't have wanted for anything more.

As you mention, to ensure the privacy of our guests we don't have a large business name sign at the end of our driveway. We provide detailed driving directions once a reservation has been made, with a map to the property. Our street number sign is very large and lit at night so if you know what to look out for there shouldn't be any problems. We are only a phone call away if for any reason you have problems with directions.

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our Second stay at Somewhere Unique, and it didn't disappoint. Melanie & Grant know hospitality better than anywhere in the world. The finer details are covered and you can be assured of a relaxing and quality getaway that feels like you are in your own holiday home. I always know I am in for a fantastic holiday when i stay "Somewhere Unique"

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradMc81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear BradMc81

Thank you so much for your amazing review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your second visit and that you felt so at home in our retreats.

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed 2 days during a wintery week in June...yet Somewhere Unique was a haven from the rain and cold. This accommodation really sets the standard high - and shows how it should be done. The owners have left nothing to chance and the attention to detail was exceptional. The owners deserve all the tourism awards they have received and more! An exemplar!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear junetravellers

Thank you so much for your positive review - 'absolutely perfect' is absolutely wonderful to hear! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay even though the weather wasn't great, and that you appreciated our attention to detail.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is the type of place where you want to tell everyone about, but at the same time you don't because it'll make it harder to find a time to book in next time. It is that good.

I booked this accommodation as a surprise for my wife and we were blown away by this place. From the time we opened the door with the music playing in the background and the nice smells in the air. The owners have thought of every little thing. When we stay at other accommodation we generally find stuff about the place that we don't like, but this place, not one thing has been overlooked. The items in the place are all good quality, and the food supplied is just excellent. We now can't wait to book in again for longer next time.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Chris

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. It is great to hear that we supplied everything to create such a memorable experience for you both.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon, for a longer visit next time!

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary and it was the perfect place for it. Everything was great! The bed was comfortable, the bath huge, the views, not mention the music playing when we arrived, rose petals, the great dinner pack, chocolates, breakfast hamper, wine etc the list goes on. (Still wearing the slippers) Not one little thing had been forgotten, the candles, the music, the movies. We live locally and would certainly return it is paradise, the perfect getaway. You can do as little or as much as you like. We will definitley recommend this to all. Thank you Melanie and Grant we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Lynne

Thank you for your very positive review - wonderful to hear that your 20th Wedding Anniversary was so memorable. I'm glad you enjoyed all the little extras - we try and provide our guests with quality inclusions, such as free range eggs and locally smoked bacon in the breakfast hamper, to hand-made olive oil soap and locally made lavender toiletries. We also offer compostable bamboo slippers, which you are more than welcome to take home after your visit!

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
17.8 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
886 reviews
16.8 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
8.4 mi away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Blair Athol Estate Wollombi
1.6 mi away
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
Guesthouse Mulla Villa
#1 of 3 in Wollombi
58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Capers Guest House
Capers Guest House
#2 of 3 in Wollombi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somewhere Unique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somewhere Unique

Address: Narone Creek Rd, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Wollombi
Price Range: $215 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Somewhere Unique 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'Somewhere Unique' is located near the historic village of Wollombi near the Hunter Valley vineyards and two hours drive from the Sydney CBD. Two completely private couples-only retreats combine a tranquil romantic setting with luxurious comfort and attention to detail. The retreats are eco-certified and feature a king-sized bed, two person bath, rain shower, bathrobes, gas log fireplace, air-conditioning, Foxtel, stereo with iPod dock, Wi-Fi, modern kitchen, Weber BBQ, private deck with lounges and views, and two bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Somewhere Unique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somewhere Unique Wollombi, Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing