We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
245
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
245
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attention to detail allawah retreat chocolate fondue breakfast hamper hunter valley cheese platter bbq pack wedding anniversary rose petals bird seed australian bush the kitchen peaceful surroundings soft music playing get away memorable stay meals provided
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 245 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is the type of place where you want to tell everyone about, but at the same time you don't because it'll make it harder to find a time to book in next time. It is that good.

I booked this accommodation as a surprise for my wife and we were blown away by this place. From the time we opened the door with the music playing in the background and the nice smells in the air. The owners have thought of every little thing. When we stay at other accommodation we generally find stuff about the place that we don't like, but this place, not one thing has been overlooked. The items in the place are all good quality, and the food supplied is just excellent. We now can't wait to book in again for longer next time.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Chris

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. It is great to hear that we supplied everything to create such a memorable experience for you both.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon, for a longer visit next time!

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary and it was the perfect place for it. Everything was great! The bed was comfortable, the bath huge, the views, not mention the music playing when we arrived, rose petals, the great dinner pack, chocolates, breakfast hamper, wine etc the list goes on. (Still wearing the slippers) Not one little thing had been forgotten, the candles, the music, the movies. We live locally and would certainly return it is paradise, the perfect getaway. You can do as little or as much as you like. We will definitley recommend this to all. Thank you Melanie and Grant we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Lynne

Thank you for your very positive review - wonderful to hear that your 20th Wedding Anniversary was so memorable. I'm glad you enjoyed all the little extras - we try and provide our guests with quality inclusions, such as free range eggs and locally smoked bacon in the breakfast hamper, to hand-made olive oil soap and locally made lavender toiletries. We also offer compostable bamboo slippers, which you are more than welcome to take home after your visit!

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights recently and loved every second of it. There has been nothing missed and the attention to detail is outstanding. From the moment you arrive it is perfect, the candles burning, the music in the background, the aroma of burning oil, the chocolates, the wine....... the list goes on. The retreat itself is absolutely beautiful and clean. Nothing is missed. You book, arrive and enjoy. Everything is taken care of for you. The breakfast hamper is enormous and will definitely last a couple of mornings. the bbq hamper was divine as was the wine. Everything is as you see it on the website, which doesn't happen often but I can say with somewhere unique what you see is exactly what you get and more. We stayed in the Lowanna retreat and it was beautiful. The bathroom is amazing and the bath, well what more can I say. The mornings are beautiful as you open the blinds and look out the window/door to the beautiful scenery while you lie in bed. We booked in house massage during our stay which is an absolute must and also visited the surrounding wineries, the local pub and cafes. We will definitely be back and would 100% recommend this place to our family and friends and even strangers. if you are reading this review pondering over making a booking, my advice to you is make the booking and do it now before you miss out!!!! I could go on and on about this place. make the booking and you too will have the experience we did. The only bad thing was that we had to leave and come back to reality. It truly is paradise. We were "wowed" the entire time and are planning again for another trip back. It is definitely value for money and the complimentary additions are certainly an added bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cars255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Member

I cannot thank you enough for your fabulous review! Sounds like you both had a wonderful stay. It is great to hear that you felt "everything is as you see it on the website", as we aim to show our guests what anyone could experience at our property.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband & I recently stayed here for our wedding anniversary. It was one of the best experiences we have ever had. It was beyond perfect & we cannot fault it one bit. Everything was spot on & amazing. The retreat itself was beautiful, the bed was SO comfy & the bath was amazing. We did not need to stress about anything. Everything was provided for us, from wine to choc's, from brekkie to dinner, to a very relaxing massage. It was great value for money. We cannot wait to go back........
Thank you for a truely relaxing & beautiful stay in wonderful Wollombi.....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebsH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear debsh1

Thank you for your terrific review. To hear that you couldn't fault your stay with us is wonderful! We aim to provide everything our guests need for a romantic, relaxing experience and it sounds as though we succeeded.

Glad you enjoyed the in-house massage - they have proven to be very popular.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Somewhere Unique does not dissapoint. This was our second visit - often when you revisit a place it does not live up to your memories. This is not the case for Somewhere Unique. The moment we walked in the door of our retreat (Lowanna) the memories of our first visit cam flooding back. It was every bit as good this time.

We took advantage of the 3 night easter package to celebrate our 26th wedding anniversary & it supplied everything we could possibly need. The generous breakfast pack gave us 3 delicious breakfasts, we had a wonderful lunch at Margan's at Broke, plus we had a BBQ pack which lasted us 2 nights, plus mouthwatering lamb shanks from Mojos - all ready & waiting for us in our retreat.

Everything is provided to ensure a relaxing & romantic escape from your everyday hassles. Even bikes if you are feeling energetic, or just want to explore. You could not do better than Somewhere Unique

Room Tip: Both retreats are lovely, but Lowanna is a little more tucked away & provides a little more isolation.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Lee-Ann H

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review - it is very rewarding to know you both enjoyed your second visit every bit as much as the first.

Although we are a self-catering property, there are a number of meals we can organise for your arrival, as you mentioned in your review. BBQ packs are great out on the deck, a range of meals from Mojos Deli such as Thai Red Chicken Curry and Lamb Korma, and also cheese and anti-pasto platters from the Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop.

The bikes have also been a big hit! A great way to explore the historic Wollombi village, surrounding boutique vineyards or just meander down a quiet country lane.

We look forward to welcoming you again next year for your 27th Wedding Anniversary!

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews