We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
245
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
245
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsattention to detailallawah retreatchocolate fonduebreakfast hamperhunter valleycheese platterbbq packwedding anniversaryrose petalsbird seedaustralian bushthe kitchenpeaceful surroundingssoft music playingget awaymemorable staymeals provided
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 245 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As the title says, it is the ultimate place to get away and do nothing all weekend! The bathroom is perfect, bed was just right and services were all catered fo, meals were very generous and the small touches just make it perfect.



  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Kire

Thank you for your lovely review. It's always rewarding to hear from guests who had a perfect weekend!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is our second stay at Somewhere Unique, which itself speaks volumes about this place. Absolutely tranquil, secluded, the bedroom and bathroom are both very large, the King size bed is comfortable and clean, the bathroom is about the biggest I have seen and the bushland views from the over sized bath is simply divine. Everything about the place is quality. If you are looking for a truly peaceful getaway for the weekend, you HAVE to try Somewhere Unique! Can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: There are only two 'cabins' available, we have stayed in each, can't pick one over the other, both have similar views of surrounding valley, toss a coin and enjoy your stay!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Steve

Great to see you returning for another visit! We always enjoy welcoming our VIP guests. Lovely to hear you enjoyed all that we have to offer at Somewhere Unique, including the tranquility.

We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Somewhere Unique in September 2012 for our 10 year Wedding Anniversary. I could not fault it. The Owners have meticulously thought of everything. We had only been there for a few hours before we both felt so very relaxed. We loved the dinner hamper and all of the little extras. We rode bikes into Wollombi and to visit Wollombi Wines. What fun. The massages were great too. Would highly recommend staying here to celebrate or just to relax.
Michelle

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitsi_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Michelle

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a positive review. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed such a memorable 10th Wedding Anniversary together.

Sounds like you really made the most of your time here. In-house massage is very popular and a great way to relax.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon (perhaps for your 11th Wedding Anniversary!)

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Big thanks to Melanie. It is hard to fault the attention to detail that goes into this unique accommodation. The breakfast is generous, the extra's are of high quality and the views are incredible. We soon forgot everyone else after the first day here and spent a very memorable week together. Def recommend Debbie for the helicopter flight also.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Sharon

Thank you for your wonderful review, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at Somewhere Unique, and appreciated all the little extras we provide our guests.

The helicopter lunch and cellar door tour would certainly be a memorable experience for any couple, so lovely to hear that you are happy to recommend. We can also organise a Twilight helicopter dinner tour during Daylight Savings time.

We look forward to welcoming you both again next time you are looking to escape.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Very luxurious eco lodge. It is self-contained and they provide everything you could possibly need, very well equipped.

It is quiet and tucked away but an easy drive to the wineries.

Check in is great as the key is on the property and you can drive straight to the lodge and not have to see anyone.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ec0traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieMorschel, Owner at Somewhere Unique, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear ec0traveller

Thank you for your great review, and wonderful to hear that you were happy with our environmental initiatives. We do strive to do our bit for the environment!

We really are promoting a private, secluded escape at Somewhere Unique, and don't bother our guests with the boring bits like 'check-in'! No waiting at Reception or filling in forms. If you need us though we are just a phone call away.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon to our little piece of tranquility in the vineyards.

Melanie Morschel
Owner/Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews